We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fab find thank you trip advisor.”
Review of The Inn at Farnborough - CLOSED

The Inn at Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fiercely Independent Country Pub and Restaurant serving outstanding produce that we do not mess around with, Simple and delicious. Our service is great, friendly and laid back. But first a warning to you fine people, please think very hard before coming to Le Inn.......We would love to see you but we have a few rules you need to consider first. You see Le Inn is not for everyone and that is just fine by us, only the very select few are aloud to become members of The Inn Crowd, it is a privilege and we do not give away membership lightly or on a whim, you as a guest have to play your part and earn your stripes. When you come to Le Inn remember you are coming to join our little club and we do things how we do them because that is how we like it, its our place and that's just how we like it, we ain't coming to your house Hombre! Lay back, relax, smile and enjoy the ride. So Mou Cha Cha,if you moan and whinge and have a face that looks like it has been slapped by last weeks Haddock, please take your money somewhere else, we don't want it....ciao!
warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A fab find thank you trip advisor.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Travelling north on the M40 I tapped the 'nearby' on Trip Advisor and The Inn at FArnborough came up and we are so glad we acted upon it. We had two fabulous meals in a relaxed and welcoming Inn. From being served at the bar and shown to a generous sized table for two(hurrah) the staff were attentive, never intrusive, there was a good selection on the menu's. The food was delicious and served up imaginatively, yummy puddings as well and a giant double skinned coffee pot with enough for two generous coffees. We just loved the whole experience. Please have a look on line at their website to get an idea of how keen the owners are on their customers having a great dining experience. So glad we had Trip Advisor to guide us there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mintyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    96
    31
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow -Amazing food amazing service- a memorable evening”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked to take my parents and 9 others for a surprise golden wedding- there was not a thing that could have been done for us or served to us that could have been improved on. Jo was fantastic both in offering a great service to make it extra special, both in the menu and even on which table woud be best and even down to the menus printed with parents occasion on. The whole evening was truly magical, and the food was absolutely fantastic. Every year we Celebrate at a top London restaurant and this was as good if not better. The food not only looked Michelin star it also tasted it. We cannot thank Matt Alice and the rest of the crew for making it a night to remember .... Will definitely be back again and again.... For the Seafood bisque or the three little porkies or the beef or the Seville orange tart ... Or the chocolate crime brûlée.. Thanks again for making such a special evening so memorable :o)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely village pub restaurant”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Made a last min bookin and was fitted at the lounge area, seating area was a bit tight but they were full. The restaurant itself is quite small so best to book esp for a Sat night.
Food was excellent, I had scallops & tiger prawns which were very fresh and tasty, and chocolate bread & butter pudding with white chic ice cream which was divine too.
Had a local cider to go with the meal which was priced reasonably.
Food price is like a mid-priced london restaurant but given the quality it was well worth it.
Ambience is very agreeable too.
One can continue socialising/mingling at the main bar after dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DolphinsNSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
1 review
“Fantastic welcome!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My friend and I walked from mollington with our two five year olds and two dogs. We thought it would be quite a quick walk but an hour and half later we finally arrived........ Very ready for a glass of wine! The landlady was amazing as soon as we walked in and offered to give us a lift back to mollington!! We had a lovely meal and great service. A very friendly pub and great atmosphere. I will definitely return with my husband! Thank you so much for the lift back! An absolute life saver!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Owner at The Inn at Farnborough, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Inn. It really was my pleasure and so pleased you enjoyed your afternoon with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes

Jo Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“What a local foodie pub should be!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have chosen The Inn on several occasions when meeting friends for lunch and I have always been charmed and delighted with this pub/restaurant both in terms of the atmosphere and also the food. Located close to the M40 which makes it a convenient choice you still find yourself in a pretty little village away from motorway services etc. There is a good size car park so you don't need to worry about finding a space. Usually there is a warm log fire to greet you and make you feel very welcome whilst you read the menus offered. You can choose from the a la carte, bites and snacks or menu of the day so you have plenty to consider and all that I have eaten has been of a very high standard. The decor is tastefully done with a couple of separate dining rooms one of which has a library themed decor to give more atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and have a nice approach when they see that there are people engrossed in chat so that they don't interrupt yet are attentive. What is particularly nice is that they appear quite happy for you to sit and chat for a couple of hours after lunch without rushing you off. Coffee served in cafetieres with hot milk are available to top you up and all with ease. I have often noticed the notices about some of the foodie themed evenings and wished we were closer in order to be able to enjoy them. During the summer there is a lovely garden area with tables and chairs in order to enjoy good weather. Will certainly be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenidadDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Owner at The Inn at Farnborough, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review about the Inn. We are delighted that you enjoy your time in our pub - we love it too.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Jo Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Farnborough also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing