We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay using a Wowcher deal. This Hotel is charming with an extremely friendly staff who do their utmost to ensure you are satisfied. From the moment we checked in we were made most welcome and served with warm scones, jam and cream and a most welcome pot of tea which was included in the Wowcher deal. Although the deal was based on bed and breakfast ( and the wonderful cream tea) we were offered a 3 course meal at a discounted rate of £30 for two. The food was of first class quality and presented and cooked to perfection and at £15.00 per person was a bargain. Congratulations must go to the chef and to the attentive waiting staff.

The thing that really impressed was the cleanliness throughout the whole hotel. Our room was not large but perfectly adequate and the bathroom sparkled. My husband and I had not visited the area before so decided to visit Oxford . We took an open top guided tour which was good value for money and enabled us to hop on and hop off at we fancied. Banbury itself has a lot to offer and on the day we visited there was a market in the square. There are so many beautiful little villages in the area and on our return journey we called in to Lower Slaughter and Bourton On -The Water. This is a gorgeous village and is a` must see `if in the area. If we ever visit the area again I would certainly stay at Banbury House Hotel-no hesitation.

Room Tip: Unfortunately there in so lift in this hotel so ask for a ground floor room if you have difficulty w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    228
    95
    30
    20
See reviews for
79
212
26
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Friendly and very helpful staff. Good location in Banbury, if a little uphill from the town. My only reservation is that there is not a lift.....so make sure you don't get a room on second floor. Rooms comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanpedro291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, France
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was tourmanaging a bunch of musicians who were guesting at the local Cropredy/Ffairport Convention festival..I cannot speak highly enough of the reception and housekeeping staff who assisted me in so many ways.dealing with tetchy musicians and my demands upon their secretarial skills etc.Breakfeast buffet was excellent.The rooms are not the biggest but at the rates for this time of year in the Banbury inner circle, i was plesantly surprised.Great location.Great staff.Great rates

Room Tip: Ssome ground floor rooms available but with public viewing suitable for exhibitionists
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel was the second stop on a trip though England and Wales and was definitely the worst of the 3 hotels we stayed in. The hotel is situated in the centre of Banbury, has adequate parking at the rear and the decor is tasteful. However, the whole hotel lacked any atmosphere. There were obviously only a few guests when we stayed so that doesn't help, We ate in the restaurant on the first night and although the food was quite good we were dining alone as the only other couple in the restaurant left before our main course arrived, we decided to eat out after that. Breakfast was good with an extensive cold buffet table and hot food cooked to order but again no atmosphere whatsoever.
Our main issue was the size of the bedroom. It was the smallest double we have ever stayed in and suspect it is often used for a solo traveller as there was only one bedside cabinet, one comfortable chair, one set of towels in bathroom (second set were in a laundry bag in a drawer) and a very small double bed. My Husband and I were often in each other's way when trying to get ready to go out. There was only one very small window so the room was rather stuffy and we had to use a desk fan to get some air circulating. We had only booked a standard room but as the hotel was far from busy surely they could have provided us with a room that is actually meant for 2 guests. We have stayed in much bigger rooms at a Premier Inn at half the price.
I'm afraid that we wont use this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you are disturbed by traffic noise ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days, with shabby and uncomfortable rooms and very basic bathrooms. Breakfast was acceptable but very poor value at £15. I suspect you could do much better in Banbury than this.
This did not impact me or any of my colleagues - but I would not defintely not recommend this hotel to any disabled or person with mobility problems - stairs, steps etc everywhere and no ramps or lifts.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JLAshVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Highly recommended......From the time we booked in until we booked out after 2 days we felt totally comfortable.The staff were friendly and attentive and always had a ready smile,but not the false stuck on grins you get at bigger hotels......King size bed was so comfortable,good sized room and it was nice to have use of a fan during this mini heatwave! The food was exemplary,be it the cooked breakfast or the a la carte in the evening,which is keenly priced.Compliments to the chef.Oh,and my wife loved the cream tea.....!!Everything looked spotlessly clean and you cant help but be impressed......The owners and Best Western must be very proud of this little gem.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyA1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

From the moment we arrived this hotel performed well. The receptionist was pleasant and efficient and not robot-like which so many are. Our room was a decent size, with a king size bed and good bathroom with a decent shower. Dinner was surprisngly good for a hotel restaurant, served by pleasant young staff who appeared to be well trained and anxious to please. There is a small car park. Only glitch was that sound and vision in the TV in our room were out of sync. It was clearly a problem with the set as all channels had the same problem. Not a major issue for a one night stay and when we reported it as we left the staff were duly very apologetic. Nice hotel...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyRipcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
550 reviews
5.2 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Banbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Banbury House Hotel

Property: Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Address: Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Banbury House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Banbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing