We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Years Eve Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Whately Hall as part of a NYE package with "The Killing Game", a Murder Mystery Event. The hotel is situated in the middle of Banbury (near the Cross) and has a historic past. We had a room at the front of the hotel in the old part, which was a little jaded but quite pleasant. Nice 3 course dinner and a good cooked breakfast buffet on New Years Day. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Car parking was ok at the back, but there is also a big Pay and Display Car Park at the front of the hotel too. Overall we were impressed.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel are in the older more historic part of the hotel if you like tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great comments after yor stay here with us at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel on New Years Eve. I am so pleased to read your positive review and I will be sure to pass on your comments about the team to them. I note your comments about the jaded room and these rooms wil be refurbished duringt he course of the year.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Once again many thanks and kind regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 923 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on New Years Eve as part of a murder mystery evening arranged by an outside company.
Deluxe room was old but ok with separate sitting and bedrooms areas.
No hot water to get ready for our evening and luke warm water or a shower in the morning.
No room safe so concerned about everyday high value items having to be hidden in the room iPad etc. whilst we were at the dinner.
Quite noisy with doors slamming when everyone is going in and out of rooms.
Carpets in corridors were quite dirty looking.
Hotel has a car park but only if you are a confident driver or have a small car as entrance is through quite a narrow entrance with a turn.

Room Tip: don't choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dunnaz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments follwoing your stay here with us at New Year. I am very sorry that there was insuffiecient hot water this was due to the high volume of guests getting ready at the same time and is not normally a problem here but I appreciate how it affected you. Some of our rooms are darker than others due to the age and nature of the building and we will be addressing this in the ongoing refurbishment schedule. Whilst we do not have safes in any of our rooms we would have been happy to strore any items in our main safe at Reception. I will ask our maintainence team to look at the door closers to see if noise can be reduced Our carpets are cleaned on a regular basis but due to pattern and light shadows I understand that they can look dirty but they aren't. I know that the car park entrance is narrow but to date we haven't has a car that can't get in although as you say with some larger vehicles caution is needed.

Once again thank you very much for your comments and once again my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would be grateful if you could contact myself or Rooms Division Manager if you wish to discuss this further.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights (room 52); night before my wedding on my own & second one with my brand new husband. The service given & attention to detail was faultless. All staff (catering, events and reception) were fabulous & all went out of their way to ensure everything about our stay & wedding reception went smoothly. The only slight niggle was that (perhaps because 1st night there was only me) despite asking hospitality, there was only one set of towels.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CarolynRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Mercure Whately Hall Hotel for such a beautiful and memorable event and also we really are pleased that we could be a part of such a life long experience. It is good to read that you were satisfied with our services. I will share your comments with our team.
We wish you all the best. You and your friends are always welcome!

Kind regards,
Atilla Pek
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Being responsible for the office Christmas bash for 55 staff was a bit of a task but from the start of the organising right up until the end Youssef was available for any questions I had and was on hand during our event to ensure that everything went without a hitch. The tables were decorated beatifically and the food was hot and lots of it. The service we received was excellent. Below are comments from some of the bosses received afterwards -

"Other than one member of staff, who was off hand and did not bring any more drinks when asked, I thought all the other staff were very efficient and polite – especially those in the food serving area.

The food was of a good quality and the portions were generous.

I’m not usually the biggest fan of “The Whately” but this was (surprisingly) good. 9/10!

Another one "The Christmas Party was very good and the food and service at Whately was equally good. I did not hear any complaints on my table"

And finally "I also thought that the venue, service and food was very good on Friday. I think the venue worked well in that we were all in one room and on circular tables. I would say repeat it for next year."

Looks like we will be booking for 2014 - thank you Youssef and his staff, keep up the good work.

Sally Williams

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyEllacotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Sally,

Let me take the opportunity to wish you a Happy and Prosperous New Year on behalf of our hotel. Thank you ever so much for your honest and detailed review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with service provided by Youssef and his team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you for perfect overall scores and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest regards,
Atilla Pek
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We selected this hotel for its location and based on having had very good stays in Mercure hotels in France. This hotel is nowhere near the standard of its French cousins.

We booked an executive room which was an OK three star room in the new (1960s) wing of the hotel. The room was adequate and the bed was comfortable. Being at the back of the hotel, it was very quiet so we got a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was a very tired buffet with the basics but it was mostly all crisp and dry. The coffee was dire.

Overall it was not great value and will be off our list for the future,

Room Tip: Ask for the New Wing for a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevew07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay here with us, also thank you for pointing out our good location. It is good to read that you liked our quite rooms in the new wing of our hotel. I am sorry that your breakfast was not so enjoyable. The necessary actions are already in place to avoid similar complaints.
I hope you will give us another chance at your next visit to Banbury.

Kind regards,
Atilla Pek
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank daycartes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 286Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
582 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $79 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing