We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something really special!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Something really special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

We booked a two night Dinner Bed and Breakfast package here, and wished we'd made it a week! Unfortunately all rooms were booked for a wedding over the following weekend, or we would have extended our stay. Staff throughout our stay were excellent - obliging, polite and very friendly. There is a large car park, including electric plug-in point. Our bedroom was small, but neat, tidy and clean with everything we required and it all worked! The décor throughout was gleaming - rarely do you see such well maintained public areas. The highlight of our stay was the restaurant - brilliant cooking, brilliant service, as good as any of the top Best Western hotels we stay in. We celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary here and, quite spontaneously, the excellent restaurant staff arranged an assiette of mini desserts for us, with 'Happy Anniversary' piped on the plate. Totally unexpected, it added to a perfect evening - so much nicer than The University Arms, Cambridge, where we spent our wedding night all those years ago! Breakfasts were also excellent at Wroxton House - plenty of choice, and lots more offered. Wroxton House exceeded our expectations on every level - we shall certainly return here when we are next around the Oxfordshire area. Thank you for a special break which we will long remember.

Room Tip: Our room faced the main road but was quiet and we slept very well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    145
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
125
398
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Had a three night stay last weekend, and would certainly like to stay again. Hotel decoration lovely with plenty of comfortable seating scattered about. Upgraded to an executive room which was very clean and comfortable with a lovely big bed, but all the rooms looked good from what we could see. Food was superb. Both breakfasts and dinners were of a very high standard, and not enough can be said of the staff. Without exception they were very friendly and helpful, and all in all a very good stay.

Room Tip: Our room looked out on the car park, but even with a wedding in progress we were not disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

A very nice charming hotel in classic English style - The staff was very friendly, more than what could be expected. I was given a room(no 3) in the old part which was small (which is also classic english ....) but clean and functional. The whole hotel was under careful restauration which meant that my room had a VERY strong smell of paint, I am not very fussy but I did find it strange that this was not checked and that the room was taken out of circulation - I did however not complain and stayed in the room. I was there with 2 colleagues and we also had a very nice dinner in the restaurant as well as used the lobby bar which is very cozily "spread over the entrance area". The Wroxton House is not a 5 star hotel or a high class boutique hotel but they do everything they can to do good. Facilities are well kept, staff is very friendly, restaurant/bar is good
I would recommend the hotel

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterRavnRasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and the lovely comments about the hotel and the staff. We are constantly updating and refreshing the hotel and despite using low odour paints and having rooms out of order for 2 days after work has been completed I do appreciate that some guests can be very sensitive to certain smells. I do wish you had mentioned this at the time and we would have been very happy to have moved you. Hopefully see you again next time you are in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed here for the car racing at Silverstone.
Tried to stay here for all four nights over F1 week-end ie Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
Every year we keep checking through the previous months and find the room rates are quite a bit more expensive than a normal week-end which is perfectly fair and typical with nearby hotels also.
Ended up booking 2 nights in Whatley Hall, Banbury and 2 nights in Holiday Inn Express Banbury instead as the room rates were available around £100/£120 which is what we try to pay.
Although rooms were booked kept checking on Wroxton House just in case dates became available because of a cancellation or similar, and was pleased to see the Friday popped up at the right price. So I cancelled a night at Holiday Inn and stayed here instead.

So this in itself suggests Wroxton House must be something special to justify the inconvenience. It is !
Firstly, the location in a small village just off the M40 near Banbury, with church bells, a couple of local pubs etc is very nice for a walkabout. There are plenty of parking spaces and you earn Best Western points.
The rooms are always spotlessly clean and very well appointed with everything you could expect. Reception staff are always friendly and welcoming.
A major draw is the food. With either a bar menu or a full restaurant there is plenty of choice,and the quality is really excellent. The staff are very friendly and professional too, especially the gentleman from France (?). I'm not very good with accents.
We overheard the conversations of other guests eating and they all had high praise. Some of them were actually staying at another Best Western in Banbury and had travelled into Wroxton just to eat here and have drinks. Whether this is a promoted link, couldn't say, but certainly they liked the dining experience here rather than elsewhere.
The menus are online, but suffice to say, our food was very well prepared and couldn't be faulted. There seemed a little more choice of beers at the bar this time.
The complimentary wi-fi worked very well and was speedy, the tv was fine.

So to sum up Wroxton House is definitely much better than the average Best Western Plus, it really is a very good country hotel and restaurant in itself. All the staff are excellent too.

If only it wasn't so hard to find a good value room rate during the F1 here we would book ahead here every year instead of elsewhere. Fingers crossed we'll be lucky again next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
I'm delighted to hear that we are your first choice hotel when staying in Banbury and that you managed to get a room for the Grand Prix when we had a couple of late cancellations. Always ring us direct on 01295 730777 and we will guarantee you the best rate available on any given date. As you guessed rates are always higher for the Grand Prix due to the old chestnut of supply and demand. Hopefully we can sort you out again for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Located in a small village (with the local pub around the corner) this was a very pleasant surprise for the price.
Not at all 'corporate' in feel, the rooms seem to be individaully designed.
Service was very good from all staff including in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_J_W2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Delighted that we suprised you in a nice way with what we offer at Wroxton House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Really quite impressed with this hotel. Officially, it's only three stars but definitely feels like four. We stayed in what appeared to be the newer wing of the hotel, and this was evidenced by the higher ceilings. Throughout, the hotel was immaculately decorated and the staff helpful and friendly. The bed was really comfortable and the shower lovely. Breakfast could have been better (the scrambled eggs were awful) but it was nice to have a freshly brewed pot of coffee made to order.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew_Beevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Next time you stay and I hope there is a next time, please do say if you don't like something and we will be only to happy to change it for something you do like, it really isn't any bother and we would much rather get it right at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia water, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

this hotel is staffed by totally professional people, who have also retained the expertise of being a caring and considerate team providing an efficient service. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
I'm glad that you found the staff eager to help throughout your stay and it's comments like yours that act as a constant motivation to the team........thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbury
2.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
15.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Address: 4 Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury
Best Western Wroxton Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing