We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Debbie & Stu made us feel really welcome and took great care of us!”

Gate House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gate House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 39 Banbury B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Debbie & Stu made us feel really welcome and took great care of us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

We had been cycling all day in the pouring rain on a charity bike ride. We rolled up soaking in need of hot showers and dry clothes. Debbie was unfazed and really helpful and kind.
She took wet clothes off to her drying room. Called the pub to book us in for a (great) meal.
She even took in other cyclists wet clothes (they were not staying but camping, poor things) to dry. Th B&B is just delightful , everything you could possibly need and cosy and comfy.
The breakfast is great homemade museli and jam, it was like going home to Mum.
Debbie also sent on my cycling gloves I left behind!
These are people with big hearts as well as a great B&B.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
79
35
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

For starters, the hosts are very nice people. They'll even give you a lift or 2 into Banbury (nearest town) until you get your bearings. The place is spotless! Bed has a nice, firm mattress (though is a touch on the wee side).

Breakfast was good, and you even get to choose the time, which was a nice touch, as we're not early risers. It is within walking distance of 2 nice pubs, but there's little else in the immediate vicinity. But hey, you're in the countryside. Part of the charm.

All in all, one of the better B&B's we've visited and we have visited quite a few across Ireland, the UK, and the Continent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetzOMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

lovely B & B, Debbie & Stuart are perfect hosts, they have everything you may need and more, would definately stay again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kooky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

A wonderful welcome, luxury rooms and a delicious breakfast. Top quality service from very helpful hosts. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

This is the cleanest, most welcoming B&B that I have ever stayed in. The rooms were first class and the breakfast excellent.
I would reccommned highly to ant traveller looking for the very best B&B in the region

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaBreeze0189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

My husband drove me down so we had one night as a couple and the other two nights I stayed on my own. Debbie and Stuart made us both very welcome and couldn't do enough to ensure that we were comfortable. It is the first time ever that I have marked anywhere as excellent on all aspects

The full english breakfast was excellent and Debbie was constantly checking that we had all that we needed.

I would certainly recommend this as accommodation to anyone

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda03355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Beautiful clean rooms with a lovely en-suite. Nice quiet location. Excellent tea making facilities - real milk in a jug in a fridge. Welcoming hosts and an extremely good breakfast choice that was yummy. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hanwell House
Hanwell House
#1 of 39 in Banbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.4 mi away
Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gate House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gate House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 65 Main Road | Middleton Cheney, Banbury OX17 2LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gate House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist board 4 Star, totally refurbished 18th century house in a village conservation area on the Oxon/Northants border, just 4 miles from the center of Banbury. All rooms are centrally heated and have freesat television & radio, DVD/CD player, free high speed internet access, tea & coffee making facilities, fridge and hair dryer. Ideally situated for visiting Silverstone, Oxford, Stratford-Upon-Avon, Warwick Castle, Bicester Village , Blenheim Palace and The Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Gate House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing