We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”
Review of Broughton Castle

Broughton Castle
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A moated fortified manor house, about 2 miles west of Banbury. Built in 1300 and then later added to in 1550, the Castle had strong links with the Parliamentary side in the English Civil War (1642-51). Still a family home, Broughton Castle is lived in by Lord & Lady Saye & Sele of the Fiennes family. Beautiful formal garden and park, particularly during the summer months. Public open days will resume from the beginning of April 2017 (2pm - 5pm Wednesdays and Sundays). We are open for group tours at any time of the year by appointment. We have a recently refurbished tea room offering light lunches and delicious afternoon teas,
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

my grandfather lived and worked there my father played there as a child,we toured the castle in the mid seventies what an experience,we were told that we could go anywhere in the castle after talking to the Lord.I recommend a must visit. i was born in Banbury in 1960 so was being shown my heritage which i will never forget.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    60
    10
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic atmosphere within relaxed surroundings”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Roam the grounds freely, visiting nearby church with the Saye & Sele family crests displayed inside. Great place for a family picnic.

Castle and gardens open for a small fee. Also has a small tearoom I believed run by Lady Saye & Sele. One of the guides to the house is his Lordship himself, although he tries not to let on that he is a Lord.

Scene of many film sets - Three Men and A Little Lady, Shakespeare In Love, and others.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A hidden gem; good history, well presented. Enjoy the views from the roof as well as the gardens. Worth checking to see the limited opening dates.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank VillagePeople6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Lord greets you at the gate to take your admission.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Castle is delightful, Three men and a little lady was filmed here, guides are very informative. The tea room serves delicious food....and cakes....there is often some craft work being done there and if you are lucky you can buy some great plants there

Helpful?
Thank 63maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“A view from the outside.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Having stayed in the area we were dissapointed to find that the Castle is only open certain days and only for certain times of the year. However following a little on line research I found that you can walk through the local churchyard [very pleasant] to open parkland that has lovely views across the moat to the castle. If you are in the area and find it to be closed, I would recommend the short walk just to glimpse and photograph this fine building. There is a small lay-by on the B4305 by Warren lodge with a pathway opposite to the church, you are less than a 5min walk away.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gomms13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broughton Castle also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Broughton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing