We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at Uplands House.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uplands House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uplands House
Ranked #2 of 39 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay at Uplands House.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having never been to a B and B before, I had no clue what to expect. Upon arrival we were greeted by Poppy who was absolutely delightful and looked after us brilliantly. The bedroom was charming and most comfortable. We even were given a jam making lesson. Dinner was delicious and company lovely. Breakfast was simply wonderful, starting with fresh orange juice and followed by full Engish with fabulous home made jams.

We would not hesitate to return and our experience was so positive. The house was very relaxing with a great ambience. Can't reccomnd it enough.

Room Tip: Four poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    17
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
255
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Warm, welcoming, relaxing and above all, fun. Our room was lovely, breakfast hearty and dinner delightful. Not to mention the homemade jams ....

If you're in the area or planning a trip nearby this is where you should stay. We had a really great weekend, thanks Poppy!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullsandmagpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just had a brilliant stay at the Uplands house B & B in the Cotswolds.

My husband and I have stayed in 5 star hotels and restaurants in many countries of the world, and we can say without hesitation that this was one of the warmest places we have had the privilege to stay in.

We arrived on the 2nd of November for a 2 night stay, with our very active and noisy (but friendly) 17 month old, and were immediately struck by how comfortable and welcome our little boy was made to feel, including all the attention and cheek rubs he got from our hosts.

We had a very delicious 4 course dinner the night we arrived, and enjoyed meeting the other guests at the table, as well as getting to know Poppy and Graham, who are both very fascinating, well travelled people.

The place looks like it is steeped in history, has a warm family home feel to it and was very clean, without being too clinical (which is great when you have a 17 month old). The grounds were well maintained, and we loved how Poppy and Graham were very attentive, without being over-bearing which allowed all 3 of us to be ourselves and completely relax.

Poppy and Graham pay a lot of attention to detail in whatever they do...from the gorgeous food on the menu to the food presentation, and the elegant way the house is decorated, as well as the fact that everything is of exceptional quality, which made me feel like I was getting very good value for money! We easily spend upwards of £250 a night on hotels, and yet this fabulous B & B at £100 a night seemed to tick all the boxes that make a great stay for us.

I cannot recommend this Uplands House B & B enough, and am thoroughly looking forward to coming back to stay in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My second most charming,interesting and very comfortable stay,in a lovingly put together, aristocratic home, with everything homemade, homegrown,where possible.
Americans coming to stay here, would think they have died and gone to heaven!
Poppy and Graham are the ultimate hosts, from their exceedingly interesting lives, to their deeply thoughtful ways, in making sure you have every comfort and everything you might , or might not need, during your stay with them.
They are only too happy to recommend and help you find your towns and places of particular interest and extra helpful inside info , especially on stately homes, the lives therein and historical facts and how they lived, apart from many other subjects!
I cant recommend a more wonderful place to stay and coming away with warm and happy feelings and memories.

Room Tip: four poster bedroom or chinese room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkidoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Uplands House. We come from the US. Room was okay, water pressure was too low for a shower. Poppy's response to this was to dismiss it as and say we should turn on the hot water first. That didn't do a thing.

Dinner was good. I ordered a wine for dinner at $25, Poppy "accidentally" brought the $32 bottle and said "This is my favorite." See another review about this "accident." Apparently it isn't uncommon.

Poppy is certainly friendly but she can be very overwhelming, just has to join in every conversation. We were there with two other couples from England so we see them rarely and wanted to visit with them in the lounge after dinner, not with Poppy. She kept popping in and inserting herself in the conversation.

Poppy was very forgetful about lots of things during our stay. She would ask in the evening what we wanted for our full English breakfast and then start over asking the next morning. Then, she got it wrong anyway, This happened both breakfasts to all of us.

The morning we were to leave Poppy told a young couple visiting from Australia that they had to come to breakfast at 8 because she wanted them out of their room by 9. She said that she had a fencing lesson in London and needed to get started cleaning their room!. The couple was aghast and very put out as they had planned to sleep in. During breakfast Poppy also told us that we had to be out by 9:45 for the same reason. We are not young and not the least intimidated by her and paid no attention to her. While we were in our room after breakfast (and I was in the bathroom) Poppy knocked on our door once, marched into the room and asked if she could get all our towels so she could be off to London. My wife said NO.

My wife and I owned and ran a first class B & B in the States for 8 years and would not have dreamed of treating guests the way Poppy does.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AshevilleNCTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This gorgeous B & B was everything and more than we had hoped for. In a beautiful rural setting, but close to villages with wonderful pubs and market towns for everything else. A great location from which to tour the Cotswalds. Uplands is exquisitely furnished with splendid antiques furnishings , art and artifacts from various parts of the world. Our hostess Poppey, was attentive to our every need and a fascinating person. The meals and choices were everything one could want incuding fresh organic berries and vegetables from her garden even in early October. I cannot imagine having chosen a better B and B anywhere Bill and Jane, seniors from Canada and Mexico

Room Tip: The fourposter room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The comfort provided by this charming B&B, delicious meals and especially the friendliness of their hosts, transform our trip to England in an unforgettable experience! Thank you, Poppy and Graham, the wonderful days we spent with you! Best regards, Cristina and Eduardo (São Paulo / SP / BRAZIL)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EDUCRIS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbury
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
6.0 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hanwell House
Hanwell House
#1 of 39 in Banbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ashlea Guest House
Ashlea Guest House
#3 of 39 in Banbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uplands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uplands House

Property: Uplands House
Address: Upton, Banbury OX15 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uplands House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an enthusiastic welcome, beautifully furnished comfortable rooms, tasty organic produce from our garden, great cooking, lovely wines, log fires, delightful views over the park, and every comfort in relaxing and peaceful surroundings.Visit Stratford-on Avon, Warwick Castle, Blenheim Palace, and other delights of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uplands House Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing