We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hummus OMG! So good - made in house”

Turkish Gul Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #3 of 232 Restaurants in Banbury
Price range: $6 - $62
Description: Great Atmosphere 70 seater restaurant Amazing Turkish dishes cooked fresh by our finest chefs Good selection of wines and spirits
Restaurant details
Description: Great Atmosphere 70 seater restaurant Amazing Turkish dishes cooked fresh by our finest chefs Good selection of wines and spirits
Reviewed April 11, 2019

100% recommended throughout. To start with what a great building! A cool entrance porch too and a smiley welcome. The interior is deluxe sparkly and the Turkish background mood music was a chilled with the volume just right.

Complimentary warm Turkish bread and 2 dips arrived in an instant. The Hummus starter was unbelievably good, made in house they tell me. The Chicken was delicious, perfectly grilled with great condiment on the salad and my prawn & vegetable based dish was delicate with good rice. Ending simple with Baklava .. all very very good.

The guys were great too, good service, attentive and helpful. The toilets are modern and very nice and clean just like you'd want them.

We were there on a quiet Tuesday and we recommend the place 100%

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pascalpastaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 118 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2019

We decided to try the restaurant out as it has good trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed.
The decor of the place is stunning, amazing ceiling lighting especially the twinkle ceiling and chandeliers.
The food was delicious, we had the cold mezze sharing platter which was perfect as a starter to try the different dishes. Wine reasonably priced at about £20 for a bottle of Pino Grigio. I was recommended the Mousakka which was really tasty.
The owner was very accommodating and really looked after us and gave us complimentary desserts.
I hope they go on to be very successful in Banbury.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank brightonbreezy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkishgulbanbury, Manager at Turkish Gul Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Thank you for your nice review we are very pleased you have enjoyed your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

Food was ok.

We were sat by an air vent that ventilated the toilets. I had to put my cost in front of it to cover the smell. Otherwise we would have had an awful meal.
Food was good but my starter halloumi starter was very salty.

Nice decor restaurant xand good service.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 123taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkishgul, Manager at Turkish Gul Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review with us we are pleased for your comments it helps us improve, we will look into this issue.

We hope to see you again soon

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

New restaurant in Banbury, very friendly service from the owner and waiters. Good food. Would highly recommend :)

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Shahina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

6 of us attended for a family meal to celebrate my wife’s birthday and to say we had a great meal and night is no understatement. On arrival you are greeted by friendly staff. They asked the reason for the meal and when we advised it was a birthday my wife was immediately asked what her drink of choice was, a large complimentary wine soon appeared.

The food that followed was fantastic with the mixed platter being particularly popular for a starter. Mixed Grill was the choice of many in the group and they all struggled to finish the huge amount of meat on the plate all of which was flavoured and cooked to perfection. As was my huge slab of Mousakka.

Complimentary deserts were provided shortly after as well as bottle of wine as a birthday gift for my wife.

The food was fantastic and left us all feeling very full and with the customer service that is second to none we will be returning again very soon and expect to regular guests. A must go to if you enjoy great food, atmosphere and service.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Bargeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkishgulbanbury, Manager at Turkish Gul Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

We are so pleased for your nice comment thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your review for us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkish Gul Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Turkish Gul Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing