We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable reunion dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
halesowen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable reunion dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

We have held our annual reunion dinner at Banbury House Hotel for several years and it just keeps getting better. The staff are very attentive and the food is excellent. The rooms are very comfortable and the dinning room is a pleasure to use. We are definitely returning next year.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank secondrow47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    220
    89
    28
    20
See reviews for
76
203
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

The Banbury House Hotel was chosen to host our wedding reception this last weekend and I can say that our expectations were exceeded. Anna and her team could not do enough for us and made all of our party feel at home whether they were staying overnight in the hotel or not.

The rooms were spotless, the service faultless and food was gorgeous.

The event co-ordinators that I had contact with were extremely professional and made organising the reception extremely easy.

Any queries that we had were quickly answered and requests were met.

Many of our guests even commented that they hadn't eaten food that good in a long time and how they'd all slept better than in their own beds.

I'd not hesitate in recommending the hotel, they made our day perfect and memorable.

Anna and team again many thanks.

Mrs. K. Gilbert

  • Liked — Great service
  • Disliked — Lack of parking
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixuk1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claydonian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

Thank you so much for the wonderful evening last Saturday at our 25th Wedding Anniversary Party. We were really pleased with all the arrangements. Everyone had a really good time and commented on how lovely the food was. I must say that Mr. Whizzy, the magician is really brilliant and kept everyone spellbound because all you could hear was ‘how did he do that?’ I don’t know how he did the things he did and he was stood right next to me!

Also thank you for putting us in such a lovely bedroom too that just topped the whole experience nicely.
Do you know, it is quite amasing that we have had lots of thank you notes to us for the evening before we could get our Thank you notes to the guests. I think that says it all about how good it was!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minkypug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2008

I had an absolutely terrible stay at this place. The bedroom windows are single glazed so if you have one that faces the main road do not expect to sleep. I had to move rooms in the middle of the night as I could not sleep. The second room overlooked the car park and had ridiculously noisy central heating, even when I switched it off. So, a virtually sleepless night.
Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Pie_N_Mash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

I regularly use the Banbury House hotel for accommodating business visitors and they are consistently a pleasure to deal with, even if they don't have the availability they will do everything they can to help. Our guests never have any complaints.

The hotel also owns the Dashwood Apartments, which are comfortable, stylish and well located for the town centre. These are great for those staying for 3 nights or more and would prefer a more independent and home from home experience.

This month however, I used the hotel for a personal reason, it was my Parent's 40th Wedding Anniversary and as they had held their reception in the hotel all those years ago it was fitting that we had a meal there. The quality of the food and the friendly, professionalism of the staff made my parent's night certainly one to remember, they could not stop raving about it. I would certainly recommend to locals and travellers alike that even if they do not need a room, consider eating at the Banbury House Hotel, the quality of its food, the comfortable surroundings and friendliness of their staff make it a truly pleasurable experience, which surpasses many other eateries in the area.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
544 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2008

Stayed at the Banbury House hotel last weekend on a promotion rate of £50 b&b per room. As this was such a cheap deal I wasn't really expecting much but was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very attractive and clean. We were allocated a suite, which was very roomy and had a canopied bed, which was quite romantic. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice of both hot and cold. I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs both mornings - my favourite. Our room was at the back of the hotel and lovely and quiet, although there was a little noise from a birthday party on the second night - not enough to disturb us.
The hotel is well situated, within walking distance of the town centre which has a choice of restaurants. We went to a "Steak and Pasta" restaurant the first night which was excellent, and to "Veritas" on the second night (booking advisable) and had their special early menu which was really good.
Banbury is ideal for the Cotswolds as well as it only took about 20 minutes to get to Chipping Campden and surrounding villages.
All in all a great weekend and I highly recommend Banbury House.

  • Liked — Lovely comfy bed
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2007

We stayed at the Banbury House in November 2007 for a society dinner and convention. The hotel is very well kept, the staff couldn’t do enough to please and the evening meal (served to 65 in one go) was far removed from the ‘canteen’ type so common in such circumstances- in-fact it was excellent. The conference room had just been refurbished and now features air-con.

Snacks were plentiful and the Sunday good bye lunch superb. If you want me to pick fault the bathroom was a little dated but nevertheless very clean- as was our room.

In all; good value.

  • Liked — Nothing to fault
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stan&gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
5.2 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Address: Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing