We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairlawns Guest House
Ranked #4 of 39 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Won't be back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We didn't enjoy our stay, the room was sold as a twin room when in fact it was only big enough to be a single, it was in the attic with little headroom in a large part of the room. The bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen, although I suppose was adequate, there was no wardrobe only a hanging rail not long enough for a dress. The room was dark, airless and the road noise was constant, the floor boards creaked at every move. Breakfast was average, not in quantity, but in quality and the dining room far to small. Sorry not impressed and will not return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyange_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawnsgh, Manager at Fairlawns Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but as in any hotel/shop/restaurant if you don't let us know you are unhappy there is nothing we can do to put it right for you. We are a guest house and each room is a different shape and size all conforming to our AA 3 star rating. Had we known you didn't like the room (in which 90% has 7.5ft headroom and a fiited wardrobe with a rail at 140 cm high) we would have moved you to another or helped you find alternative accommodation maybe in the countryside without the noises of a town.

Please see our previous review from a couple who stayed the same weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    43
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
56
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at the Fairlawns last week whilst attending the Cropbredy festival, and think ourselves very lucky to have got a last minute cancelation. Can't fault the place, lovely annex room round the back, V clean & tidy. Good Breakfast Mmm,only a teeny weeny gripe, is that it finishes at 9:00. Lazy bods like me would like a bit longer to greet the day, say brunch at 11:30. I jest. Great place, will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blindmannick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawnsgh, Manager at Fairlawns Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully see you next year for the festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Arrived at Fairlawns after travelling from Stonehenge through beautiful Oxfordshire. The room we had was very large and spacious and the cheapest we'd had on our trip- £64. One double and one single bed, seperate loo and shower closet, wicker sofa, chair, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer and large flat screen tv. Free parking outside. My only gripes about the room were: the loo floor was carpeted - yuk - and couldn't have been very hygienic! and the sink was located in the shower 'closet' on the other side of the room. So not very hygienic again!
The guesthouse was supposed to be a short walk to town but it was quite a way and was downhill so we didn't want to walk back uphill after filling our beliies with food and drink! We got a taxi! But Banbury was a let down - not much to see - or do -and very limited in places to eat! Wish we'd stayed in beautiful Chipping Norton which we'd driven through on the way - that town looked so lovely and quaint.
Guesthouse good, Banbury - pass.
Julie & John Marsden, Liverpool.

Room Tip: Room 2 if they get rid of carpet in loo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawnsgh, Manager at Fairlawns Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. Room 2 is soon to be redecorated and the flooring in the toilet changed. Sorry you didn't like our lovely little town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Very clean and comfortable. Staff excellent, they're not intrusive,but there and willing to help with anything you might need - they have a lot of local knowledge and seem happy to suggest and advise people who don't know the area.
Excellent value for money, I would definitely stay again.
The only thing letting it down were the sausages for breakfast -- truly awful cheap rubbish which was a pity, the fried bread was excellent though, so that went a long way to cancel out that awful sausage! I'd happily pay more for decent, locally sourced breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcktan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawnsgh, Manager at Fairlawns Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sorry you didn't like the sausage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

I Moved to the fairlawns from another guest house on the recommendation of a work friend, That was in january, 14 weeks later i am still there and cannot find a single fault. The rooms are very well looked after and the breakfast is second to none. I personaly only have cerial and toast with a cup of tea and take a bacon sandwich out with me which they have no problem doing. The owners are very nice and cant do enough for you. answering any questions and pointing you in the right direction to local restaurants etc. The rates are very reasonable to. I will be staying here again if ever i'm in the area again. Thanks

Room Tip: For less road noise try the rear rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dconstruction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawnsgh, Manager at Fairlawns Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. Hopefully see you again soon when you next in Banbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Met up with friends for a celebration function 10 mins walk from here.
Rooms clean, and more than adequate- even if the shower/toilet area was a little cosy-even for one!
As it was in the annexe,no worries about creeping past night staff after a few drinks.
Breakfast room was well laid out and food well cooked.
Cheaper than many town centre hotels with comparable facilities.
Just the job!

Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Who can`t spell traveLLers on this website?!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

We were placed here by Ashlea Guest House when they had an unfortunate plumbing emergency. We stayed in the motel part and it was lovely. Not far to walk into town and very quiet considering they are along a busy road. Breakfast in the morning was lovely though my boyfriend would have liked more, it was just right for me. Thank you very much and we very much loved the Segway experience we did the next day.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWoman1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Guest House

Property: Fairlawns Guest House
Address: 60 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairlawns Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alan, Maureen, Matt & Helen offer you a warm welcome when you arrive at Fairlawns, a family run Bed and Breakfast since 1989. Fairlawns is open all year round and offers quality accommodation along with a great breakfast, FREE parking & FREE Wi-Fi. Fairlawns has 18 individual en-suite rooms in a variety of single, double, twin and family rooms. 6 of our rooms have an external entrance. Whether travelling or on business, Fairlawns is ideally located in Banbury on the A4260 'Oxford Road'. A short distance to J11 of the M40 and the town centre of Banbury and the Chilterns, Oxford, Stratford and Warwick and the many historic sites surrounding makes Fairlawns the ideal base. Banbury bus and train stations are just over 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairlawns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing