We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would love a local pub like this!”
Review of Wykham Arms

Wykham Arms
Ranked #42 of 192 Restaurants in Banbury
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Preston UK
Level Contributor
473 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“I would love a local pub like this!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Visited this beautiful country pub having read a review in the 2013 Michelin guide for public houses. I wasn't disappointed. Located in a tiny village about 4 miles from Banbury the place is stunning. On entry you are immediately given a warm welcome by the friendly staff. Food quality was excellent and the real ale went down a treat. Make a point of visiting this place if staying in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best food in the uk with fantastic friendly service”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We are foodies from Australia and found the food here absolutely fantastic!!! We ate here five times in a month, (and in some ways that says it all )and the cooking was faultless, whatever we chose. The chef has a great way with food, and all staff were friendly and interested in their customers. Great owners, highly recommended, well worth a detour

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Country Gem”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Arrived here late on a Sunday afternoon after exploring the area. Car park was full (usually a good sign!) and we entered to find the place humming with activity. We were not sure about food still being available but were immediately given a warm welcome and directed to one of the few free tables and given menus to peruse. Waitress later returned and while ordering we found out that several of our choices were 'off' - due to demand and food being freshly prepared - not the pub's fault but ours for being so late! We then decided to forgo the Sunday menu and have a cheesboard and a baguette. These were quickly produced, well presented and both delicious - it was evident that even under pressure the kitchen staff had made our small order special!
Our meal was completed by excellent coffee and a very reasonable bill. We shall be back to try the full menu. This establishment is well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krappslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remich, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wykham Arms Top Eatery!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Called in for dinner this week and had a fantastic meal. Rib-eye steak cooked to perfection, delicious sausage and mash with onion gravy got our teenagers approval, worth driving back for on a regular basis! The Thai curry and the nacho starter were great. Friendly staff and excellent service. The home made fudge with the coffee was an unexpected treat - and we were delighted to find we could buy bags to take away! We will go back!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLux63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remich, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wykham Arms Top Eatery!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Called in for dinner this week and had a fantastic meal. Rib-eye steak cooked to perfection, delicious sausage and mash with onion gravy got our teenagers approval, worth driving back for on a regular basis! The Thai curry and the nacho starter were great. Friendly staff and excellent service. The home made fudge with the coffee was an unexpected treat - and we were delighted to find we could buy bags to take away! We will go back!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLux63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wykham Arms also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Wykham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing