We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and homely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairlawns Guest House
Ranked #4 of 37 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly and homely!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had a lovely weekend stay at Fairlawns. The breakfast was filling and the service was amazing, the staff were extremely attentive and were helpful in telling us about the local area for some evening dinner.
The room was exactly what we needed somewhere to get ready for a wedding and then get out heads down!
And on that note the bed was brilliant I haven't slept on a mattress of that quality in a hotel or b&b since I don't know when!!

The only downside if you can call it a downside is its location it's about a 15 min walk into Banbury but apart from that its a fab base.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugga_mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    44
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
58
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked a room [on line] only a short time before I needed to stay for one night and I opted for the Compact Room - there was a photo of this very compact room on their website. When I arrived I was given a room which looked better than the one of the website so I was pleased. The facilities were very good for the price. Although I felt the bed springs in the mattress when I got into bed I soon got used to it and had a good night's sleep [it was in fact a double bed]. I was pleased to find a second pillow in the wardrobe (1 is never enough for me). No complaints about the room at all and the en suite was fine. Good TV. A welcoming host and hostess. Nice breakfast (although the sausage and bacon was not as hot as I'd have liked) and easy to find with plenty of parking space. One cannot do anything about other guests who make noise next door, have loud alarms set early and use their mobile phones throughout breakfast. Ye Gads! What has England come to?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here on a Friday night at a very reasonable charge of £56 for bed and breakfast. We had a chalet at the rear which was quiet and opened onto a small garden area. The room size and shower were fine but probably would have felt a little cramped if staying longer than two nights. Everything was clean with mugs ( much better than cup & saucer ) for tea / coffee and biscuits waiting. Breakfast was relaxed and generous in size and choice. Location 15 /20 minutes pleasant walk to the centre of Banbury. Downhill on the way into town.
Little things make a difference. A clear map of Banbury was provided without even asking which really helps if you are new to the area or need ones memory refreshing. Also they kindly lets us leave our car in their large , free car parking area until 1-30 pm on the Saturday which was helpful as saved time ( and money ) parking in the morning / early afternoon.
Would be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed whilst visiting family in the area. The room was large and comfortable and the breakfast was very enjoyable. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. I was very impressed at how clean the room was and would be happy to recommed or stay again.
Fantastic B&B!

Room Tip: Family room at the front with the bay windows was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Not impressed. Put in one of the chalet rooms, like a Jury's Inn without the luxury. No facilities except tea and coffee in the room. Breakfast on a Sunday 7.30 til 9.0am very early for a Sunday so missed it which is probably a deliberate ploy to make you pay for breakfast (it's obligatory) but then they put it so early that you miss it, felt like a rip-off. The bed was on wheels (?), bathroom so small, couldn't get changed in there, can't see tv from the seat. It was clean but mould in the shower. Close to the town but wouldn't go back and wouldn't recommend, not worth £79.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms in the main house are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawnsgh, Manager at Fairlawns Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay & felt you were 'ripped off' however you booked a family room (for only 2 people) which has free WiFi, hairdryer, safe, tea/coffee, fresh towels, flatscreen TV, etc. You booked via Booking.com which charge us 15% commission, VAT @ 20%, staff costs, gas, electric, etc, etc so £79 is very good value for money. We accommodated your dog without any notice which requires extra cleaning. Our shower rooms are small but functional (I checked yours and it wasn't mouldy).
It's such a shame you did not let us know your concerns as we would have done something about it or even helped you find alternative accommodation. We always try to please our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintern
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here whilst visiting friends and family in the area and are now planning to base ourselves here every time we visit. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the breakfast really set us up for the day. The owners are really warm and friendly and we felt very homely.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonsixpencetintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawnsgh, Manager at Fairlawns Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is an ideal place to stay if you don't fancy camping for the Fairport Cropredy Convention. It's only 15 mins away from the site. It's a very good B and B, clean and well-managed, the staff are very keen to help and to please the guests. It is on a main road but sleep with the window shut and it's OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawnsgh, Manager at Fairlawns Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope to see again for the Cropredy festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Guest House

Property: Fairlawns Guest House
Address: 60 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairlawns Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alan, Maureen, Matt & Helen offer you a warm welcome when you arrive at Fairlawns, a family run Bed and Breakfast since 1989. Fairlawns is open all year round and offers quality accommodation along with a great breakfast, FREE parking & FREE Wi-Fi. Fairlawns has 18 individual en-suite rooms in a variety of single, double, twin and family rooms. 6 of our rooms have an external entrance. Whether travelling or on business, Fairlawns is ideally located in Banbury on the A4260 'Oxford Road'. A short distance to J11 of the M40 and the town centre of Banbury and the Chilterns, Oxford, Stratford and Warwick and the many historic sites surrounding makes Fairlawns the ideal base. Banbury bus and train stations are just over 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairlawns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing