We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“curry.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lismore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lismore Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“curry.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

the worst hotel ive ever tried to stay in . the man in reception was rude ,blunt and didnt care about his guests just wanted tobank their money . the whole place stunk of curry even the bedsheets curtains . upstairs ,downstairs ,stunk of curry it made me really ill so if like me ur allergic to spices or cant eat a curry then stay well clear.there was no welcome or hello upon arrival he just looked at my partner and said "NAME".we had to find somewhere else to stay as i was becomeing more ill the longer we were in the hotel .yet as we left he stated he was still gonna take our money for the room AND the next days breakfast .( hope he choked on it }

Room Tip: yeah ,dont go to the lismore hotel as everything smells of curry.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mari_lou2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Fistly the guest could not find the car park, they were blocking the lane to the car park insisting that the road had gone ? (very rude lady)
When they got to the car park they parked and blocked the entrance to the car park, i went to ask them to move the car, the lady was not happy with me or her husband.
He asked her to carry a small bag and she went on one, i dont carry anything, proptly telling him to shut up, i offered and i was blanked totally.Bad temper
At that point we took bets on check in check out i wone 2.5 min.
I had been cooking meat balls, no not curry, her problam medically was not on the booking and they booked B/B so breakfast would have at the worst killed her.Hotels, restaurant catering we cook thats part of the business would you agree ?
Sniffing curtains and the hotel must tell you, that its fairly real to say the smell was not that great. Yes i charged the guest, if you fall out with your partner dont blame us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    18
    22
    59
See reviews for
14
37
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Was on top floor on hotel in a single room which was an average size...the mattress had n if i could see seen better days as you could feel every spring and it only had one pillow . I looked in cupboard for more as it said there was some in there but the cupboard was empty..the head board was lying against the wall as it had fell off with two big holes left in the wall..the walls in between the rooms are so thin you could here the other guest snoring..it would have been nice to look out the window but there was so much water damage to the double glazing it was impossible to see..I can't review the breakfast as I refuse to pay extra for something that should be included in the price..I know I got a good deal with the room but there was no way I would pay the full price for what they were asking...also had the smallest TV that I've ever seen( or would have been if I could see it from the bed)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banbury hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed in 1 of the chalet rooms. very small, not enough room to swing a cat. Breakfast was poor, my advice have a walk into town and eat at weatherspoons. The bar looked like and old peoples rest home.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hairymonkey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The room was awful. This is a half star hotel that is dirty smell and is an awfull establishment. I was tribble charged for my room and then they did not refund my money. I wish I had read these reviews before staying. Do not stay in this hotel. Even the milk was out of date.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
this is the same person as, (where is the hotel inspector,) very cheeky what does that tell people.
not very clever i think you need to try the legal way, it still will not work but it might not make you look a bigger fool.
Again i will say book a room through an agent we have to pay commission and we cannot cancel the booking you have 2 we guarantee your room we cannot sell it for more or for a longer duration your guarantee to the hotel is to not cheat its to arrive and full fill your booking. Please check your confirmation. Lies we cannot change, but we can put the record straight on booking a hotel room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place is in serious need of a complete refurbishment. The so called Chalet rooms are just slightly bigger than the double bed. I only managed to stay for 45 minutes, then found myself a new place to stay. Needless to say that the very unfriendly reception guy refused any refund.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingkatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
The lady booked a single room we gave her a double chalet room, same price as the single room, the lady was at a wedding at a hotel down the road and asked if i would refund her money as she was offered a cancelation at the other hotel to be with the wedding partie. sorry if you book a hotel through a agent we cannot refund or cancel the booking you must cancel where you book and accept confirmation of the booking agreement.
Please dont take your disapointment out of the hotel that gave a free upgrade as you made the booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just returned from a shocking 1 night (thankfully) stay at the Lismore Hotel. The place was dirty, sour milk in the bedrooms, a toilet that wouldn't flush. The guy actually asked us to take the lid off the cistern and pull this thing and push that. I accidentally went into the wrong room on arrival and was shocked when I asked the owner how I'd managed to use a key to enter the wrong room and was told that the keys open every 4th door. The evening was quite pleasant and we did indeed plan to eat in the bar, but after closer inspection decided against it and a walk into banbury took us 5 mins. We did have a drink in the decked beer garden at the front which was seriously dirty, chairs nailed to the floor and generally overgrown. I suppose there are people out there that were destined to be hoteliers who have a passion for looking after people ensuring they have a pleasant stay and above anything else the place is clean and welcoming and then there's this place. Never again

Room Tip: look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justblackpoolcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
firstly the gentleman had booked a twin room and thought he had booked 2 single rooms we were full so we could not change rooms so he was upset as the other person snored rather loud as he made it plain in reception but he got the room he booked its a big twin room.
We did have a problem with the toilet flush and got the plumber out and he changed the flush from push to pull as all the pluming shops were closed. we said sorry the time was 7.30 in the evening.
The Gentleman said no harm done as he used to sell toilets and from push to pull no different .
If you book a room or rooms on line check your confirmation or call the hotel ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

good points - comfy bed, well facilitated room with everything you could need, good shower, parking avaiable, fresh towels
bad points - nobody on reception on arrival (middle of the day so you would expect someone there), restaurant opens late, bed not made well (buttons of duvet on the side instead of bottom), orange soap down the bathroom wall, hospital style bath mat (paper!!), poor service received on departure
would not return as first impressions were lasting

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay22Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.0 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lismore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lismore Hotel

Property: The Lismore Hotel
Address: 61 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lismore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are undergoing a full and total refurbishment of all Bedrooms and bathrooms, Restaurant and bar. The project should be finished by early new year we will still be open with no disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lismore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lismore Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing