We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great New Year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great New Year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

As ever, a wonderful experience at Wroxton House Hotel.
We arrived mid-afternoon on the 31st to be greeted by a very friendly staff and to a delicious cream tea. Our room was clean, newly-decorated and was very quiet and comfortable as we rolled into bed after the celebrations. The casino was a bonus on New Year's Eve, although having said that I didn't win anything! The chef pulled another one out of the bag with the delicious meal, my terrine starter was full with chunks of lobster. it was worth every penny considering it's one of the most expensive nights of the year. After dinner we were able to dance the night away and welcome in the New Year with our friends. Would definitely recommend this if you want to escape next New Year's Eve!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We had a brilliant time but it's reassuring to know that our guests also enjoyed themselves. I think I left the dance floor about 1.00am and my feet did suffer - no pain no gain!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    145
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
125
398
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We booked here based on reviews, and we were not disappointed. The very high standard of the staff and the food make this a real gem.
Because we booked late we had one of the lesser rooms, with slightly creaky floors, but it was extremely comfortable (and had lots of character!)
The whole team made every effort to make sure it was a stay to remember. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keble6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
What can I say - we all had a fabulous evening and I think the free flowing champagne at the start of the evening had something to do with that. Hope to see you again next year as lot's of the crowd have already rebooked so it's sure to be another good break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinner
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We had a visit to make in the area, so my wife and i chose this hotel, and were impressed. Rooms were comfortable and clean, dinner excellent, and also first rate sandwiches prepared for us so that we could return at 11 pm the second night and have a snack (having missed dinner). Bar could be noisy, but they cannot hep that!
Would we stay again - Yes.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priesthorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Glad to hear that you had a lovely stay and were made to feel welcome by the team. I agree that the bar and lounge can be busy if we have a function or christmas parties but it is our policy to make people aware and I do hope this happened in your case. We do have bedrooms away from the lounge area so for light sleepers or those looking for an early night it is worth letting us know and we'll do our best to allocate one of those. Hope to see you next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

For a number of years we have been using this hotel for our family Christmas get together. This involves Sunday lunch for about 20 people in the middle of December. The hotel is obviously very busy then but everything is so well organised.
Before the day the events co-ordinator is brilliant and makes sure everything is covered for a successful day.
When we arrive we are greeted and this year were shown to a dedicated area for us to meet up.
The Wroxton Room had just been decorated and was very smart and welcoming. The tables were beautifully set out- all adding to the festive environment.
The food arrives on time, is as we ordered and is of an excellent standard.
The staff are without exception helpful, friendly and efficient.
All our family are so impressed with the hotel that there is never any question of where we should go next year.
If you are looking for a place to have a family do this is an extremely good hotel to consider.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBrown51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write with your comments. The Wroxton Room really is perfect for family gatherings and it's size does mean that it's always the first one to get booked up. It was all refurbished in November ready for the festive flurry but we love having old friends return year after year - look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANBURY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had a departmental Christmas Party at the Wroxton Hotel on friday 16th December.
It was EXCELLENT ,the food was superb and the drinks flowed nicely.
The disco was located in the entrance area and this was excellent for if you wanted to dance the night away after a excellent meal you could .
if you just wanted to talk with friends you could either talk in the dinning room or sit in the very comfortable seats by the bar area.
Nothing was too much trouble , I cannot wait to go back ,My DAUGHTER is getting married at this venue in June 2012 , cannot wait .

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight ,but people in our party did and they said the rooms were superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIMONGVARNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
What a lovely review, thank you. We were thrilled with how Christmas went this year as it was our first with our new function suite but we've had some great comments and lots of forward bookings for next year which is always a good sign. Look forward to welcoming you back in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Live locally and came here for a Christmas lunch with a group. The service was friendly & attentive, the meal was delicious, plentiful and served hot to all 40 of us in the pleasant Broughton room. Both the room & our tables were decorated to give a very festive atmosphere.
However we were shocked to be charged £1-75 for my tonic water (I was the driver) - this really seems an excessive mark-up! In spite of that we would have liked to book for a return visit with family members - but were told they're not serving meals on either Christmas Eve or Boxing Day - strange! So we've booked to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BobblenoseWarwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments and we were delighted that you enjoyed your festive lunch. We have had a tremendous response to the Broughton Room with lots of local groups and societies choosing us for their christmas parties this year. I'm sorry you were disappointed that we were unable to offer lunch on Christmas Eve and Boxing Day but the team here work tirelessly throughout December and all work Christmas Day so we close on Christmas Eve and Boxing Day lunch to allow them to celebrate with their families, which I'm sure you can understand. I do hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Our stay was a curate's egg. It all started back in the summer when we booked a room for a December visit as part of our Club's Xmas get-together. Many weeks later an email flyer from the hotel offered us an attractive 2 night package but, strangely, the management would not include the night already booked and wouldn't budge on the subject . Consequently, we stuck with our original plan and the Hotel thereby lost the revenue from a potential extra night's stay.

The reception staff were polite and welcoming. Our ground floor room was first class, fully refurbished with new furnishings and decor. It was spotlessly clean and had a large, most comfortable king-sized double bed. The room was also wonderfully warm - for which we were grateful, as the weather had turned wintery with a particularly chilly wind blowing.

We had pre-ordered and paid for our group meal and after a long day's travelling were looking forward to it. It turned out to be most disappointing and at £35 a head, poor value for money. Mediocre food and indifferent wine indicated quality had been stood aside for profitability. We were hungry, but unable to eat the main course - it was grim - and no alternative was offered. Breakfast was buffet-style but with just scrambled eggs on offer and, as is so often the case with buffets, the food was only lukewarm. We have had much better.

This is the second time we have visited this hotel and each stay has been let down by food quality- this time worst than the first. Catering-wise, the Hotel clearly copes better with individuals than groups. With better quality food, this would be a fine establishment and would have scored higher.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lancerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomesticGoddess3, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write and we were delighted that you were pleased with your room and the service and I'm glad I have the opportunity to explain about the room rate. Your group was booked in for a Christmas Party Night and the room rate quoted was very competitive. Unfortunately, as with most offers they can't be combined with other deals and our current 2 night deal wouldn't have included the Party Night on the Saturday evening. The £35.00 you quoted for dinner did include a three course meal, a private room, half bottle of wine per person, disco and crackers etc. Our normal restaurant menu is priced at £31.00 for 4 courses and coffee and as you can see from other reviews the food is usually what our guests rave about most. I do hope we shall have the opportunity to change your mind about us in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbury
2.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
15.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Address: 4 Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury
Best Western Wroxton Hotel
Banbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing