We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgetable experience”
Review of Uplands House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uplands House
Ranked #2 of 36 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Uplands House is unique, as are Poppy and Graham. In fact, the whole weekend was perfect - a welcome retreat after a long, hard working week. We met some wonderful people.
Not being terribly sociable when away, always staying in faceless hotels in order to avoid making smalltalk with other guests, Poppy, quite simply, with her natural charm and gracious personality, wan us over in the first five minutes.
Poppy led us out to the terrace and brought us tea and sticky coffee cake..... very calorific but gorgeous.
As we had travelled up from West Wales we had decided to stay in for dinner on the 1st night. Not quite knowing what to expect, both the company and the food dictated where we ate on the 2nd night-- Uplands House. There was no question of going elsewhere. Highgrove lamb on the Friday night was a hard act to follow, but Poppy managed it with ease-- beautifully cooked salmon and fresh vegetables from a wonderfully tended garden.
Both Poppy and Graham were wonderful hosts. Our fellow guests were from America and Northumberland. With us being from Wales, the mix couldn't have been more diverse, but we all got along like a house on fire. It was one big house party, as if we had all known each other for years.
Being musicians, as soon as we saw the Clementi piano, we had to examine it further. Hence the musical session the followed!!!
It is with much warmth that we think of our wonderful weekend at Uplands House and although we were only there in September we shall be back in the very New Year!!
Poppy and Graham are definitely on our Christmas card list.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 465 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2009

We came at Uplands House with our children, and all the family felt at home from the first second Poppy welcomed us in her beautiful and warm family house. The rooms were perfect, lovely decoration, very comfortable beds, ideal accomodation for a large family, and a lot of details which make you feel treated like a very special guest. The view from the rooms is stunning, and the house is widely open to the guest, with all its charm and warmth: amazing dinning room, very cosy drawing room with the most beautiful fire place, lovely garden with a crocket lawn. The food is just perfect: inventive, excelent, using the products from the garden. We felt like family friends. An heaven for the children and the parents. We will highly recommend Uplands House to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Uplands House is something else! It is definitely NOT your average B&B where you are left to sit in your room. Here, you are invited into the sitting room where tea and drinks are served, and then allowed to wander the gardens at will. Dinner is served either 'en famille' or in the dining-room on your own if you prefer.
I think there is a genuine desire to make your stay pleasant and comfortable and the rooms are superb with very comfortable beds. (Bathrooms too are fine, just don't expect 5-star hotel fittings).
You probably need to be just a bit gregarious to enjoy your stay here as there is a kind of expectation that you will mix in and be part of whatever groups happen to be staying in the house at the same time as yourself, but if you are happy with that, then be prepared to relax and enjoy the wonderful surroundings and service.

Dinner - £30 per head. House wine - £15 per bottle.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarefootReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We were welcomed to this charming house by Poppy and felt at home from then until we left. We had a beautiful room with a wonderful bathroom and all of the little touches like fresh flowers, fluffy towels, robes and toiletries were provided to ensure that our stay was delightful. The tea and homemade cake was lovely and Poppy told us the delights in store for our dinner. She used fruits and vegetables from her garden and the meal was excellent. We rounded the evening off with one of our fellow guests entertaining us by playing and signing songs he had composed himself. We had a candlelit Sunday breakfast and it was beautifully cooked and the yoghurt and fruits were heavenly.
Poppy and Graham are excellent hosts and we felt like we had been to a house party not a B&B! Nothing was too much trouble for them and we will recommend Upland House to any of our friend visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappytwosomeWoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

you feel as though you're at home the moment you enter the beautiful Uplands House...welcomed in by Lady Poppy, you don't know her but she seems familiar...perhaps its the homeliness and cosiness of her house, or the way that she ushers you in to join her for tea and homemade cake, leaving your coats and bags on the bannister of the stairwell. The attention to detail and personal touches are like no other place you could stay. Your visit is entirely bespoke to you...we declined on dinner which was an error on my part, the scents of the homemade food waf through the beautiful house..we did however join Poppy, Graham and the other guests for wine, coffee and chocolates around their roaring log fire. Joe (my partner) serenaded us with his guitar and lovely songs....we felt quite at home. The experience is like staying with your favourite aunty. The place is lovely, the people are incredibly friendly and hospitable. The grounds are beautiful and the location is superb. After our relaxing and deep sleep we enjoyed a wonderful candlelit homecooked breakfast of your choice in the stunning dining room....fruits of the forest handpicked from the garden with greek yoghurt and honey, with freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee roasted to your choice, an array of homemade gorgeous jams and marmalades...(did I forget to mention that most of the produce used in Poppy's cooking comes from their organic garden?)

this is heavenly at its best...you can't really call this a bed and breakfast as its much much more than that...I will recommend to everyone I know going to the Cotswolds...and I hope to revisit...

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peachBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

wanted to have a peaceful time in a beautiful location. This is what we got at Uplands.......and more. The bedroom was magnificent and all of those little extras made us feel very special. The food was exceptional and so was the company. The hosts, Poppy and Graham, are charming people and made us feel very much at home. We will go back again and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urmysolksjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Uplands House was a lovely retreat for the weekend. Greeted with Tea and Cake next to the lovely croquet lawn by gregarious Poppy. She wanted us to feel completely at home..a home from home. Anything she could do to make our visit better she would do. You can't ask for more really.
Either you can eat in and feel like a long lost member of the family or go your own way in the evening...the choice is yours.
She recommended a lovely place for dinner and even gave me her spare petrol when I was caught short...The (loft0 room was fine with nice views and a very comfy bed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyxplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hanwell House
Hanwell House
#1 of 36 in Banbury
476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castle at Edgehill
Castle at Edgehill
#7 of 36 in Banbury
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
456 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Brasenose Arms
The Brasenose Arms
#1 of 1 in Cropredy
155 reviews
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uplands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uplands House

Address: Upton, Banbury OX15 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range: $124 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Uplands House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an enthusiastic welcome, beautifully furnished comfortable rooms, tasty organic produce from our garden, great cooking, lovely wines, log fires, delightful views over the park, and every comfort in relaxing and peaceful surroundings.Visit Stratford-on Avon, Warwick Castle, Blenheim Palace, and other delights of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uplands House Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing