We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”

The Coach and Horses
Reserve with OpenTable
The Coach and Horses is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 193 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A friendly and contemporary Gastropub serving a wide range of freshly cooked, locally sourced meals, ranging from Soup of the day, slow roasted belly pork, gooey chocolate brownies or our beautiful rare roast beef Sunday lunch. We have an extensive wine menu, great beers from Hook Norton Brewery and are currently the only place in Banbury serving Estrella Galicia. We have a beautiful courtyard that can be a real sun trap and spacious bar and restaurant areas to cater for all occasions.
Bicester, oxfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I used to think that the Coach & Horses was just an ordinary pub but after visiting for the first time today I want to tell everyone what a fantastic place it is! Nice interior, fantastic menu, friendly staff... From now on this is my place to go for lunch and drink!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    65
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant service and food”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I have been here several times and every time it was great! The service is friendly, welcoming and quick! There are so many amazing pies to choose from and the ones we have tried are delicious! This place has become our treat night and we look forward to our next treat :) x

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xhdifbvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“What a treat!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a busy Friday night and was very impressed by the service, food and atmosphere.
The restaurant itself is pretty and nicely laid out and has an abundance of kinda cute touches. This was our last night in England before travelling back to the states and were meeting friends in Banbury for a meal before our flight back the following morning. The restaurant came highly recommended, but we were apprehensive as it is a pie restaurant and I certainly hadn’t experienced one of those before!
How pleasantly surprised we all were. The portions were really big and all the food tasted great and was steaming hot. All the waiting staff that served us were extremely pleasant and we were particularly impressed by the barman who explained the service style and kept calm as he was very busy, our waitress was also smiley and helpful, and was also rushed off her feet.
The pies are quite expensive but I felt this was justified as our meal was of extremely high standard and was presented beautifully. Sadly we didn't have the room for a dessert so I can't comment but they looked wonderful as they flew past our table!

Overall, it was a fantastic dining experience and when we visit England again we will be sure to visit this restaurant again!

Helpful?
Thank Hjane87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, staff and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were a group of 15, a family meeting together travelling from different locations, who were accommodated following a phone call within half an hour on a Sunday. Nothing was too much trouble, food lovely along with friendly staff and a great atmosphere. Thank you, we will be back:)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenandKen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I visited the restaurant for the very first time this week.After reading the reviews I can now totally agree with all the positives.It was quiet on the night we visited (Monday night ) only a few people in but the atmosphere with the little candles on every table created a warm and welcoming atmosphere.I chose the chicken,ham and leek pie which was amazing, full of chunks of meat and so tasty.My husband enjoyed the turkey and stuffing and needless to say both pies disappeared quickly,even though they looked rather large to start with ! The service was second to none we felt looked after without being pestered ,both members of staff were friendly and efficient. Great to have a night out with excellent food and wine ,will definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenjjm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach and Horses also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing