We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Castle with lots of History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broughton Castle

Broughton Castle
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A moated fortified manor house, about 2 miles west of Banbury. Built in 1300 and then later added to in 1550, the Castle had strong links with the Parliamentary side in the English Civil War (1642-51). Still a family home, Broughton Castle is lived in by Lord & Lady Saye & Sele of the Fiennes family. Beautiful formal garden and park, particularly during the summer months. Public open days will resume from the beginning of April 2017 (2pm - 5pm Wednesdays and Sundays). We are open for group tours at any time of the year by appointment. We have a recently refurbished tea room offering light lunches and delicious afternoon teas,
Midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sweet Castle with lots of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Set in pretty grounds with a nice tea room, lots to explore inside the castle, a fascinating history. If you are lucky you can go on the roof and see the views and the secret room where plots and plans were made.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Countyhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    57
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful Time out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Lovely quite grounds, lots of wildlife, beautiful setting, although stated as a castle more like a magnificant country house and is still the home of Lord and Lady Sale &Seal

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilliebet218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited Broughton Castle as part of an event that was taking place at the castle. Had it not been for the event, we would never have known about this absolutely beautiful property. As you approach the car park, the view of the castle itself is breathtaking, like a picture postcard!

It's also been used in many very famous films.

The house comprises of 2 parts, mediaeval and tudor. Also at the property there is a tea room and a gift shop.

The house and grounds are beautiful. When you walk around the house, you feel it is still a family home, and very personal in spite of the history. The staff are lovely providing lots of information and happy to chat with you about the history of the property, its decorations, the chapel and some of the small items they have on show as well.

Make sure you go to the top of the tower and look at the views around you!

The gardens and grounds are wonderful to walk around as well. We had a picnic whilst we were there, but as it was an event we attended I'm not sure if you are normally allowed to take picnics with you, although I'm sure the website would let you know.

Overall an absolute delight to visit, I would definitely recommend as a lovely day out during the Summer, or if you are part of a club, what about speaking to them about a private group visit when the house is closed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GF1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“How Beautiful.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed with family who live close to the castle and went for an afternoon out....
what a surprise, the castle and the grounds are amazing, the staff were so helpful and happy to impart their knowledge about the castle, and the view from the roof was fantastic!!
Would definatley reccomend a visit if you're in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Billie012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a castle should look like and in a lovely setting, very interesting. Odd opening hours so check first, but well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broughton Castle also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Broughton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing