We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$134
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Adderbury)
$107
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveler rating
750
164
24
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
164
24
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelthatched roofbar menuthree coursessmall hotelpretty villagewine listwithout exceptionhigh standarda real gemwedding receptioncouldn't faultsunday lunchlovely roomplenty of parkingstratford upon avontwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
721 - 726 of 954 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had lovely Christmas Lunch here on Christmas Day and my group had a few challenges with accessibility and dietary requirements. The staff were friendly and very accomodating and went out of their way to make a special day a great success. The food was hot, tasty and plentiful and was enjoyed by all. I think we fed back some comments on accessibility at the time. 10 out of 10 for staff and food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireJetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed Christmas Day with us, we certainly had a good time and enjoyed the festive atmosphere. I appreciate your comments with regard to disabled access and we are aware that many parts of the building can be challenging. The original parts of the house, which include the restaurant and bar, date back to 1649 and narrow door ways and steps, whilst adding character are difficult for those with mobility issues. We have also just received planning permission for a disabled loo on the ground floor and this will be completed by mid February. Hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed early December 2012. Very efficient welcome at front desk - nice decent-sized room, very clean, spotless bathroom. Booked DBB for 3 nights - pleased we did! Food of high quality, very nicely prepared and presented. Nice quality cutlery and all plates etc. matched. Service very good, efficient, pleasant without being OTT. Wine list fair and reasonably priced (you can push the boat out if you wish). Decor good. Whole place looked recently decorated. All delightfully understated, and very good

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollandNorthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

It's always great to be able to pass your comments back to the team, especially at this time of the year when they are all working hard to ensure all our guests enjoy the' Festivities', it is a great boost - thank you and our warmest wishes to you for a wonderful christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Visited with friends for Sunday lunch following a walk in the area. The hotel was very busy as a Christmas lunch for a large group was about to take place . Despite the pressure on staff our lunch in the restaurant was excellent...... good food, attentive but not overbearing service and my wife's special diet (coeliac) was attended to with knowledge and care. Great value and altogether a very pleasant event. we will do it again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. So few places seem to still serve traditional roast lunches and personally I don't think you should eat anything else on a Sunday!. Wroxton is a very picturesque village and many of our guests park their cars and stroll through Wroxton Abbey grounds and the village. Choosing to walk prior or post lunch will depend on whether or not you think you will be able to move after a 3 course lunch including one of our fabulous homemade puddings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past couple of years and it never fails to impress. We invited our friends for a break on this occasion and as always we were worried that they wouldn’t like it as much as we do, but they loved it.
The decor throughout the hotel superb and the hotel is extremely clean. We have always found all the staff to be very helpful and courteous.
Fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie_GrahamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for you lovely comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay. Next time you visit you may like one of our Executive Bedrooms which are larger than our standard rooms and can be worth the little extra if you are staying for a few nights. See you soon I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A delightful hotel and stay experience. We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past 20 years. Each time is was a first rate experience. Well run, really friendly helpful staff. The bar area and restaurant are really quaint. Reasonably good food - not fine cuisine but very nice.
Rooms are neat and clean but tight from a size perspective.
Highly recommended and you can not go wrong unless your looking for a five star experience and are willing to pay for that. Shy of that, this is great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews