We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Country House B&B”
Review of Uplands House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uplands House
Ranked #2 of 37 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real Country House B&B”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Unlike many country house B&B's you may stay in this is the real thing. No reproductions here. Real antiques & antiquities. A real Lady, Poppy, with the essential English family connections & a wonderful history. Unfortuantely the weather turned on our arrival so we could not enjoy the beautiful garden. But we enjoyed our beautiful room. A fabulous comfy bed & lovely view. We had to stay an extra night unexpectedly & luckily there was room. It rained all day but we relaxed in our beautiful room & read books magazines & really felt truly relaxed. Breakfast was lovely & varied with locally sourced ingrediants. We couldn't stay for dinner but we will next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyandSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    19
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
262
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We ventured out from London - Grandmother, Mother, & Granddaughter - to see the real English countryside. And while we'd never been to the Cotswolds before, being welcomed by Poppy & staying at Uplands House was like returning to a favorite place. We knew our trip would be one filled with memory making, but none so warmly recalled as Poppy's hospitality - marvelous meals with stories of the far of places where they came from on Poppy's travels, fireside chats over pre-dinner drinks and post dinner coffee & chocolates, only after a full English breakfast were we sent on terrific day trips across the countryside guided by Poppy's had drawn maps (TAKE HER ADVICE!), and finally winding down the day in our beautifully appointed rooms filled with Poppy's stylish treasures, sleeping warm & welcomed.

P.S. Ask about the magical tablecloth...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The beauty of her garden was only matched by the beauty of her spirit. Our wonderful hostess, Poppy, made our two-night stay memorable in every way. Her dinner table beautiful, the conversation was lively, and the food delicious. Our every expectation was exceeded. I had left a bag at the airport and she even found someone who would drive back to Gatwick to bring it to me. Our comfy bed allowed me to get over jet-lag and Poppy's recommendations for day-trips was informative and fit our schedule perfectly. We left wanting to stay longer and will be back with friends as soon as we can! Judy and Steve, Texas

Room Tip: They are all beautiful and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived at Uplands B&B to find Poppy soaking up the sun in her beautiful gardens. (We stayed here on the gloriously sunny May bank holiday.) She showed us up to our room and told us that afternoon tea and cake would be served around 5 ish, this would be a chance for us to meet the other guests staying at Uplands. Our room (Tulip room) was just how it was described, it was cosy with an ensuite bathroom. There were lovely Duchy shower gels and lotions in the bathroom which was a nice touch. At 5 o’clock we went out into the gardens and met the other guests staying there. We were offered tea and cake and chatted with the other guests. Poppy also showed us the wine list for dinner that evening and we decided on a bottle of Pillastro Primitivo 2010 (recommended by Poppy). Poppy then took our orders for breakfast. Freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt with honey and berries, toast and a full English breakfast was what we decided on. My boyfriend and I had decided to have the dinner that Poppy cooks for our first night there, so it was nice to meet the other guests who were also having dinner that night too. We were treated to a glass of champagne before dinner with the other guests and given some tasty nibbles!! Wow, dinner was delicious! Our starter was roasted sweet potatoes, red peppers, figs, crumbled feta cheese with a balsamic vinegar reduction. Absolutely delicious and is something I will make again myself. The main consisted of a recipe devised by the chef Yotam Ottolenghi (I had never heard of him before but I’m so glad that Poppy introduced me to his food, certainly worth googling!) The dish of chicken with sumac, za’tar and lemons was sublime, (Poppy emailed me the recipe and I have since cooked this dish….YUM!) and was served with new potatoes and vegetables. Dessert consisted of homemade chocolate mousse with strawberries. Just when our stomachs were starting to bulge Poppy brought out the cheeseboard. A wide variety of local cheeses, something to suit everyone served with biscuits and grapes. The conversation around the table was lovely and it was more like a dinner party with old friends then strangers we had just met a few hours before. After a good nights sleep we were served our breakfast in the dining room where we had eaten the previous night. The table was set beautifully with fresh flowers from the garden and plenty of choice when it came to homemade jams!! Breakfast was absolutely perfect, couldn’t fault it really… My boyfriend and I then spent the day at Blenheim Palace (Well worth visiting if you haven’t already been!) that evening we decided to buy our own food and ate it in the garden when we got back. Poppy very kindly let us use plates, cutlery and glasses for our wine. The garden was lovely to relax in and absorb the gorgeous sunshine. After a game of croquet on the lawn the other guests all came back from their day trips, so there was more chatting between us all in the garden. It was a beautiful evening. Breakfast the next day was just as good as the first, with lots of laughter (Jimmy Carr style laughing from one of the guests which had the rest of us in fits of giggles!!) around the table. It was a delightful 2 night stay at Uplands House. Poppy’s hostess skills are superb and her cooking delicious too! If you do stay here I would certainly recommend having dinner for £30, well worth it! Thank you for a lovely weekend away… (P.S Still no engagement ring yet!!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrietta134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband myself and our two dogs stayed here for a glorious weekend over the bank holiday. We had such a lovely time and really cannot fault it. Poppy is the most wonderful host and makes you feel so at home and welcome. Her cooking is delicious and a dinner is not to be missed not to mention the breakfast!

We stayed in the four poster bed room which was beautifully decorated and had great views of the surrounding countryside which was a joy to wake up to.

My husband and I really cannot recommend this B&B enough and look forward to coming to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egiblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a great experience. We stayed here for three nights B&B and we decided to have the evening meal on two occasions and that was probably the best decision we had made all weekend.The food was excellent and the company and the host poppy were great fun.we have not laughed so much. I would highly recommend Poppy's B&B the food and the company to everyone and it's a must place to stay .Thanks for a top weekend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynn1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a joyous experience, we stayed at Uplands House as a special night away. Rich and scrumptious food, with engaging hosts that made us feel thoroughly welcome. We stayed in the 4 poster room as a special treat. Entertaining conversation that made the evening disappear too quickly. The ingredients were fresh and sourced locally, what a marvellous butcher Poppy has found, especially exciting was the English Cheese board that had some tasty delights. We will go back some time and would recommend Uplands House to those travelling through Oxfordshire and Warwickshire that want to touch real England in all its glory!

Room Tip: Choose the Four Poster if you want a treat, choose the Chinese room if you want some oriental charac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
10.6 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
235 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hanwell House
Hanwell House
#1 of 37 in Banbury
437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle at Edgehill
Castle at Edgehill
#6 of 37 in Banbury
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uplands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uplands House

Property: Uplands House
Address: Upton, Banbury OX15 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uplands House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an enthusiastic welcome, beautifully furnished comfortable rooms, tasty organic produce from our garden, great cooking, lovely wines, log fires, delightful views over the park, and every comfort in relaxing and peaceful surroundings.Visit Stratford-on Avon, Warwick Castle, Blenheim Palace, and other delights of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uplands House Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing