We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel in a nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I have stayed four times at this Best Western Hotel.
The check-in was always quick and the staff friendly. Standard rooms are a bit on the smallish side but nice and clean. At least all the standard rooms have no air-conditioning. If you stay in summer ask for a room facing the rear, otherwise the sun might bake your room all afternoon.
To tackle the heat the hotel provides each room with a fan, which I found makes best use when placed in front of the open window to blow hopefully cool evening air into the room. To achieve the desired effect one obviously needs to leave the window open, which then leads to the problem of the busy road in front of the hotel. Even with the widow closed passing cars make falling asleep a bit of a task. (To bring earplugs might be an idea...) Which, for me, is the second reason why the view of the spacious car park behind the hotel is the sensible choice.
The bar food was fine, room service all right, the cooked breakfast pretty good and the waitresses nice. The hotel provides Free Internet for every room, which I very much appreciated. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants in walking distance. All together a place I can recommend and will come back to.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fly1ngf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 566 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed here over Easter, it was last minute booking, and paid we £119 for 2 nights B&B including a 3 course dinner on the Saturday night for the 2 people. We did think it was too good to be true - especially when we rang at 5pm ahead of checking in, to book a table for dinner, and was told the 3 coach parties were eating at 7pm so please wait till 8.15pm for a table! Oh well, it was cheap. However, when we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean, large and very well equipped. Residents ate in a different room to the coach parties, which was tastefully decorated, we actually saw little of the coach party groups. I can only assume the hotel have a very slick and efficient operation to deal with mass catering alongside thier residents. The evening meal was excellent, the food was delicious and hot, as was the choice and quality of the breakfasts. It was the best breakfast we have had in a UK hotel for a very long time.

All the staff were friendly and very helpful. This is how hotels should be run. We could not fault it!

The hotel is a good base for exploring the Cotswolds, Blenheim Palace and Oxford. Good car parking facilities too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candb216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

The service we recieved was all that we hope for when staying at an hotel but often don't get. From the initial booking through to check-out the service was exemplery. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant,good portion sizes, well presented and hot! We were meeting friends and had flowers for them and the receptionist instantly offered to store them in the cellar until required the next day and when we asked for them they were brought promptly. All the staff were courteous, friendly and very professional. The breakfast buffet was of a very high standard, excellent quality and a superb range of foods. We hope to return in the future it was that good!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

On 20th of March 2010 we had one of our most important and beautiful day of our lives-wedding!!! After being let down by one of restaurants in Banbury we were recommended the Banbury House Hotel. Straight from the first moment we were impressed with professionalism and most of all friendly approach as well as flexibility cause we come from different countries and have different traditions.
The hotel nicely approved and implement our requests and made this day unforgettable for us and for our guests.
We would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to make special occasion an extraordinary event.
Thank you once again-Weronika&Francois

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WFBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Lovely hotel for a stay in Banbury. Pleasant reception area and friendly staff. Clean and tidy room with decent facilities. Good TV but too few channels. Our room faced onto the main road so there was a little traffic noise but not too bad.
Just a few minutes stroll into the town centre. Several restaurants within a short walk too. Free parking at rear.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pujro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We had booked this leisure break using Tesco vouchers so we were not sure what sort of accomodation we would get. However our room was good, clean and quiet. Plenty of choice at breakfast. Good service from staff throughout the weekend. Hotel has plenty of parking and it is only a 10 min walk into the heart of Banbury. We ate in-house at Bar 29, which although a bit expensive for a bar meal the quality and presentation was good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIWITHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and for the price we payed we could not have asked for better.spotless,friendly, good size room,breakfast was superb with really good all round selection of food and service to match,i would not hesitate in recomending this hotel to anyone,and to cap it all it`s location is a perfect base for exploring many different locations in the cotswold area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jevs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
564 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Banbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Banbury House Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $86 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Banbury House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Banbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing