We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveler rating
249
366
229
100
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
366
229
100
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parknarrow entrancemurder mysterynewer partold buildingreception staffcentral locationcreaky floorboardsexecutive roomhotel is lovelyeggs benedictchurch bellsan upgradewedding receptionpubs and restaurantsstaff were excellentenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 993 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Reception staff very rude and unhelpful. Asking a simple request is greeted with a huff and a puff. Bar staff non existstant. Rooms not cleaned properly, bathroom bin not emptied and the complimentry shower gel had already been used. Was on the top floor facing the main road so very noise. Also the room was very dark even though it was sunny outside.

Breakfast not much better with hard poached eggs, crusty layer on top of the scrambled eggs and baked beans.

I would not recommend using this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmy11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. Feel free to call me on ----------- or email me on ------- to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Checked in ok with a friendly receptionist and was asked whether I wanted to stay in the old part or the new part and was told the old part had more charachter and squeeky floors etc. so I chose that. I cant tell you the disappointment when I got there! Wasn't expecting much as I hadn't paid the earth to stay there, but the room was tiny and and the decor was from the 70s and looked like it hadnt been touched since. Avocado green bathroom should give some indication....
The worst part was even the decor or the fact it was quite noisey facing the main road, the worst part was the sheer heat! It wasnt very hot outside and was wearing a jumper when i went out for dinner, the heating wasnt on but the heat was unbearable all night. Was thankful it was only one night and was delighted to be leaving in the morning...
Wont be going back - not even for free!
Location was good as it was easy to get to restraurants/cinema etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gox55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at the Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury. Due to the age of the building and the thinkness of the walls it is difficult to control the temperature of the rooms even with the heating off, I take on board your comments regarding decor and will feed this back to the owners. I am also sorry you found the noise from the high street too much, but as you can appreciate being a town centre hotel the traffic and people is a downside of its location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We found this to be a pleasant hotel in a lovely location. The room was clean, comfortable and overlooked a delightful garden. Even though it was high summer the room was cool. Excellent car parking. On the downside there was a small fridge in the room which did not work and the tea/coffee provided was limited. More was available but we had to go down to reception to ask for it. Although the hotel, at least the front part, is a lovely old building, we found the facilities limited. The bar is very small offering a very limited stock and did not seem to open lunchtimes. There is supposed to be a restaurant but we never found it. Very well hidden. Fortunately Banbury has plenty of nice bars and restaurants within easy reach. On a plus side we found the reception staff pleasant and efficient and our room was ready on our arrival even though we were early

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SleepyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at Whately Hall Hotel.
The staff were polite and helpful, the resturant was lovely, and the food was enjoyable.
Breakfast was plentiful and a good range of foods to choose from.
Would definately stay again :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libralady51067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Banbury. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Whately Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Centrally located next to Banbury Cross,an atmospheric hotel complete with its own ghost!Upgraded to a lovely large bedroom in the "old" wing and a satisfying breakfast the following morning.Could benefit from a little TLC but considering booked on an A/Club deal with 40% discount considered excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsgWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews