We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed a this hotel with Applebys Coach Tour breaks.

Staff, Food, (upgraded room) was first class.

Cannot fault this hotel in any way.

pam

Room Tip: close to Banbury town
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barkshire47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    220
    89
    28
    20
See reviews for
76
203
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

I spent a night at the Banbury House recently on a business trip. I booked this hotel due to being with co-workers with whom I was sharing a car.

I found the hotel to be very comfortable and quaint. The check-in/check-out was quick and service otherwise was quite helpful. We had to leave before the breakfast service began but were provided with room service of continental breakfast which was timely and tasty.

The hotel is just a few blocks walk from the town center where there are quite a few shops, pubs and restaurants of all types to choose from. We were only in Banbury a few hours that day but it seems like a nice little village to explore at another time.

My only complaint with the hotel would be the lack of a lift, otherwise it served our needs and I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Following on from the recent review entitled 'so lovely' I have to agree with all that is written. The hotel has a very nice feel about it, is immaculately clean and provides very friendly service at all times.

We actually used Tesco 'hotel vouchers' for our booking that were nearing the expiry date. Contacted the Best Western reservations and they took time to detail the hotels available and give details. Chose Banbury for it's locality to Stratford and the Cotswold villages and was very pleased with the outcome.

Allocated room 223 which is on the top floor so did not encounter any noise from above, which was fortunate as the floorboards in our corridor did 'squeak' a bit!! Room was very comfortable with a bath and power shower (very powerful!). As stated. service throughout the entire stay was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order (or cerals, breads, pasteries and fruit from a top table) and was most plentiful. We did not eat in the restaurant but the menu did look appealing.

Overall, a most enjoyable stay at Banbury House.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifftours_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is a really nice hotel close to the town centre. Can not fault the cleanliness and it is a well maintained hotel. Plenty of parking too.

The rooms were, clean, in good condition & the beds were comfortable. Unfortunately I did not sleep well as I was woken a couple of times by squeeky floorboards, I think from the floor above. I should add that I am a light sleeper & the rest of my family did not have this problem; We were in 114 & they were next door,

The restaurant offered a wide selection and we had an enjoyable dinner. The food was tasty, well presented and the service was good. Breakfast at the hotel was plentiful and again enjoyable.

I would give this hotel another try and hopefully get a room that isn't near any squeeky floorboards!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loshennells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

I recently spent the day at the Banbury House Hotel during a wedding fayre. The hotel has a relaxed vibe and even though there was plenty going on the staff were very helpful, organised and freindly.
The facilities available are fantastic.
Everytime I visit the hotel I always leave thinking they have taken great care of me and exceeded my expectations.
Try the pastries and biscuits with your coffee!
Thanks to Anna and the great team who look after you from the moment you walk through the door
I can't fault them!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guyton23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

We have just had a very good stay at this hotel. We booked in as a party of 12 with 4 children and 8 adults for 2 nights. Our accommodation overall was good with very clean and comfortable rooms. We were booked into the hotel's restaurant for our first night and the food was delicious, however the staff did have a couple hicups with our order but this did not spoil our night. The staff were excellent in making our stay very enjoyable and relaxing. The breakfasts were waiter service and we had a good choice of food to satisfy our appetits. It was a 5 minute stroll into Banbury where we had a lovely latte from one of its numerous coffee shops. Overall a hotel I would recommend but if you have an elderly family member the stairs could be a bit tricky and lift would be helpful, however there are ground floor bedrooms which you could request.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n0ddy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Went to Banbury for a show at the Mill (The Dylan Project) and needed a stop over.

I have submitted adverse reports on two hotels previously, one bragging 5 Star status in London - not out of any spite but based on what I demand when paying for a room so it is with delight that I praise this lovely gem. They have a 3 star rating but deserve 7. Let me cite the pros - comfortable bed, clean and fresh décor, and lovely staff with a FRESH COOKED breakfast: simply perfect.

The cons ……………… we did not get snowed in for Christmas.

Thanks for a great one night stay – as the man says WE WILL RETURN and I suggest if you need a hotel in Banbury you try this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
5.2 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Address: Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing