We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation”
Review of Ashlea Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashlea Guest House
Ranked #3 of 37 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

For £43 (single occupancy) I got what was a family room with en-suite and TV, Coffee tray etc and a full cooked English Breakfast.

Well located (10 mins walk to town), plenty of parking.

Pleasant owners without being overbearing etc.

Take Cards for payment.

All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, Owner at Ashlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you! Hope to see you again. Regards, Julie & Ayman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 244 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on 31/05/13 as we were going to a friend's wedding. The room was clean, spacious with everything you need at hand.
Great breakfast in the morning and friendly personal service by the owners. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelkbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, Owner at Ashlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Hello, thanks so much for the review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and you had a lovely day for the wedding as well. Hope to see you again if you're visiting your friends. Best regards, Julie & Ayman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

It's obvious that the proprietors really care about what they are doing here. Room wasn't huge, but was big enough, well organised and very attractive - and the bed was blissful. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. Owners were very friendly and helpful - a lovely place to stay in Banbury!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, Owner at Ashlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Hello, thank you so much for your feedback, it's much appreciated. Hope to see you again if you are in the area. Best regards, Julie & Ayman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at around 6pm we got told off as we didn't check in at 2! We were shown to our room which was fairly spacious and clean. Heating not all that good as it was an electric heater and took ages to warm the room up. When room was serviced it was switched off, so room was freezing when we got back from work. Shower not the best, not much power, but water was hot. I found the bed quite comfortable and had a couple of good nights sleep. Breakfast was freshly cooked and could not fault it. Eggs cooked perfectly, runny yolk and no burnt brown crispy bits. There's also fresh orange juice and a selection of cereals.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, Owner at Ashlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hello, firstly thanks for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. I note that we 'told you off' for not checking in at 2pm when you arrived. I've checked on your booking and it did state an arrival time of 2pm. We don't recall the conversation but may have mentioned that we were expecting you earlier, however our check in time is 2pm - 10pm, and we certainly would not tell you off and we apologise for any misunderstanding in this regard. The rooms are aired when made up on a daily basis, but I did see you each morning at breakfast and if you'd have mentioned it then I would have made sure the fire was turned back on prior to your arriving back. Sorry you found the shower wasn't very powerful but glad that the water was hot and that also you enjoyed your breakfast. As I said, it's a shame that you didn't mention the above to me at breakfast during your stay to give us a chance to rectify things whilst you were still here. Best regards Julie & Ayman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

lovely place...clean spacious airy cosy room. The staff were very nice and accomodating to our needs. breakfast was good and space for car parking was a bonus! for the price, we would definately recommend this place :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinachop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, Owner at Ashlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Hello

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback which is much appreciated. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you to Ashlea again in the future.

Best regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lots of car parking, close to town, good breakfast, friendly staff (owners?). However it was a small room (not much space to walk around the bed or to leave your suitcase open) and only one large and one small towel were provided for both of us which we didn't feel was sufficient for 2 adults who both wanted a shower in the morning. Hot water seemed in short supply. Room only for a couple was only £2 less than the bed and breakfast option - so having breakfast was pretty much a 'no brainer'.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, Owner at Ashlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Hello Sue,
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and found us friendly. I'm sorry that your room had been laid out with only one set of towels, which of course was not enough for two adults. It's a shame you didn't bring this to our attention at the time to enable us to provide you with another set. With regard to the hot water being in short supply, the showers are electric and have to be turned on before using them. Thanks once again for your feedback.

Best regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

a massive improvement on when i last stopped 3 years ago, updated tastefully but basic, room very noisy seemed to have a lot of idiots stopping making a lot of noise in the early hours, and no breakfasts being served at weekends no reason given, overall ok if your not picky avoid if you are

Room Tip: avoid room 7 or 8 as by the drive on the ground floor and very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, Owner at Ashlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Hello
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. As new owners we were pleased to read that you found there had been a big improvement since your last visit. It was unfortunate that you were disturbed by other noisy customers. We do ask all our customers to respect others and to keep the noise down, particularly after 10pm. With regard to breakfast not being served - there was a note on our website and you were advised again on checking in that maintenance was taking place. We're sorry you didn't get to try one of our breakfasts, for which we receive good feedback. Of course, we do serve breakfasts at weekends, and normal service has been resumed in this regard. We hope to be able to welcome you to Ashlea Guest House again in the future. Best regards, Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlea Guest House

Address: 58 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range: $101 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ashlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing