We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Adderbury)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Banbury House Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
$111
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
$61
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveler rating
247
358
223
96
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
358
223
96
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parknarrow entrancemurder mysteryold buildingnewer partreception staffcentral locationexecutive roomcreaky floorboardshotel is lovelychurch bellsoverlooking the gardeneggs benedictan upgradewedding receptionpubs and restaurantslarge room
Filter
Updating list...
693 - 698 of 970 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. The location is very good and Banbury is easy to walk round. The hotel had a wedding on the Saturday so we were given one of the rooms at the back of the hotel. The room was very hot but does have windows which open which meant we could let some of the heat out. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and breakfast was very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h53k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review after your stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel, Banbury. I am sorry that the room was so warm for you they do heat up very quickly with the sun or the heating. I will be sure to pass on your lovely words about the team and breakfast to everyone and I look forward to welcoming you again to Mercure Whatley Hall Hotel.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Posters around the hotel tell you it is being renovated. Not sure if our suite had been renovated. There was certainly a pronounced smell of fresh paint in our suite and the unit containing the television was being assembled as we arrived. The central heating radiators were incapable of being turned off, resulting in the windows having to be left open. Some of the bathroom tiles appeared to have been replaced but, around the bath/shower, they were bulging, cracked and affected by mould growth.
It is a well situated hotel with loads of character and a good English breakfast. The staff were excellent but the water bottles were not replaced. The kettle lead is not long enough to extend to a unit hence it has to be boiled on the floor!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilesFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. We are in the process of refurbishing and some of the areas such as your bathroom have still to be done. I am very sorry that the radiator could not be turned off, I was not aware that any of the thermostats were not working. Thank you for the kind words about the team. I will certainly look at the length of the kettle lead as normally they are able to be boiled on the desk surface.
Once again thank you very much for taking the tmime to post your comments.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for our trip to Oxford. As most of the hotels in Oxford were expensive during the peak season we decided to stay here for the price and proximity to Oxford. The hotel set in the town of Banbury had a very authentic English feel to it. The bedrooms were on the small side and the bathroom dated but everything was very clean and the staff courteous. What made this such a great hotel was the feeling of authenticity as it was in an old building and even had a ghost that haunts it. There was a lot of dark wood and creaky floors which gave the hotel a traditional feel.The hotel is located within walking distance to pubs and restaurants and there is a Tesco nearby that you can drive to.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elseeyel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest
I am so glad you chose to stay with us instead of going to Oxford and very happy that you enjoyed the ambiance of our 17th Century hotel. I will be sure to pass on your kind words regarding the team here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel, Banbury.
I do hope that you will chose to stay with us again if you are coming to the area.

Kind Regards
Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just spent a fantastic weekend here with lots of friends as it was.local to my son's wedding.
Really comfortable and an excellent breakfast after a good night's sleep. But what really made it special was the very pleasant and helpful staff, who made you feel that nothing was too much trouble. We had a friend in a wheelchair and they made her stay as easy as possible too although the lift is quite a way from the reception and dining room.
Unfortunately if you are unlucky enough to get through to the call centre instead of the hotel reception the service is not nearly so good

Room Tip: Definitely try and get a ground floor room if you can't manage the stairs
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larbik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

On behalf of the whole team we are glad that you had such a lovely weekend with us for your sons wedding. I am so happy to receive your comments regarding our pleasant and helpful staff. Unfortunatly due to the age of the building the lift is not ideally located, but I am pleased that the team was able to make your friends stay as easy as possible. I am sorry that you did not find our call centre so good, I will pass your comments onto the team responsible.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mercure Whatley Hall in the future.
Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews