We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is highly recomended”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Lavender cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lavender cottage
open country side views from the studio Warmington Village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Lavender cottage
open country side views from the studio
Warmington Village
courtyard
Bathroom
Outside patio area
special occasions
courtyard
eating area
Bathroom
village pond
studio Gardens
boutique studio four poster
Traditional Village pub with wood Fire
Visit famous Stratford Upon Avon - Shakespeare's home
Glorious Chipping Campden
Nearby stunning Warwick Castle
open countryside
Field
private outside to Lavender
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banbury, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Johndoley
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is highly recomended”
Reviewed May 12, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

A wonderful place to stay, Barry the owner is most welcoming. Everything you could wish for is provided in the accomodation, and is all of a high standard. Set in a village, ideal place for exploring the Cotswolds and surronding area.Had no problem in getting return of deposit. We would certainly return here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharry_Tr...
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We had a lovely stay at Lavender Cottage. It was nice to get away to the countryside - very quiet, lovely small village yet close enough to nearby towns to visit / go to shops etc. Although it rained all weekend, we had a lovely time - just what was needed! Will need to come back to enjoy the surrounds a bit more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend at Lavender Cottage”
Reviewed April 16, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We booked this Cottage having searched for a self-catering cottage for a romantic break near the Cotswolds. Barry the owner was very easy to deal with and we arrived at this high spec cottage. It is finished to a very high standard and is warm and cosy.

Barry helpfully recommended some great places to eat nearby and we had so much to do visiting the nearby attractions that we ran out of time to visit the pub in the village near the Cottage. So, we are coming back in the summer!

The Cottage is finished to a high standard, the bed very comfortable, the cooking facilities great, it even has a dishwasher. There is TV and wireless access for your Iphone or laptop. The bathroom is great too. The whole cottage has been well planned to make effective use of the space and it is set in a quiet location in a very pretty village.

It was a great weekend and we visited various Cotswolds villages, some stately homes, the cinema in Banbury, and had some great meals out. All in all a good stay.

Thanks Barry, see you in the summer.

Alison Miles-Jenkins

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury finish
Liked least: Having to go back home to work
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKnCollin...
Collingwood, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet and Comfortable”
Reviewed March 7, 2012 for a stay in August 2011

This is a "cut & paste" from my review of the Honeysuckle Cottage as we rented both for our stay.

It's been a few months since our visit, but my review is better late than never, and besides, it is well deserved by the proprietor.

We booked both of these cozy little cottages for a five night stay while we were travelling between Banbury and Stratford upon Avon for a wedding and to visit with family,

From the moment we booked with Barry he was very helpful in making sure we would be comfortable and know our way to the cottages. He even offered to meet us in town which was quite nice as coming in from Canada with two teens on a plane then driving for a few hours north from the airport on the wrong side of the road was quite draining!

We were anxious to catch up with family though, so we still went out to the local pub that night., but not for too long :)

Needless to say we were wiped in the morning, so waking up to a basket of fresh croissants, cheese, butter, jam and orange juice was amazing.

During our stay Barry made us feel very welcome and was always helpful. Just a few highlights of what our wonderful host did for us (and this was just in five days);
Barry offered to pick us up groceries as he knew we were tired; he also drove into Banbury just so we could follow him to the shopping district; my wife didn't have time to have her dress for the wedding altered before we left, and he knew just the place to send us; at the last minute before we left Canada we found out that my wife's sister was stuck for a place to stay so Barry offered her a room in his home (it's not typical for him to let it, but it seems to be in his nature to go out of his way to be helpful); he offered to take my wife’s sister to the train station when she wanted to tour Oxford...I think you get the picture, Barry is a proprietor, a host, a concierge, and a friend all rolled into one.

I would absolutely go back. The location in great for venturing many places, the cottages are fabulous and Barry is wonderful. He is a fond memory of our vacation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything was fantastic
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisQues...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Compact and well-equipped”
Reviewed February 12, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

An ideal property for a short break. Lavender Cottage is well-eqipped and very cosy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quite close to various tourist destinations
Liked least: A little bit cramped even for two people
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 31, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful owner and his friendship
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 30, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The entire holiday
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing