We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 37 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Michelle was a very friendly and warm host. Rooms and breakfast of the highest quality. I would certainly recommend this B and B to anyone and would definitely stay there again. Michelle obviously takes pride in her home and enjoys what she does

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Ah, that is so sweet, thank you very much xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
54
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a spotlessly clean bed and breakfast. i chose a single en suite room which overlooked the lovely garden.

The hostess was warm and welcoming and the breakfast was beautiful.

I would reccomend to my friends and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilldiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you, most appreciated xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Michelle is a very welcoming and accommodating host. The B&B is very reasonably priced, tastefully decorated and exceptionally well kept. Arriving after a long flight from Australia, it was great to have a comfortable bed, warm and powerful shower as well as tea and coffee to revive us. Michelle was able to offer recommendations for dinner that evening and information regarding shopping in the local area. The breakfast was delicious - especially the homemade marmalade.
I would certainly return here for a longer break and recommend it to anyone planning a break in the Banbury area,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mason510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, and hope to see you in the future for a longer stay xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Location - ideally situated within easy walking distance of Banbury Cross.

The B & B - very nicely appointed and furnished throughout with tasteful antique furniture - which does not look out of place but is in character with a lovely Edwardian home. The B & B has benefitted from recent refurb - and they have done a very good job. Very nice breakfasting area - one large table.

The rooms - as it was a family gathering, we were able to check out a few of the rooms. The large en suite room is lovely - ideal for a romantic breakaway. The family room, again - a lovely room and does what it says on the tin. I had the double en suite - yet another lovely room and well furnished. The two single rooms are quite small but as they are so well furnished and nicely decorated - you don't really notice. The shared bathroom is super - lovely large shower area.

Breakfast - good choice of hot breakfasts and cereals etc. We were served fresh coffee in a caffetiere - which I thought was a very nice touch. The home made marmalade was very nice also.

We all enjoyed our stay there and would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for B & B accomodation in Banbury.

Room Tip: The larger en suite is the nicer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_skynorthshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you, very much appreciated xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 960 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Definitely the nicest room I've ever stayed in, in a B and B (spa bath and all!).

Perfect location- feels a bit 'tucked away' but the centre of town is only 5 mins walk.

The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious and real effort had been put into it- sausages from a local butcher, an egg from a local farm and jam made by Michelle the owner!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
thank you very much, most appreciated. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Convenient, clean and welcoming. Comfortable & quiet room, friendly host and the breakfast was very nice. I stayed a night in Feb. The decor is very much like just being in someones warm and inviting house. Ample car parking too. I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of Banbury Cross B&B, we do try and make it a home from home for our guests, much appreciated xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here in Feb 2013. Got a really good deal. Michelle made us feel at home straight away. We stayed in the Broughton suite which was very comfortable, warm and spacious. It was spotlessly clean as were the communal areas. We felt very relaxed and slept incredibly well. The breakfasts were delicious - from the perfectly cooked eggs through to the homemade jams and marmalade. We will definitely stay again - in fact I am just about to make another booking for later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbar, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Wow, thank you very much Alison for your wonderful review. It was lovely having you here and talking with you and David. I very much look forward to you coming again. It is nice to know that all the hard work is appreciated. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#8 of 10 in Banbury
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast

Property: Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Broughton Road | Oxon, Banbury OX16 9QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banbury Cross B&B, is a family home offering bed and breakfast in high quality accommodation. We pride ourselves on good service, high standard of cleanliness, together with a friendly service and very good value for money. There are 7 rooms, double, twin and single rooms. We serve freshly cooked breakfasts, just the way you like it. We offer ample free off road parking and free superfast wi-fi. We have a beautiful garden/patio also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing