We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little treasure with great value and superb restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“A little treasure with great value and superb restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

Stayed here twice now and will come back again. Staff friendly and rooms clean and functional. Restaurant in hotel is very good and location near M40 makes it very convenient for places like Gaydon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    145
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
125
398
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

Olde world charm in spades at this pretty and welcoming hotel in the Cotswolds, so close to Oxford, Stratford and Blenheim Palace. We couldn't believe the rooms too - really stylish and contemporary with fabulous bathrooms, like staying at the poshest B and B but with the atmosphere of a professional country house. Dinner was stunning and the Creme Brulee rated one of the best - the definitive test! Next time we will take a group of friends as the two private dining/function rooms look perfect for a 'gang'. Only wish I was arranging a wedding for someone close as the whole- hotel country house weeekend would be brilliant - and the location is so conveneient for all areas of the country. A real find - and amazing value too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

My partner and I have just spent a couple of relaxing nights at this hotel. From the first call to book to leaving the hotel nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. From sending a chocolate brownie to a chocoholic suffering withdrawal symptoms, to sending room service with more short cake biscuits. The breakfast on the first day was great, freshly cooked, and very tastey. on the Sunday breakfast was Buffet, and therefore not quite as good. The rooms have been refurbished, and are very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedwayBigmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCRINGTON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

An excellently friendly hotel with nothing to much trouble for a well groomed staff.The food really is something special and the relaxed evening atmosphere along with it's surrounding's are great for unwinding.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIDIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

My wife and I spent a two night break here at in mid-March, and were immediately surprised by the fact that the rooms in the main building were only just refurbished, and we had the pleasure of being the first guests to stay in that particular refurbished (to a very good standard) room.
The staff and management were extremely friendly and so helpful.
As mentioned by a previous poster the breakfasts were excellent, as were the evening meals and choice of wines.
The hotel is located in a wonderful, chocolate box village, with many similar places to visit close-by.
Given the opportunity we would both like to stay again some time

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRBAWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, Kent
Level Contributor
162 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

Stayed at the Wroxton for a single night on business

Check in and room was all fine. Somewhat dated in decor but clean, a good size and comfortable - TV was probably state of the art in about 1982 - but worked fine!

The only problem with my stay was that the WiFi which is free - wasn't working anywhere in the hotel. The staff were aware of previous problems and apologised for this.
Initially we thought the problem might be the distance my room was from the router - and therefore one of the reception staff allowed me to try in several different rooms and although this didn't result in me connecting to the internet - but this level of service was exceptional

Didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but breakfast the following morning was amazing.
Excellent full english and scrambled egg that had just come out of the pan and not sat under a heat light for the last 45 mins!!!

Overall a good stay - would stay again and recommend the place to anyone

  • Liked — Exceptional service and an excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — Wifi not working
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mattizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skegness lincs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

Just returned from an over night stay at the Wroxton House Hotel to celebrate a relatives 50th wedding anniversary.
We just wanted to say what an excellent hotel this is and would recommend it to anyone.
Both the food and service were excellent and the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — good food and clean rooms
  • Disliked — all excellent
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkinson_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbury
2.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
15.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Address: 4 Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury
Best Western Wroxton Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing