We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family gathering meal handled well!”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #115 of 192 Restaurants in Banbury
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family gathering meal handled well!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Although we did book in advance, our family of 16 (aged from 2 to 73) can be quite a handful. They did really well looking after us. You know what you are getting at a Toby and it was well presented with friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 65plusonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    160
    107
    82
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Popped into the Toby for dinner as we were staying across the carpark in a Holiday inn. Nice choice of vegetables and four meats to choose from.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice place to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annietalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The best Toby we have been to...”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been to a few Toby Carverys but I think this one was the best so far. Service was excellent throughout and the whole operation was very efficiently managed.

I did think we had a bit less meat than in previous times but it was very well done and most of the veg was good too, as usual some was a bit past its best being a bit dried out, and we all really enjoyed our meals. If I had a complaint it was the horseradish sauce which had a very odd taste. We all thought the yorkshires were very good this time around, not the usual burnt offerings!!

The two guest bitters were off which was a bit sad for me at least but otherwise this was a good meal and really excellent value!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Roast dinner .”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten in the Reading and Newbury Toby's we decided to try this one .wow out of the three this one is by far the best . The food was hot ,tasty and plenty of it . Can't wait to go again .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great service but the puddings were NOT from Yorkshire!!!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited this Toby because we expected the experience to be as we get at our local Toby.

Well, Jane the waitress was helpful and polite, but.........

see the Yorkshires in the photo,the chef on duty said " they are a bit flat aren't they", no horseradish because they had run out and had to ask for veg to be refreshed as they looked sad.

Sorry Toby Banbury but not a good visit this time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itstootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing