We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lismore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Red Lion Hotel(Adderbury)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Banbury House Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
$111
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
13
20
24
23
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
20
24
23
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat selection of drinksironing boardpowerful showercooked to perfectionquiet roomtea coffeebooked this hoteljamiecharacter
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 152 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The room was awful. This is a half star hotel that is dirty smell and is an awfull establishment. I was tribble charged for my room and then they did not refund my money. I wish I had read these reviews before staying. Do not stay in this hotel. Even the milk was out of date.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

this is the same person as, (where is the hotel inspector,) very cheeky what does that tell people.
not very clever i think you need to try the legal way, it still will not work but it might not make you look a bigger fool.
Again i will say book a room through an agent we have to pay commission and we cannot cancel the booking you have 2 we guarantee your room we cannot sell it for more or for a longer duration your guarantee to the hotel is to not cheat its to arrive and full fill your booking. Please check your confirmation. Lies we cannot change, but we can put the record straight on booking a hotel room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place is in serious need of a complete refurbishment. The so called Chalet rooms are just slightly bigger than the double bed. I only managed to stay for 45 minutes, then found myself a new place to stay. Needless to say that the very unfriendly reception guy refused any refund.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingkatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

The lady booked a single room we gave her a double chalet room, same price as the single room, the lady was at a wedding at a hotel down the road and asked if i would refund her money as she was offered a cancelation at the other hotel to be with the wedding partie. sorry if you book a hotel through a agent we cannot refund or cancel the booking you must cancel where you book and accept confirmation of the booking agreement.
Please dont take your disapointment out of the hotel that gave a free upgrade as you made the booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just returned from a shocking 1 night (thankfully) stay at the Lismore Hotel. The place was dirty, sour milk in the bedrooms, a toilet that wouldn't flush. The guy actually asked us to take the lid off the cistern and pull this thing and push that. I accidentally went into the wrong room on arrival and was shocked when I asked the owner how I'd managed to use a key to enter the wrong room and was told that the keys open every 4th door. The evening was quite pleasant and we did indeed plan to eat in the bar, but after closer inspection decided against it and a walk into banbury took us 5 mins. We did have a drink in the decked beer garden at the front which was seriously dirty, chairs nailed to the floor and generally overgrown. I suppose there are people out there that were destined to be hoteliers who have a passion for looking after people ensuring they have a pleasant stay and above anything else the place is clean and welcoming and then there's this place. Never again

Room Tip: look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justblackpoolcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

firstly the gentleman had booked a twin room and thought he had booked 2 single rooms we were full so we could not change rooms so he was upset as the other person snored rather loud as he made it plain in reception but he got the room he booked its a big twin room.
We did have a problem with the toilet flush and got the plumber out and he changed the flush from push to pull as all the pluming shops were closed. we said sorry the time was 7.30 in the evening.
The Gentleman said no harm done as he used to sell toilets and from push to pull no different .
If you book a room or rooms on line check your confirmation or call the hotel ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

good points - comfy bed, well facilitated room with everything you could need, good shower, parking avaiable, fresh towels
bad points - nobody on reception on arrival (middle of the day so you would expect someone there), restaurant opens late, bed not made well (buttons of duvet on the side instead of bottom), orange soap down the bathroom wall, hospital style bath mat (paper!!), poor service received on departure
would not return as first impressions were lasting

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay22Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

the lismore is a very pleasant hotel situated on oxford road in banbury it is about a 1o mins walk into banbury town, the lady at checkin was very friendly, the hotel itself is very clean and well presented with a cosy bar to the left of reception, my room had a lovely 4 poster bed and a 2 seater leather sofa, internet is free,there is a push button security lock on the front door but you are given the access code when you check in, i cant comment on the breakfast as i did not make it down in time, my over all experience was very good and i would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews