We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet the 'Fine Lady' or the White Horse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We decided to visit Banbury as it was a place we had never been before and were delighted to find a clean very open town with a central shopping and business area together with an indoor market. The famous cross stands four square in the centre of a main crossroads and laying back from one of these is Whatley Hall, as we have been very pleased with 'Mercure' in the past we decided to stay if they could provide a ground floor room - if there was no lift - as my wife cannot manage stairs. We actually had the 'disabled room' which had all that was required for a comfortable two night stay, large TV , drink provisions and all the usual toiletries. The window looked onto the garden but was not overlooked. We were offered help with our cases and the staff at reception could not have been more helpful.

The hotel is old - very old so rather creaky, there is a newer part but it lacks atmosphere. Actually there is a story of a ghost haunting one room but we were in the wrong room! The dining room is large, but in two parts, the original room plus a new extension. The only slight drawback - as happens in all large hotels - there was a coach party of some 50 people in the dining room which made us feel rather overwhelmed. Not that this affected our extremely good dinner served to us by a charming lady who despite having to help serve the large group was able to give us her full attention which meant that we did not feel ignored.

Breakfast was the usual self service but as in other Mercure hotels there is a sizeable menu from which one can order more special dishes (eg. Eggs Benedict). One point to consider - don't drive through to the car park if you have been too liberal with the wine - it is very narrow about four inches clear each side! All in all, well done Mercure.

Room Tip: None are noisy but some are a bit small and creaky (and that's were you will find the ghost)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coalabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Front Office Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much your detailed review after your stay here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury. I appreciate your kind words and thank you for summarizing all of the unique selling points of our Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I am glad that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed the traditional warm atmosphere of our property. I will be sure pass on your kind words regarding the service and the team here to all concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your next visit in Banbury.

Kind Regards,

Atilla Pek

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 900 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to a night away with my partner. Turned up and the reception was a mess. There was confetti all over the floor and teas cups etc in all the tables. The receptionist wasn't very welcoming. Wasn't told check out time, where the breakfast was. The room was clean and tidy. But only one towel.There was a wedding and a party going on this kept us up until 1am. Then woken up by the people walking and in the bed upstairs at 6.30. Breakfast was over priced and dry as a bone clearly been there for a while. Not a relaxing time.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Clarrie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you taking time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. Like you I am very disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction and experience.

I shall respond to you directly once I have had an aooportunity to investigate fully.

Once again my apologies.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is an ideally placed hotel on the edge of the town. Once you've navigated the narrow driveway in your car to access the car park, you are faced with a beautiful hotel in beautiful grounds. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food is extremely delicious and very good value for money. There is also a regular train service to Oxford allowing you to get the best of both Oxford and Banbury.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Front Office Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for your great review of your recent stay here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury. I am very happy to read you enjoyed both the hotel and the area. I appreciate your kind words on our staff and Food and Beverage services which confirms we are on the right track to get more satisfied guests in our Mercure Whately Hall Hotel.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards

Atilla Pek
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Vanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhatleyHall, Front Office Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mediamadam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhatleyHall, Front Office Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very pretty hotel, I asked for a room in the old section (it has an extension) and understandably it was a little creaky but that was my fault! Room was compact but had a big TV, tea making facilities, hairdryer, nice shower gel and shampoo and was reasonably quiet. The new section is further from the road.

Lovely garden out the back and free parking.

Breakfast was plentiful but not great; The fruit didn't seem quite ripe.Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Asking to stay in the new section will have you further from the high street outside.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments after your stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury. I apologise for the creakiness , however as you say it is part of an old charachterful building, although we do try to minimise this creakiness where possible.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the gardens and our free parking but am sorry to read that the fruit at breakfast was not quite ripe, I will address this with the breakfast team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the friendly staff to them.

Once again many thanks and I do hope you will choose to saty with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wiganlaticsmon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $79 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing