We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful End To Our Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

On the last night of our holiday Mark and I stopped off at the Wroxton House Hotel for dinner. We have been coming here for many years and as always the service and food were of the usual excellent high standard.

Mark, my husband had the poached pears in red wine and salad starter followed by loin of pork served with crackling, apple sauce, wonderful roast potatoes and a very fine selection of vegetables. I had the chicken liver pate for my starter followed by fillet of salmon with a lemon creme sauce, crushed new potatoes and vegetables.

Mark for his dessert had the bread and butter pudding with creme anglaise and I had the decadent dark chocolate tart with chantilly creame.

We had coffee and fudge in the lounge, until it was time for us to leave at 9.00pm

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

It was a pleasure to read your wonderful review and I will pass on your comments to both the kitchen brigade and restaurant team who will be thrilled. Thank you....it really does mean such a lot to us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 912 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff were very friendly and accommodating for our family birthday party. There were 30 of us aged between 2 and 70. The food was delicious and those who stayed over said the rooms were very good. It is also a very well located hotel for people coming from all directions in the country. I would recommend them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penbenloveliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

It was our pleasure to host your event and we were thrilled to see your enjoyment on the day. You must send us one of the photographs, taken on the day, of the whole family, some of whom, we know, had travelled thousands of miles to be here. Make sure you think of us next time there is a family occasion to celebrate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've been staying here on business for many years and there is no doubt that the current owners, John & Gill have made this a great place to stay. All the rooms are freshly refurbished with good quality linen and the restaurant serves excellent, well presented food and, unusually, room service food shows the same high standards with no hint of the frozen microwaved food found in other hotels. The staff at Wroxton House clearly take pride in the quality of service they provide and reflect the owners enthusiastic approach.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Martinw034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you!!!!
We do understand that being away from home for several nights a week can be tiresome and boring so we do try and make sure that all our regular guests feel very much at home whilst still receiving the attention and service they warrant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nine friends from across the UK have just spent a fantastic 3 night reunion at Wroxton House. It was one of our most successful reunions ever - thanks to the attentive and friendly staff who went out of their way to cater for our every needs - even down to going to the local shop to buy yoghurt when one particular variety of fruit yogurt ran out at breakfast! The rooms were comfortable, spotless and well furnished. When there was a power cut in the area the whole place just carried on as normal as far as the guests were concerned. The quality and variety of the food served in the restaurant could not be faulted.The prices for everything from the D,B & B package to the bar prices were outstanding. Friends recommended this hotel to me and I will certainly recommend it to others. Thank you, Gill & John for making my life as organiser for the group so easy and for giving us such a super break.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned home from a lovely three night stay. Can't fault this hotel in any way - staff are friendly and attentive, the room was comfortable, well furnished and spotlessly clean and the food, both at breakfast and in the bar and restaurant was excellent. We have stayed at six BW hotels - we like the character each has to offer, but this has to be the best Best Western we have tried yet! Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastHamRichlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

I'm not sure whether or not you know that all Best Western Hotels are individually owned and operated which makes each one of us different and unique. Unlike the large hotel chains where you could be anywhere in the world, yet the bedroom is the same.
I'm personally delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your enthusiastic feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked this through the Tesco deals and were not sure what to expect but liked the area. We were absolutely delighted with our choice. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and part of the 'family' of the hotel. It is a lovely friendly place with excellent food, staff and atmosphere. Met several 'regulars' and can understand why they keep coming back.
Gill & John are so welcoming themselves that it passed to all the staff.
Have been singing its praises to all my friends and would love to come back for another stay.
Thanks for making our short break so good.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the main entrance so no road noise and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Lovely to know that you had a fabulous week with us and felt very much at home - albeit without having to cook and clean...... the best of all worlds!!
I am very fortunate to have a great team that makes my job very easy (most of the time!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights as part of a group of 40. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly - their attention to detail was outstanding - and they made us feel very welcome. The rooms were clean, beds very comfortable. The food was of exceptional quality despite the fact they were catering for a large group who had a tendency to arrive later than expected from their days out. The meals were of a la carte standard and the service excellent.
The hotel was full of character - parts retaining the original thatch.
We will certainly return.

Room Tip: There are excellent, but unexeciting rooms in the modern extension. We gathered that there are rooms...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrk504009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your 5* review and lovely comments. Your group were a delight to host although I'm sure you were all exhausted from your packed daily itinerary. There are so many wonderful places to visit in the area that a repeat visit is a must.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
527 reviews
2.6 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
239 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel

Address: Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Wroxton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $114 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury
Best Western Wroxton Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing