We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere and service”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #9 of 192 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and service”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Culworth is certainly off the beaten track but this place is always busy. They have some great beer on tap (the Timothy Taylor Golden Best is highly recommended) and the food and service is very good too. The menu is varied with something for everyone with a definite bias to British classics. If you are planning a weekend visit for dinner or any time in December (xmas parties), booking is strongly recommended. At the end of November the earliest we could get seated was 8.30pm on a Tuesday night!

Definitely worth a visit if you are in the Banbury area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VT4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    67
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Meal - Lovely Staff”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Went to The Red for an early Christmas get-together of girlfriends last night. This is a village pub that is more of a restaurant and booking is usually essential. 20 of us all had a great time and the food was delicious. We all had our food served at the same time and the staff were friendly. It was reasonably priced - I paid £30 (inc tip) and had three courses and enough wine, which was also decent. Recommend the guinea fowl!

Helpful?
Thank Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oh dear another pub on the slide”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Previously a good pub but i haven't been for a while and after today's experience wont ever go again.
Poorly cooked food served cool and on cold plates.Uncooked mushrooms ,tired bruised salad garnish and low quality chips presented in a dogs dinner manner .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wow! Good value and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently had Sunday lunch here on the recommendation of a friend. The food comes in large portions, it's great value, and the staff were happy and efficient. The puds are to die for too!

It's quite a small cosy pub although they do have a dining room behind. parking is quite easy outside or in their car park.

Give it a try but make sure you book, it gets busy especially on Sundays when they serve food 12-4. Turn up then without a reservation and you will be lucky to get in.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chezaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lives up to its reputation - booking usually essential!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We're not the most organised couple, so it was our second last minute Sunday evening attempt to get a table at the Red Lion without a booking when we succeeded and re-discovered why this charming rustic pub enjoys such a strong reputation for food. Both waitresses were very professional and enthusiastic about the latest new menu choices. The food arrived with impeccable timing, but not so that we felt rushed and meanwhile we were kept entertained chatting with the barman and the locals. The pheasant and the mixed grilled seafood were absolutely excellent. However, my starter took the favorite - crispy skin risotto balls with ragu on the inside, in a rich tomato sauce. Fun and very tasty. We just wish we'd known to take the dog too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveS247_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing