We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super guest house-excellent value for money”
Review of Easington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Easington House
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from a lovely night away at this charming guest House, which is more like a Small Hotel in quality and comfort. My husband and I spent one night here while visiting our daughter who works and lodges near by. We don't know the aera very well, and our daughter suggested Easington House as she liked the look of it from the outside. It's a very attractive building, and the inside is just as pleasent. Our room was on the first floor at the rear of the property, but no rooms above, as the next floor is smaller and more central, and we found the room was very quiete. The decor and furnishings are in keeping with the property and very clean and comfortable. The bath room was a good size with both a large bath, large wash basin, and a really powerful shower.

Our daughter joined us for both the evening meal and breakfast the following morning. Both were excellent, the evening meal was reasonably priced, as came it to less than £50, for 3 drinks (large glass of wine, beer and cider) 3 mains, 2 desserts and a coffee. All the staff we met were lovely, and at just £10 for out daughters full English breakfast, which also included juice, hot beverage and cereal, it was the best quality and value we have seen in a long while. We would highly recommend this establishment to all, but hope it doesn't help it get too popular and the prices go up, as we hope to stay there again in the near future!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 at the rear on first floor, but no rooms above.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynneee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, so pleased all met with your requirements, look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Easington House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 239 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Easington House is a lovely B & B just a short distance from the centre of Banbury. We spent two nights in a very comfortable room with all the usual amenities and a nice comfortable bed. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice to suit all tastes, we didn't eat in the restaurant but the food smelt delicious. The staff are cheerful and helpful with a good knowledge of the area should you need help of where to visit. The car park at the rear is rather small but it appeared to be adequate when we visited, not sure if it would be when hotel is full. Banbury itself is worth a visit, walkable from Easington House, with many of the major stores and plenty of places to eat from tea rooms to restaurants to hotels who open to non residents. We had a superb meal at Voujon Indian restaurant where the staff are most polite and obliging, no wonder they are always busy!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cymraes191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

What can I say? the Bed and Breakfast was just perfect, The staff were very helpful, and nothing was too much trouble.The B&B was only a stones throw from the center of Banbury. which was perfect for us.
The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful, but I have to say the Evening Meals in the Restaurant were outstanding!
Thanks Pat for a great laugh! and a warm, friendly "Home from Home"

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bert1Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was a treat, a lovely little B&B with loads of character. A friendly welcome from ` Debbie`on arrival, a nice warming log fire in the reception area was much needed on a cold March day.
Our room was up a short staircase to a lovely area with a Four poster bed -room, with all the usual amenities.
Up two more steps to a small dressing room area which led to a lovely bathroom with a deep roll top bath.
We ate in the restaurant on our first evening and the food was very good, I had an enormous Lamb Shank with veg and my wife had a nice beef lasange. Good wine selection and beers available.
A short walk down the hill to the right of the B&B past the Morrisons led to the Railway station where we took a train to Oxford for a reasonable £5.80 return each, took about 30 minutes.
Another stroll to the left of the B&B takes you down to the centre of Banbury, we found a nice Indian Restaurant, Voujon , where we had a really nice curry on our second evening.
The breakfasts at the B&B were traditional hearty food, plenty of selection and well cooked.
Thoroughly recommend Easington House, for a couple, try for the four poster room, lovely.

Room Tip: We had room 14, overlooked the main road, but was quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments, so very pleased you enjoyed your stay, loved the photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked this Hotel a couple of months ago just by a search on the internet and then checking reviews here.
We stayed for one night 23/3 as we had a wedding in the town.
The welcome on arrival was very warm and friendly, we were shown to a room at the front of the hotel which was clean and comfortable with no noise from the main road.
Breakfast was very nice, full english freshly cooked to order.
All in all good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobandjillLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to post your review, I was so pleased that all met with your high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just stayed here for the third time. There is allways a very warm & friendly welcome This time we were given the four poster room it was a fantastic room will book this room again when we are staying longer then one night so we can enjoy a romantic time well worth the money. The breakfast is allways freshly cooked to order nicely presented & very tasty. The staff have allways been helpfull & friendly. As yet we have never tried the evening meals but if they are like the breakfasts they would be worth having..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments, look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A grand welcome by Manager Debbie set the tone. Staff are very friendly, and the accommodation was very clean and comfortable. We had a lovely evening meal and were well looked after. Do not be put off by the premises being by a busy road, as you will hardly hear a thing. Close enough to the centre of Banbury for a gentle stroll round. This is a Bed and Breakfast to be recommended, and were looking after a number of residents on our visit, always a good sign.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank youm for your kind comments, we enjoyed your company so much, looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
562 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
439 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easington House

Address: 50 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $86 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Easington House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Guest House with a licensed restaurant on the edge of town with a private carpark The property is centuries old with open fires, stone floors, timber beams and panelling We serve afternoon tea and have pretty gardens. Conveniently placed for Cotswolds, Oxford , Woodstock, Bicester Village shopping outlet, Silverstone , Broughton Castle Close to the M40 junction We are 4 Star guest house rated and offer charming and comfortable accommodation together with a great breakfast being either full English or Continental striving to use as much local and British Produce as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Easington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing