We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but need to be a little more flexible on checking out!”
Review of Easington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Easington House
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed in the 'honeymoon suite'. This is a lovely room and I can't fault it. There is plenty of room, a lovely bathroom (note: no shower which didn't bother us at all but some people prefer showers, but a lovely 'Victorian' claw bath and shower attachment).

We only stayed the one night but I could quite happily have stayed longer and not felt cramped. It would be a great base for stay of a few days. Breakfast was fine.

Whilst we enjoyed our stay, we were surprised at the landlady's over zealousness for us to vacate our room! Bearing in mind that check-in is not until 4pm, quite late, and check out is 10.30am, it doesnt give you a very long stay when you are just there for one night.

We understand the need for adhering as much as possible to check out times but at 10:38 we received a call from the landlady/manager to 'remind' us. I was just completing my 'ablutions' and my partner explained this. However, less than 10 minutes later she knocked on our door which we both felt was totally uncessary as it was enough to call us (although not really necessary when only 8 minutes after check out time, but to nock on the door as well was slightly overkill). I ncase you are wondering, we had not made any noise, we had not been disruptive guests (we would understand if that were the case) and we feel that over-running on check out by less than 20 minutes is acceptable and the management really should be more flexible. Its all about going that little extra bit further and when you have such a late check in and early check out, one questions the VFM.

That said its a very nice, clean guest house and apart from the check out issue we can recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdinmiltonkeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you taking the time to write your review. Please bear in mind that you arrived early and was let into your room,so I think asking you to leave on time was not a problem, we do have housekeeping staff waiting around to clean the room also. On a lighter note i was pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 248 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business.
The easington has off road car parking( no charge) and is easily located on the main road into/out of Banbury. Its a short walk into town( about 10 mins) or an even short drive!!
Having arrived late I missed the chance to sample the food in the restaurant( shuts at 8.30pm). The menu had a good choice and I was disappointed to not have a dabble with the homemade Steak and Ale pie. Prices were very reasonable.
The rooms are well appointed, very clean and have everything you need- tea/coffee/water/ biscuits/ digital tv/ free wifi toiletries etc. yes the rooms are hot but the radiators have thermal control so are easy to turn down to suit your own comfort factor.
I was up in the loft room. Really nice with open beams. WORD OF WARNING FOR STUPID PEOPLE LIKE ME- if you need the bathroom during the night, bend down as there is only so many times you can bang your head :)
Bed was comfortable but as I am a light sleeper the road noise woke me on a couple of occasions. That isn't a fault of the hotel more the obnoxious drivers who feel the need to thrash their car at 1am.
Breakfast is fantastic. The restaurant is small but that adds to the feel and ambience. The bone china tea cups and service sets really just finish things off well. Continental option is self service, plenty to go round and if there isn't anything you like, I'm sure the team would do their utmost to find something. Hot food is well catered for being cooked to order and despite getting busier was served with a continuing smile.

The staff are magnificent. The lady that greeted me was so friendly and was quick to offer help and information. Again at breakfast, she shone with the way she made everyone feel at home.

All in all, easington house is great value for money and more importantly has staff that care about their guests.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Spongegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments, so pleased your stay was comfortable, look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I took my husband on a surprise getaway and we purchased this throught the kgb deals. It was a very pleasant experience and the staff were so friendly. We had a lovely room with tv, ensuite, coffee/tea making facilities. The room was very quaint and so clean and you felt at home here. The breakfast thank you ladies was excellent and the evening meal we had there the first night. So to all the lovely ladies we met during our stay thank you for being such a laugh and making our stay memorable. Banbury is a lovely place to stay the train station is not too far away for a day in Stratford-upon-Avon, good pubs and resturants as well. Mike and Gill

Room Tip: By the look of the rooms we saw when the doors were open they were all of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to post your review, we all enjoyed having you around, I was so pleased that the room met with your high standards, look forward to seeing you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great value; warm attentive service; well cooked and tasty breakfasts; perfect car park all in a short walking distance of the centre of Banbury. An ideal hotel to stay in town. Thanks so much for everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind remakes and taking the time to post your review, I am so pleased everything and everyone met your standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

You could not wish for a warmer welcome! The owner is clearly in the right business and was so pleasant, we were made to feel right at home.

We arrived on the Saturday a little early (2.30pm) and were greeted by a sign on the door which said check in was at 4pm and if we had any queries, to call the number below. Suitcases in tow, we decided to call the number and ask if there was a place that we could leave our cases in order for us to go into town and kill a couple of hours until check in. We were told that there was no one at the hotel and no where we could leave our bags. A bit of a shame as we then had to kill time in town lugging suitcases with us (we didn't bring the car). Still, that'll teach us for arriving early but then again, if you're going away for a weekend, you want to make the most of it and often arrive at your destination earlier in the day. Anyway...

The beds were very comfy and we both slept well. However, when my partner woke up, his leg was tangled in the wadding which was coming out of the eiderdown. The eiderdown was torn and very tired and normally we would have taken it off but the heating was on so high, we had to open the windows and we would have been cold without the eiderdown as there was only a sheet to have kept us warm.

The bathroom was small which wasn't too much of a problem but there was not enough room to shower comfortably (shaving legs, ladies, would be a logistical nightmare unless you're a contortionist). The shower also had several patches of black mould which made it feel unclean although the cleanliness of the hotel in general was excellent. The toiletries provided were lovely but we were both left unsure as to why shampoo and hand soap had been provided but no shower gel. There was also no conditioner to accompany the shampoo but perhaps thats me being picky.

At breakfast the next morning, we had to wait a while as there was not enough room in the dining room for all of the guests. It wasn't a complete disaster but there was an empty lounge next door which could have been used as another dining room for busy periods. It would save guests from waiting around for their breakfasts and we found that we were in quite a rush to have breakfast and then get out by 10.30 (if late, we would have been charged the full cost of the room for another night's stay - a little harsh, I thought). When we did at last sit down for breakfast, the staff were clearly very flustered which made us feel a bit of an inconvenience. There were also no glasses for the juice and even after asking for one, we didn't recieve one - no harm done as we're not adverse to sharing but it's a little niggle nonetheless. The breakfast itself was OK - one slice of regular bread (unbuttered and slightly soggy), with scrambled eggs and tiny bits of smoked salmon. It would have been nicer had the bread been buttered and perhaps from a fresh loaf but alas...

Bottom line - the owner and the staff were really very kind and charming - something which is in short supply these days. The building and grounds itself are lovely but not quite what I was expecting as the photography on the website is being kind (I was expecting a grand country pile but its more cosy cottage than country manor). The hotel is situated on a main road which did not disturb us at all and was very well situated for access to the town centre and the station. I hope that by submitting this review, I am making the hotel aware of the few niggles which are a bit inconvenient to their guests. As nice as the staff were, however, I feel for the nightly cost, I did not get value for money, nor an entirely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

First of all thank you for taking the time to post your review. In the last twelve months the guest house has had a full makeover so everything is in spotless condition, the hand wash in the room is also a body wash. The breakfast room caters for 24 people at any one time however when we all full we may have a delay on our hands to get everyone seated but do offer the lounge to rest whilst tables are cleaned and reset . We offer one of the best breakfast available and have received great reviews. I wish you had spoken to me whilst you were here to clear up any faults that you were not happy with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had to spend a 6 months in Banbury and found this place the staff and owners are friendly, Helpful, and fun. The breakfasts had enough variety that meant you could have differing things each day and if you wanted to make small changes then that was not a problem. All the rooms are well equiped.

Room Tip: If you are a couple planning a romantic break ask for room 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanRB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments, great to have you here, hopefully you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at this Guest House for 2 nights to enjoy a short break.The Guest house had an old fasioned charm and hospitality.The breakfast staff were very friendly and quickly took our order.
Good choices and nice and hot.The Restaurant was very good and quickly adapted their pasta dish to suit me. Great homemade puddings.The bed were very comfy and we quickly fell asleep.
Town centre is nearby and so is Bourton on the water and Blenheim Palace.Good pugs around including Toby Carvery.Enjoy.

Room Tip: Easington has several Ground Floor Rooms and Family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we are located in a great area that is central to most places. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
592 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easington House

Address: 50 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $91 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Easington House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Guest House with a licensed restaurant on the edge of town with a private carpark The property is centuries old with open fires, stone floors, timber beams and panelling We serve afternoon tea and have pretty gardens. Conveniently placed for Cotswolds, Oxford , Woodstock, Bicester Village shopping outlet, Silverstone , Broughton Castle Close to the M40 junction We are 4 Star guest house rated and offer charming and comfortable accommodation together with a great breakfast being either full English or Continental striving to use as much local and British Produce as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Easington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing