We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Uplands House
Nearby Hotels
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Adderbury)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Banbury House Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
$111
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
$61
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
441
20
6
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
20
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese roompoppy cookseyrose gardenother gueststulip roomdrawing roomfour postertea and cakehomemade jamsinteresting conversationdelicious dinnergreat companygreat conversationenglish countrywith freshly squeezed orange juicepre dinner drinksbeautiful furniture
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 471 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I just saw the review "Average B&B" and to my mind it gives a very misleading impression of a fantastic B&B which also serves evening meals. It's like a home from home here. When you arrive here you are enveloped in the warmth of the hearty welcome, shown to your room, and given a proper tea with home made cake. It is a busy B&B with people coming from all around the world so there is always someone interesting to talk to.

The rooms are all pretty and comfy with beautiful furniture and paintings and chintzy fabrics -with lots of little extras and signs of thoughtfulness. The central heating is on when the weather is generally cold but also the owners appreciate different people feel cold differently. In all the rooms we have stayed in you get a blow heater to ensure you keep warm, an electric blanket and there were other blankets in the cupboard.

The food has always been imaginative and of high quality, with fresh vegetables and fruit from the garden. The wine varies in price from £12.50 up, and there is a great selection of more classic wines too. I do wonder what people expect if they choose to go to a 5 star establishment. I have stayed in cheaper places and ones about the same price but I don't believe they exude the helpful cheerful kindness you get at Uplands nor the same luxurious country house feel.

On our last visit (Tulip room) we visited several of the local historic houses including Upton House just across the road and also took a couple of lovely walks along Edgehill with amazing views. We enjoyed a fine dinner, our fellow companions this time were from Australia and Canada. The meal consisted of a prawn salad, fillet steaks from the farm, a pavlova with berries from the kitchen garden, and such a cheeseboard as would grace a large hotel. As it was another guest's birthday we were all treated to a free glass of Champagne.

This is a brilliant place to stay as many others have testified!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LondonDido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Treat yourself to a lovely stay at uplands house.My husband and I were given this treat as a wedding present from work and we were certainly spoiled.It is a beautiful country house full of english charm.
We had a wonderful meal prepared by our hosts,so delicious and very filling.Absolutely loved
the cheese board and the wine
Sat at the dining table with Poppy, Graham and other guests,just like home from home..
What an experience,we loved every minute of it.
There are some oldy worldy vilages around ,just like stepping back in time,you half expect to see ladies in crinolene dresses walking around.
Thanks again to Poppy and Graham for their fabulous hospitality,and for welcoming us into their delightful home .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Dinner and wine were very expensive compared to other b&bs we have stayed in. Our room was in the attic at the top of the house and was cold, even in summer. Our second night we enjoyed a truly outstanding meal at the King's Arms in Woodstock.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PABrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peacockBanbury, Owner at Uplands House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

We have no idea who wrote this somewhat churlish review so possibly the stay was while I was away helping at the Olympics. .The room referred to is a beautiful comfortable room with lovely furniture and pictures. There is no need for anyone to be cold. There are extra blankets and blow heaters in our bedrooms. Our dinner price of £30 per head has remained unchanged for 6 years, and is generally thought to provide very good value. We serve a four course meal including a very expensive cheese board in a beautiful candlelit dining room with fine linen and silver. Our wines range from £12-50 to £25 ber bottle, and £3 by the glass. This seems extremely reasonable.

I might add we are a far from "average B&B", Our lovely old farmhouse sits in a large tranguil garden which is very well kept. Our fruit and vegetables come straight to the dinner table, and for a number of years we have been awarded five stars with a gold award for outstanding service.. This review does not echo the sentiments of the vast majority of our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I recently spent four glorious days at the Uplands House in Banbury, England and cannot say enough good things about the property or the owners. From the moment we arrived, we were well cared for in every way from refreshing afternoon tea to expert sight-seeing advice to delicious breakfasts to an incredible dinner our last night prepared by our hosts, Poppy and Graham. We stayed in the Four Poster Room which overlooks their flowering, lush gardens and the neighboring farmland dotted with cows. We had a spacious private bathroom with a grand bathtub and all the modern comforts we might need or want. It was quiet, elegant and relaxing but just minutes to nearby villages where we walked and soaked up the history and atmosphere. There were fantastic local pubs nearby for a pint or a great meal but it never felt “tourist-ey” or commercialized. We easily took jaunts to Oxford, Blenheim, Morton on Marsh, Stow in the Wold and Bourton on the Water and were back at the Uplands House in time for a game of croquet or just relaxing on the terrace.

I would highly recommend Uplands House to anyone wishing for fine accommodations in a quiet, charming and elegant English country setting. If we travel back to that area, we’d definitely stay there again…

Melanie

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelFen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

So pleased that Jim found Uplands House to round off our weekend away.Poppy and Graham welcomed us into their home as though we were friends dropping in for the night,chatting over drinks and nibbles followed by a delicious dinner, which included home grown fresh produce, in their english country garden,on a warm summer evening was delightful.Our room was beautifully and thoughtfully appointed with every detail carefully considered to ensure our comfort.Over breakfast Poppy suggested we took a stroll to Upton House only 5 minutes away for a taster tour (which left us wanting more!) brilliant idea,amazing place.We will be back for more of Poppy's fabulous cuisine,splendid cheese board!fascinating conversation and faultless hospitality for longer next time!Thanks again for a truely memorable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews