We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent All Round”
Review of The Old Auctioneer

The Old Auctioneer
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Auctioneer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 195 Restaurants in Banbury
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Fantastic atmosphere, superb food all around, great staff.

Drinks fairly pricey but the food more than makes up and water is free!

Would recommend to anyone!

Thank jonbluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old A, Manager at The Old Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you jonbluenose!
We really appreciate your comments and we do hope to see you again!
Kind regards,
The Old Auctioneer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for The Old Auctioneer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 448 of 472 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievably bad service, an hour gap between the first and last starter served, then an hour between courses, the same waiting for drinks. Poor girl serving us was so embarrassed, left on her own with a table of 20 people. The food was average, but way below the £30 a head expected standard.

Now we all make mistakes, but the managers attitude when we complained was unforgivable, a defiant grin really rubbed the salt in. Will never ever go here again.

Sorry you lost a previously loyal customer.

Thank darren j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Bar atmosphere very nice except the bubble bath wine carafes (her words) cask ale good but food disapointing pizza with huge crust and hard base with floating filling difficult to eat with knife and fork why no pizza cutter? Chicken dish. Excllent chicken but chips well, 2 fork fulls at max.Rest ok but served in a rediculose old style enamel oven dishes.Apart from the strawberry and cream ice cream which is very good the rest can be bettered in cornwall. Staff very good and attentive.
Will return to try the the burgers they sound good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank goodbeerdrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old A, Manager at The Old Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hi goodbeerdrinker!
Thank you for your kind review.
We are always eager to learn from our guests and we appreciate your comments.
We hope to see you again soon.
The Old Auctioneer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

There were 14 of us going to celebrate a friends Birthday. We were given the room upstairs with our very own waitress for the evening. The service was outstanding. Some people were more hungry than others so we paid an amount per head for a selection of food and the quality and quantity of the food was very very good. The Birthday girl received a complimentary toblerone cheesecake and she said it was delicious. I opted for the strawberry magarita which i will definitely be going back for.
You will not receive better service in Banbury.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laravBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old A, Manager at The Old Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hi laravBanbury,
Thank you very much for such a great review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Old Auctioneer and we sincerely hope to see you back soon!
Yours the Old Auctioneer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Have visited The Old Auctioneer in Banbury a couple of times now and HIGHLY recommend this place to.... Well... Anyone!!
let's start with the place itself, lovely cosy feel to the restaurant with comfy sofas and more traditional seating areas, too. Great for dinners with family or meeting friends for a coffee.
the staff are lovely too, super friendly and greet me and my family like old friends :)
And the food is fantastic. I'm pretty fussy when it comes to food, but so far everything I've tried has been excellent. Try the toblerone and butterscotch cheesecake... It'll probably change your life.

No, seriously.
Is damned good cheesecake.

1  Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old A, Manager at The Old Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hi Becky,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visits to the Old Auctioneer and that you liked our Toblerone Cheesecake!
Thank you for such a nice review!
If you're into beer, you must try our new Gavel Bear Ale and let us know what you think!.
Kind regards,
The Old Auctioneer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Auctioneer also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Old Auctioneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing