We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in may and were made very welcome by the polite and friendly staff, the hotel itself is fairly old but is well maintained and the room we stayed in was large and airy and certainly look forward to a return visit.
The reception area is impressive with its central stairway making it look very grand. nice touch is the afternoon cream tea.
The hotel is an ideal position to explore Banbury

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 578 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

What made this hotel stand out was the very helpful and polite staff. I only ate breakfast and that was first rate! The drinks in the hotel bar were very reasonably priced. The room was a tad small, but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless, with an excellent shower! The hotel is perfectly located for a short stroll in to Banbury, which is a lovely little town. We had a deal with Kgb and this was excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willsndakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. There is ample parking at the rear with access to the hotel from the car park or from the main road. The reception staff are pleasant and efficient. The hotel is several old buildings linked together so access to your room can be up and down stairs and around corners. There is no lift so people with mobility issues may find this difficult.
The bedroom and bathroom are both very clean, the decor was typical of the 1990s. The bed was very comfortable but the TV was a little small and only had about 6 channels.
There is a good choice at the breakfast buffet but the cooked breakfast is not buffet style. Dinner is a set menu, the portions were small and I did not feel it represented good value. The dining room was nicely decorated. There are very few restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockandrose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

As mentioned elsewhere you can risk having to walk up and down some stairs to get to your room. But the hotel was comfortable and had the added bonus of a car charging unit at the back of the hotel. Often this space was parked in by the hotel van, but was quickly moved by a member of staff when we wanted to use it for our electric car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our company held an Away Day here in July and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The conference room facilities were excellent as were the refreshments and lunch provided throughout the day in the inclusive package available, which was great value for money. We all stayed overnight in very comfortable rooms with good facilities. It is a short walk away from the town and the hotel Director recommended an excellent Indian restaurant (Voujon) which is very close to the hotel. Breakfast gave a choice of both continental and cooked and therefore satisfied every taste.
Although we didn't use the Fitness Centre and Swimming Pool we are sure that they would have been as good as the rest of the facilities in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roz2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

After the worst hotel experience of my life (see past review), I had one of the best. Courteous staff, clean hotel, lovely bedrooms, truly excellent food, great location. We spent the weekend wandering around the town, getting a feel of the history and the museum was great. The independent outlets in town provided great shopping. We then came back to a pleasing relaxing environment. I can't praise the staff enough. My wife and 10 year old son (a very fussy customer I might add!) loved it. Have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful hotel for a weekend break. Do it!!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel. Its just a quiet single lane road. Zero traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

First the good. We were on a KGB deal, good value. Hotel is in a great location, car park large and everywhere very clean. As others have mentioned no lift and lots of stairs, fine for us but not good for those with a lot of luggage or less mobile. Our room was small and because the walls were thin quite noisy. Breakfast was OK, the hotel was full and we had a long wait the first morning, but staff apologised which was nice. Most of the staff were friendly. But many similarities to Fawlty Towers at dinner. No organisation or distinct duties. Wine served in the water glass. One of the staff Giovanni was hapless, he tried to deliver a starter to us when we had one in front of us, then to another table when they'd had theirs. Finally got the right table, then brought the wrong drinks to another. We were presented with the dessert menu twice. Our bill was brought without a pen, didn't ask for one as I had one, they brought one five minutes later so knew they had forgotten. At 2am the fire alarm sounded, we got out, but most didn't bother - there were 13 people only evacuated but the only member of staff around didn't try to account for anyone. After five minutes he just said "you can come in, false alarm." I expected an apology or explanation on checkout, nothing. Nor were we asked if we'd enjoyed the stay. And the lady on reception answered the phone whilst she was dealing with me and called to Mr Blackstone? to take over. She then couldn't find a pen to deal with the caller. Not recommended overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Banbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Banbury House Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $99 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Banbury House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Banbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing