We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was not good” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fabio's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fabio's
Ranked #160 of 191 Restaurants in Banbury
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It was not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have been twice with a large group of people it must be said. However we pre-ordered to help the staff. The food was cold and some people in the group had to wait over an hour to get their food, while the rest of us ate. When we got the bill it was hand written and just said the total. We had paid large deposit and they were trying to charge us for the full amount and not take the deposit off.

I won’t go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

You can usually rely on an Italian restaurant for good, reliable food but not this one the night we visited. Don't know if they were having a bad night (it was very busy) but the food was very disappointing - one of our party ordered pasta, which was very dry. The vegetables were very over cooked. The whitebait tasted very much frozen. The saltimbocca was the worst we've ever had. It wasn't a very good experience and probably the worst Italian food we've ever been served. I hope this was an off night rather than the norm.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Was it meant to be ironic or "traditional"?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Desperate to find a decent vegetarian meal in Banbury we decided to try Fabios. The reviews seemed to be ok, we went with open mind. Hearing shortly before going that it had changed hands but retained the same chef, we were optimistic that the new owner would be keen to impress. Oh how wrong we were.

Walking into a relatively empty restaurant we were told brusquely that they were fully booked. Luckily we had booked so first feeling of customers = inconvenient overcome.

The owner (scruffily dressed & possibly the most disinterested waiter/owner ever met) was rude beyond words. His level of engagment during taking our order was non exsistent. A bottle of wine was also ordered and it was splashed into glasses without any opportunity to try it. When commented upon he sneered, stated it was from his home town (Sicily) and would be fine, as he walked off. Strange that he had a broad midlands accent. Was he in character for being rude/mafioso type? He needed an underlying charm to carry that off - so no then.

Starters were bought quickly and, to be balanced, were all tasty & good sized portions. Then the hope that the restaurant would redeem itself fell flat. As flat as the overcooked, hard as cardboard crepe one of the party had ordered.

The main courses were 3 different choices plus a starter size crepe with side salad. It had to be this way as the veggie options were limited. We suspect that the inept order taking meant that the crepe had been kept warm for a while. Well that's giving it the benefit of the doubt as if it was cooked like that then they've found the solution to potholes. One of the party received the wrong main and it was taken away with no apology. As 3 of us
looked at our food we waited - for the replacement, an apology, anything. The side salad had also been omitted. We waited, we chased. Nothing. Obviously cooked from fresh the pasta arrived and was ok. The side salad - advertised as mixed leaves - was something a poor Little Chef would present. Rubbish. Iceberg and crass chunks of toms/cucumber. The main courses were
tasty and again decent sized portions. The bill was asked for, we were offered complimentary coffee, too little too late. The owner didnt even acknowledge us. It took them 15mins to process the bill, and that was with prompting.

I wanted to write a comprehensive review as it's important that you see the scale of the problems. This restaurant has changed names and owners. The chef is the only chance they have. But you'll need to get through rude , appalling,
inappropriate service first. It's not worth it. If the owner wants customers he needs to recruit staff who care and who can actually do the job. And he needs to take a lesson in business sense, because he will fail if he carets on like this.

One of the most unpleasant experiences we've been subjected to for a very long time.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OGandTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Decent little Italian.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Service was friendly and prompt, table was clean and well set.

Food was enjoyable, hot plates and decent portions.

Not pricey really. Pleasant, easy dining experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were really looking forward to going to Fabios as we had planned on the web before we went, where we were going to go and eat and we saved this for the Saturday Night. On arrival the waiter, who looked like the owner was really miserable and behaved as if he didnt want anyone there. The food was ok, but nothing special.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabio's also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Fabio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing