We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Family Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant Family Lunch”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I booked the Wroxton room for 15 of us for my Dad's 70th Birthday lunch last month. All I can say is that everything was perfect! The food delicious, service attentive but discreet - overall very well organised all round. A big thank you to Sean and his team, and also to the Chef and kitchen brigade for a very enjoyable family occasion. Will definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for the 5* review and delighted that we exceeded expectation for what I know was an important birthday lunch. Sean works incredibly hard with his team to ensure all our functions run without a hitch as does Steve and his kitchen brigade. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    154
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
130
418
31
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently held a family re-union lunch in a private room at the Wroxton House Hotel. Everything from initial enquiry through to the function itself was handled with warm professionalism, and the event on the day was as successful as we could possibly have hoped for. The room and food were top rate and the staff were a delight. Well done Wroxton House - you thoroughly deserve your Tripadvisor recognition.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your family lunch and the only disappointment was the weather which prevented the children from exploring the garden. I hope we don't have to wait until the next family celebration to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned from a fab weekend at wroxton and couldn't fault anything.
From check in to check out we were well looked after, staff were attentive, the food was beautiful both at breakfast and dinner and the rooms immaculate.
Will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay, I'll make sure the team read your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a pretty little hotel with small rooms, thatched roofs and a 'country cottage' feel.  We arrived on one of the hottest days of the year to a perfunctory welcome and were led to our room with no suggestion of anyone carrying our bags. The area outside the room smelt like a musty cellar, but mercifully our room didn't. The room itself was tiny but cosy, with beams, secondary double glazing and some imaginative wiring (see photo), but no fridge - just a bottle of tepid water. There was no air conditioning in the hotel at all (as far as we could ascertain), and we strove to relieve the stifling conditions in our room by means of a noisy electric fan. The bathroom towels were tiny and the provision of soap/shampoo sparse. The sounds of an amorous encounter emanated from the room below - intrusive, but preferable to the sound of neighbours arguing! 

On coming down to reception and inquiring about a spot of lunch, we learned that a wedding party was being catered for, which seemed to be proving rather a challenge, but we were offered sandwiches almost as an afterthought. The manageress was more than helpful - in fact she was rather forthright and after a few minutes, we began to feel we were being bossed about. We had chosen not to eat our evening meal at the hotel, but were strongly urged to do so, and told dismissively that there was nowhere else to eat nearby. In the event, there were several restaurants in Banbury and plenty of charming country pubs nearby providing perfectly adequate meals. Judging by what we were charged for sandwiches and beer, I think we made the right choice in sticking to our decision to dine out. 

Returning from an excellent dinner, we obtained a nightcap from the bar ourselves, as nobody seemed to be serving. The bed was comfortable, and we slept fairly well despite the heat and lack of fresh air. An adequate breakfast was served in the tiny dining room - again, no air, not even a fan - and the mushrooms tasted curiously as if they had been soaked in perfume. We left them well alone. On checking out and settling the bill (without passing comment on the hefty charge inflicted on us for our sandwiches), we departed to a distinct lack of 'after-sales' service. There was no: 'I hope you enjoyed your stay', 'We look forward to seeing you again'. 

I'd say we were most unlikely to return to a cramped and somewhat tired setting, where we were made to feel as though we were intruding on a private family gathering. 

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chriscrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I must admit to being a little perplexed by your review. You say the hotel feels tired and as it has been fully refurbished in the last 3 years I can only assume that are referring to the style of property we have here, which was perhaps not to your taste.
As a 3* hotel we do provide complimentary water in each bedroom but not a fridge, we do have bath sheets and not bath towels (and I'm not aware that you can get anything larger than that) and fabulous Gilchrist and Soames toiletries. We do have fans in each bedroom but as you quite rightly pointed out we don't have air conditioning in the bedrooms, just the function suites and nor are we planning to have it installed unless this recent hot weather is going to be an annual event.
It is incredibly important to us that guests enjoy their time with us so I can assure you that we are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay but having looked at the other reviews you have written on Tripadvisor I can see that 6 out of 7 hotels haven't met your criteria either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Found this hotel to be as expected based on previous reviews.

Friendly staff, a pleasant setting with good breakfast and nice ish rooms.

However the rooms were a bit odd, mine was directly road side which had a lot of noise from the chav-driven cars cruising around and my colleague's room was higher up in the building which meant here was a rather odd window on the floor (yes, really).

The supplies in the room were good and the bed comfy. The room was VERY noisy,. guest's either in a room upstairs or next door - i couldn't tell but either the guests were very loud or walls very thin.

I'd stay again if required but would still shop around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CD193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. The original part of the hotel dates from 1649 and with that comes bags of character, charm and quirky features. If that is not your thing we do have more contemporary rooms in the new wing so please ask for one of those if you decide to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As previous reviews, the hotel is lovely and the staff very attentive and the setting perfect.
A few edges need smoothing though, our room a classic double at the top of the older part of the building was very comfortable, and the bathroom through necessity quite small, as it was poorly ventilated a few little nasty insects kept appearing in the shower, which can be a little bit disconcerting.
The Dining experience for Dinner and the Quality, was one of the best we have had anywhere, superb
With regard to breakfast, I have stayed at lesser establishments,where the hot element of the breakfast has been plate served. This was not the case and for such a superior hotel, the hot buffet was messy( always a problem),with some elements looking a bit over warmed, the bacon very greasy and the mushrooms tinned, the staff however extremely efficient and pleasant.
I would recommend and maybe the quality breakfast will improve

Room Tip: You will lose the charm, but probably go for the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RodneyP176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations in most areas. The rooms in the original house are full of character but can be quirky shapes and sizes so you may perhaps be happier with a more contemporary room in the new wing on your next visit, where your husband may find the head height more comfortable.
With regard to breakfast we do offer a plated breakfast service Monday to Friday where breakfast is much more staggered. Saturday and Sunday, however, when the majority of the guests arrive in the last 15 minutes of service is a different kettle of fish and that is why we operate a buffet breakfast scenario. All items are freshly cooked, including the fresh button mushrooms (not tinned) and the kitchen will prepare poached or fried eggs to order.
Thanks again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are so impressed with the staff, the amenities, and the accommodation at this property. Such good value for the services received...the public areas make you feel like you want to sit and relax with a drink in hand. Our room was a deluxe twin - not huge, but well laid out, fresh, clean, contemporary furnishings, very comfy bed and bedding. My husband is 6' 6" tall, so the small bathroom shower was a bit of a challenge, but I suspect that would be different in another room. There is a lot of charm, comfort, and care that has gone into this hotel and I can only rave about the attentive customer service that is given by the front desk team, the bar and restaurant staff and housekeeping. I know I'm gushing, but this is a great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stibbs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Gush all you like..........it's good to know that we are obviously doing something right and knowing that all the work that goes into providing an exceptional experience for our guests is appreciated, matters to us. Thank you and we do hope you visit us next time you visit the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
512 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
544 reviews
2.6 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Address: Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Wroxton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury
Best Western Wroxton Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing