We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant find”
Review of Lampet Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lampet Arms
Ranked #12 of 36 Banbury B&B and Inns
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant find”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Was late and in a rush to find an overnight stay Saturday as close as we could get to Cropredy so took pot luck on the Lampet. One of the best bookings ever done. Really nice friendly pub and B&B. Struck lucky by arriving on the evening when a band was booked to play in the pub. Nice food (and loads of it!) and comfortable room. Des & Phyliss really friendly hosts made it a home from home. Will definitely go back-and not before very long.... Highly recommended

Room Tip: although limited availability the room in the pub bulding itself is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Good price. Lovely spacious and clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful new owners who only took over 8mths ago. The food was excellent and good value too. Small village location nice and quiet. Handy for the Costwolds attractions. Convenient parking. Only one negative, its a bit of a dead zone for the mobile phone signal however I will be recommending this as a place to stop to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here for just one night with my mother and two friends. The rooms were very spacious and had their own bathrooms (also more spacious than we expected). The shower had good pressure and lots of hot water.

Dawn is very welcoming and cooks an amazing breakfast! I think the breakfast was the highlight of our time there :)

The surrounding area is mostly farms, and it is about a 10-15 minute drive from the town of Banbury. Because the area is remote and not at all commercial, it's so quiet you can hear a pin drop. This was a nice change of pace as we had just spent 4 days in the heart of London. Upon arrival to Lampet we ended up hiring a taxi driver for the day and he took us to Stratford-Upon-Avon, Wroxton, and Broughton Castle. If you have time, I definitely recommend a half-day or full day trip to Stratford (Shakespeare's birthplace).

All in all I have nothing negative to say about Lampet Arms and would definitely stay again if I ever go back to England.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaROK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed for one night at the weekend, and it was all very good.
The room was large with a very comfortable bed, very good mattress and lovely crisp sheets and duvet covers, two comfy chairs, all decorated in nice warm colours. The bathroom was also very large, a bath with shower over, nice big dispensers for shampoo and soap. TV with Freeview and tea tray completes the picture, and even an ironing board and iron. It was clean and warm, and also being in converted buildings behind the pub was very very quiet. Great English breakfast served. All in all very good value.
The landlady and landlord are very friendly, a locals pub with basic pub grub (but homemade and freshly cooked to order), unfortunately no real ale on the night of our stay but that's not everyone's thing anyway. We had a nice bottle of wine instead.
Thanks Mike & Dawn for a nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swatchways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

the landlord and landlady met us and showed us to our very large warm room,it had all we required we ate there on the first night a fair meal at a fair price,once you work out it is a local village pub with its friendly locals its good,two real ales on the pump and a nice cider.breakfast was excellent again served with a smile,to sum up if we are in the area again we will have no hesitation in staying at the lampet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffothebear69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
4.0 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
5.8 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Brasenose Arms
The Brasenose Arms
#1 of 1 in Cropredy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lampet Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lampet Arms

Property: Lampet Arms
Address: Upper Tadmarton, Banbury OX15 5TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely B&B rooms, all ensuite, every room has a double and a single bed. Three rooms have baths, one a walk in shower. Seperate from the pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lampet Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing