We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what i expected-well dissappointed really”

The Five Bells Harvester
Ranked #81 of 136 Restaurants in Basildon
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At The Five Bells Harvester in Basildon food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
east london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not what i expected-well dissappointed really”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Popped in as we thought to have a meal, was really just a burger grill-so was not overly impressed the food was okayish

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback following your recent disappointing meal at our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    99
    84
    71
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Lovely staff sometimes hectic”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visited the five bells on a monday it was very busy as usual the staff were obviously rushed but managed well waiting times for the restaurant are usual but we got in very quickly this time the new manager seems to have made some improvements to an already enjoyable experience (much cleaner) the food was excellent especially the spitroast chicken very tender and plenty to eat at a good price will be going back for certain

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to our Restaurant.
Regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not the best harvester!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I usually eat at the harvester restaurant chain but sadly the 5 bells restaurant was quiet a disappointment. The service was slow although felt sorry for the waitress rushed off her feet! The food was luke warm and must have been left under th heater for a long time! The salad cart was mostly empty as well and I went back about 15 mins later and the food was still empty. Really disappointed with this visit and would recommend the harvester at the crown Langdon hills!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JammyScone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Always excellent”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my husband and 3 children, as usual service excellent and the food delicious would definatly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your kind feedback following your recent visit to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly Awful!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My partner and I visited this restaurant with our two teenage children. I would firstly agree with the other customer who remarked that the building is cold. I started with the tomato and basil soup, which proved to be tasteless. My main meal was a cheeseburger with fries. It was truly bland. Other meals were poorly presented and one of the children claimed that their meals was cold. The staff did their best but expectations are clearly low in this establishment. The salad bar was reasonable and the bread rolls were good. The restaurant looks shabby. Our table was scratched beyond repair and the standard of cleanliness was unsatisfactory. I really hate leaving a negative review but this eating experience is one that I want to forget. I will not be visiting a Harvester again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. Do you think you could you email us at harvester.reviews@gmail.com so that we can get our Guest Services Department to contact you directly?

Thank you
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Five Bells Harvester also viewed

 

Been to The Five Bells Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing