We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect pit stop!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Farnborough - CLOSED

The Inn at Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fiercely Independent Country Pub and Restaurant serving outstanding produce that we do not mess around with, Simple and delicious. Our service is great, friendly and laid back. But first a warning to you fine people, please think very hard before coming to Le Inn.......We would love to see you but we have a few rules you need to consider first. You see Le Inn is not for everyone and that is just fine by us, only the very select few are aloud to become members of The Inn Crowd, it is a privilege and we do not give away membership lightly or on a whim, you as a guest have to play your part and earn your stripes. When you come to Le Inn remember you are coming to join our little club and we do things how we do them because that is how we like it, its our place and that's just how we like it, we ain't coming to your house Hombre! Lay back, relax, smile and enjoy the ride. So Mou Cha Cha,if you moan and whinge and have a face that looks like it has been slapped by last weeks Haddock, please take your money somewhere else, we don't want it....ciao!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect pit stop!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Starting out on a road trip yesterday with some mates, pulled off the M40, starving!!!
Logged on to trip advisor and it pointed me in the direction of the inn.
Was welcomed buy some really friendly faces!
We decided to sit in the garden and all 3 of us ordered Burgers!
I've had some burgers in my time but these were seriously up there with the best anywhere.
All washed down with a great pint of Peroni, the other 2 had a local pint called Purity, which must have been good considering how quickly they drank them.
We were all very stoked to find this little beaut!!
We've already decided to drop back in on our way back and sample more of the menu!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lebron73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    96
    31
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked a table for 4 last Saturday as we had some guests from abroad. I had been recommended this restaurant by a friend and unfortunately it did not live up to expectations. Service was very slow and so therefore we did not wait to try the deserts and coffee as we could have been there until breakfast! Limited menu was OK except that they ran out of fillet steak.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobehonestwithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Owner at The Inn at Farnborough, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Inn at Farnborough, all feedback is vital and so very important to us.

I am very sorry that the Inn did not live up to your expectations on this occasion and that the service was a little slow. We do try not to rush our guests however it seems we were a little too slow with your table, again sorry. I have certainly noted your points and subsequently put measures in place to hopefully rectify.

I can only apologise that we had run out of our fabulous fillet steaks. They are very always very popular. The party of 24 guests we had in that evening along with other guests all ordered the fillet Steak and consequently we ran out on this occasion. As a fresh food outlet it is inevitable that from time to time we will run out of something, but we are of course so sorry to disappoint you.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Inn and maybe you might have the chance to try our famous Fillet Steak then?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We picked the Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Booking was easy as they respond promptly to email. We chose it as a meeting point for family from NW and SE. It was easy to find and there was plenty if parking. Happily it was a balmy summers day and we chose to sit outside. The food was excellent, portions of a good size. We all has the rare roast beef as our mains. It was delicious. We tried a variety if nibbles to start and enjoyed the excellent desserts. The creme brûlée was fantastic.

With mainly soft drinks and coffee too the bill was quite reasonable. The service was just right

We wil definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RMGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Owner at The Inn at Farnborough, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Inn and delighted to hear you enjoyed our fabulous Sunday lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just a really nice place with great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've been here a few times but we went again on a Saturday in June. The menu choices were great, the wine list (for a pub) wasn't too bad but overall it was a really nice meal. The service was good as long as you didn't mind asking for a little attention from time to time. A reservation i had was the chairs - (as did others who had to ask for cushions - that were quickly provided!) they were just very low!

All in all though a good value meal in what is a nice village pub - I'd recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jonathan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Saturday Lunch Fantastic that Dogs are welcome...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Took Mother in Law for Saturday lunch, and was spoilt for choice with the menus. A very good three course meal for£17.50, lighter bites that looked fab, and the a la carte. I enjoyed the pig cheeks, hubby had a steak, gran bury had monkfish. All superb, starters were tasty , service excellent. They need to put a softener on the door so it doesn't bang shut , cos if you are eating in the bar, it drives you nuts ( well it did us anyway) Apart from that would go back for supper if I had space!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Farnborough also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing