We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed one night (Sat) at the Hotel. Arrived early and there was no problem with parking (behind the hotel) or checking in early. Very friendly and efficient reception staff. Good room on the front of the hotel. Room clean and bathroom as well. Needed more milk and coffee for the room. Asked at reception and this was provided straight away.
Banbury is a very nice town, we had a look at the cross and the lady on a white horse which is just down the road from the hotel. Went out for an eveing meal in town lots of nice pubs and restaurants. Came back to the hotel for a night cap in Bar 29 (Keeley) behind the bar was very friendly and full of information about the town. Would definately stay here again. Thank You

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Banbury House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 562 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

First the good. I left my wallet in the room when we left (I assume it fell out of my trousers and went under the bed), when we got home there was a telephone message telling me the wallet had been found so thank you to the receptionist and an special thank you to the chambermaid/cleaner for handing it in. Although the room was fairly small it was clean, warm and quiet, although nothing particularly special.
It was a shame the tv was so rubbish, just the 5 terrestrial channels which looked as if it was snowing on all 5. I did mention it to the receptionist and she promised to look into it but it was the same on Sunday morning as it was Friday. Normally I wouldn't worry about this too much but on the Saturday evening both my wife and I fell ill with food poisoning (NOT through this hotel but after a visit to the local Toby Carvery).
Banbury is a nice town with some good pubs and some fine old buildings (St Marys church just down the road from this hotel is well worth a visit even for non-believers like me). Avoid that Toby Carvery at all costs!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a 2-day break there on a Wowcher deal. The staff are very professional, warm, welcoming and helpful. Place was immaculately clean. I was most surprised by the food, which was essentially standard English fare but was cooked to a very high standard - fresh, tasty ingredients, always served hot on hot plates, and presented well. Very cozy place but admittedly for me this was down to the fact that it reminded me a little of Fawlty Towers in the decor. The decor is a bit dated but because it is so clean and well-presented that didn't matter. It was a lovely stay. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Petalblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was very difficult to find any fault with this hotel which is a good advertisement for the Best Western group, that we normally find to be a reliable brand. We had initially booked for one night. Reception was friendly and helpful and our room good, particularly the cleanliness. We ate in the bar which was cosy and the food good - I had a particularly nice fish stew. We decided it would be nice to spend some time exploring Banbury so we thought we would stay another night. Standard rooms were fully booked but we were offered a suite for £105, this was a superb room with a 5 or possibly 6 foot bed.a huge TV and comfortable sitting area. We thought good value for money and the change of rooms was carried out efficiently by the hotel staff. On our second night we opted to eat in the restaurant. We both thought the food was particularly good with a wide choice and excellent value for money. The only problem we had was controlling the temperature in the suite largely due to lack of instructuons rather than it didn't work. Overall a very enjoyable two days and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was my first time in this hotel but I would certainly return , the hotel was very nice it was clean the food was very good and the staff very helpful . It was very easy to find with plenty of parking . The hotel was close enough to town to walk but far enough away that you didn't get troubled by any noise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night en route to the south coast. For the amount we paid we found this hotel to be good value for money. The room we stayed in was quite small but all importantly it was clean. The bed was only double bed sized which is the only criticism we have. We found the staff very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was just right for us. We did not notice any traffic noise and found the location really convenient for the town centre and restaurants. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaqpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good location for our trip to Oxford. Hotel very nice. Rooms good size with good amenities. Bed comfortable shower good. Our room was next to the main road which was quite noisy. Breakfast was very good very busy the second day of our stay and coped well with the numbers. Staff were a little harassed and on the lower end of the helpful scale. My biggest complaint was how hot it was in the hotel. Hey it's October and I would sooner be hot than cold, it man there are limits. The first day at breakfast it was ridiculous and I was cheered when I opened a window. All in all though not bad although perhaps if I hadn't got the balance on tesco vouchers I might have been a little harshe. Banbury is a fab place and well worth a visit and this place not a bad base

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Dirtbag7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Banbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Banbury House Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $86 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Banbury House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Banbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing