We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel if a little creaky!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Burton-upon-Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel if a little creaky!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very pretty hotel, I asked for a room in the old section (it has an extension) and understandably it was a little creaky but that was my fault! Room was compact but had a big TV, tea making facilities, hairdryer, nice shower gel and shampoo and was reasonably quiet. The new section is further from the road.

Lovely garden out the back and free parking.

Breakfast was plentiful but not great; The fruit didn't seem quite ripe.Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Asking to stay in the new section will have you further from the high street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments after your stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury. I apologise for the creakiness , however as you say it is part of an old charachterful building, although we do try to minimise this creakiness where possible.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the gardens and our free parking but am sorry to read that the fruit at breakfast was not quite ripe, I will address this with the breakfast team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the friendly staff to them.

Once again many thanks and I do hope you will choose to saty with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    316
    194
    90
    40
See reviews for
100
404
42
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Arrived at the hotel on route to trip abroad - staff were really helpful and pleasant. Our room turned out to be a mini suite - with adjoining sitting room - everything was spotless. We went out for a walk - the reception staff had given us a map and directions - as well as a bit of history of the town - and Banbury is worth at least an overnight stay. Dinner in the hotel was part of the deal - and it was very pleasant - good foo d and the service excellent. Brakfast next mrning was buffet style - but staff were very helpfull advising where everything was had a really pleasant stay and would have no hesitation in returning to the Whately Hall - and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking time out to post your thoughts on a recent stay here with us at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I am very happy to read that you found our team here friendly and helpful. It is also very good to read that you enjoyed your accommodation and meals with us and I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Once again, many thanks

Kind Regards,

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A superb, stunningly beautiful 17th Century house, with bright, modern excellently appointed and alrge rooms. The gardens are simple but peaceful, the building is quite breathtaking and the whole place has a feel of the old world, whilst the quality of the rooms is what you would expect from a Mercure chain, with one of THE most comfortable beds I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in, I did not want to get up! With a host of excellent pubs & restaurants within a minutes walk, the Whately Hall was very well worth the extremely reasonable £60 per night, I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBGibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much your great review of your recent stay here at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel. I am really pleased to read how much you enjoyed the the hotel, our surroundings and found us good value for money.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nice room overlooking garden.
Dining room on Sunday evening was closed to guests due to a wedding party.
Some warning of this would have been helpful. A lady staying alone does not wish to trail around the town looking for somewhere to eat on a Sunday evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review and I am happy to read that you enjoyed your accommodation. I understand your comments about the restaurant being closed and I am very sorry that no one offered you an alternative are to dine in such as the bar or a room service.

Once again thank you for your comments and I will address them with the Food and Beverage Manager.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a disaster on the first day of our holiday as the canal cottage in Lower Heyford we had booked for one night smelt of sewage or gas anyway bad enough to leave. We got a last minute deal with the Mercure Banbury and although we booked a twin room when we turned up they did not have any!!! Going from bad to worse? No fortunately the lady on reception was very helpful and we paid an extra £20 for an upgrade which turned out to be a very comfortable suite. Being in the Centre of Banbury was very useful as there is a good choice of restaurants. The holiday went on to be a great success. Short time in the hotel but we were well looked after.

Room Tip: Ignore the swimming pool rating there wasn't one I fat fingered it by mistake but could not dele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesontour274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay here with us at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I am sorry to read about the mistake with the twin room but very happy to read that the situation was quickly rectified and that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the terrible start to your break.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you again to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing