We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need in a curry house”
Review of Jay Pur

Jay Pur
Ranked #28 of 194 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything you need in a curry house”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I started using Jaypur a while back because of their easy to use online delivery service on their website. Every single delivery I received was perfect. They sent wine and Christmas cards in December too!!

I decided to try eating in before a night out and it was perfect again. Food amazing, staff the kindest, most professional people you will meet. Excellent value with no corners cut. Don't bother fighting for a table with no space to eat as it's so cramped at the popular voujon. There is no lengthy waiting around for meals and then the bill here.

Don't go anywhere else, you will regret it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesWhite22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    36
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The Jaypur is one of the best”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

There is a great choice of curry restaurants in Banbury, there are three just in Parsons Street alone so plenty of competition

This is a good thing in my opinion as it keeps quality up and prices down!

We'd read the reviews about Jay Pur (Jaypur?) so were intrigued, could a long established restaurant really compete with some of the newer arrivals?

The answer is a resounding and definate yes - Jaypur is really excellent

It's very traditional but the the service and more importantly the food are in a class of their own

We didn't have starters, only papadums and pickle tray and our main course choices were Chicken Tikka Sagwalla, Lamb Tikka Tawa and Chicken Tikka Garlic with side dishes including Chana Massala

Each dish had it's own authentic flavour which is an important test of a very good chef so we happily shared with everybody having a bit of everybody elses

The service was very discrete and professional with the owner visibly involved and we were treated to complimentary drinks at bill time

Definitely going back, I hope soon

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abigcurryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good indian”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice indian, fairly priced. Price for two main courses, one naan bread and three beers was £25-30. Food was fine, nicely spiced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kongediller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Indian I have ever had”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

As the title says best Indian meal I have ever had. The food was a generous portion and well priced, to put the cherry on top it was also delicious.

The well presented restaurant had a great atmosphere and also service was prompt and friendly.
The choices on the menu were vast and had something for everybody.

All that needs to be said really is that myself and friends and partner had a fantastic time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious indian”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Ordered a takeaway from here having heard so many good things about it from other people. Wasnt disappointed either. Was told delivery was going to be about 45 mins but turned up alot sooner and we also received complimentary poppadoms. Food was delicious and portion size was huge.

Helpful?
Thank jayja96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jay Pur also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Jay Pur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing