We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner and I recently came to the Basildon area to attend wedding and when arranging a hotel as we knew we wouldn't be in the room for too long we decided to pick a place based on both price and popularity. I booked a room for my partner and I several months in advance at a price of £39.

In all honesty as the room was so cheap we weren't expecting too much. However, we were pleasantly surprised. On arrival we were greeted by a very informative and friendly receptionist and felt very welcome. As we were running late for a local wedding reception we asked if a taxi could be booked- this was done straight away without fuss and you could tell that should you have any problems during your stay the staff would be happy to help you.

The room was very spacious and clean and what you would expect from a Premier Inn- basic but comfortable. The decor was a little old fashioned, the ceiling was a little bit creaky when people were walking around in the room above and you are given keys to your room rather than key cards but to be honest given the bargain price these are not issues worth grumbling about.

Although we didn't spend too much time in the room the time we did spend was nice enough and we would definitely come back if we were in the area. Would advise others that if they want a cheap, comfortable and cheerful stay in Basildon that- The Only Way is Premier Inn!!!

Room Tip: Book in advance for cheaper rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franmc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky B, Team Leader at Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear franmc3,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay with us at Basildon South Premier Inn.
It is important to us that all our guests have a great nights sleep and an enjoyable stay. I am delighted that we have exceeded your expectations and I will pass your comments on to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again here at Basildon South Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    80
    31
    3
    2
See reviews for
82
82
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Don't bother staying here unless you can sleep through the doors banging until 3 am, I had porridge which sad to say wasn't cooked was still raw! I had previously phoned the hotel to book the room and expressed a wish for a quite room, doesn't say much if we stayed in a normal room!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel staff are absolutely super, the bed comfortable, the room scrupulously clean, the hotel one of the quietest I have ever stayed in, the staff have bent over backwards to help me with a few problems that I would have anywhere, and that the Beefeater next door is totally top-notch with the quality of food and service. But, the following things were glaring omissions for me personally:

1) no air conditioning - the staff gave me an oscillating fan, but it was often still a struggle to keep the room at a comfortable temperature

2) No digital alarm clock provided with the room - it's irritating to have to turn on a light and look at my watch to tell the time at night

3) No electronic room key - the hotel uses traditional, metal keys that are kept at the front desk and the guest asks for the key by room number

4) too few electric outlets - there is no place to plug in an appliance at the bedside, so I couldn't even bring in my own clock radio except for a cordless one

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the reception desk. My room was a hike to the other end of the hotel, passin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trowel_Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel really knows how to look after guests! Warm friendly staff all very helpful & informative.The room was spotlessly clean,spacious & even a little fan was left on for our arrival (what a nice touch on a hot night!) Never stayed at a premier inn before but will not hesitate to book another.Well done to all the team in particular the housekeeping team for making it a very pleasant stay,Thankyou Jay & Mike

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank busterStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adey S, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear busterStaffordshire,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We are very glad that we made your stay a comfortable one by exceeding your expectations always.

Your comments have been passed on to our Housekeeping Team. For them it is a pleasure your enjoyed your stay and you find our rooms very clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with soon at Premier Inn Basildon South and continue to make your stay a comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Great clean hotel. 3 pound for all day fast WiFi. Can't get better. Great restaurant next door as well.staff friendly and helpful highly recommend premier. My room was massive with a great couch. These words to fill up review.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrVanPeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adey S, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Mr MrVanPeebles,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay here with us.

We are happy to hear that you found our WIFI charges a Bargain! and that you find our stay staff friendly and helpful.

All staff are overwhelmed with your feedback and here at Premier Inn Basildon South, we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

You honestly can't go wrong. Obviously this isn't going to be 5* luxury, however it really is very good value for money. Nice location, clean and tidy room (with an extremely comfortable bed), friendly service and good grub. Many thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adey S, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Olivia R,

Here at the Premier Inn Basildon South, we take great pride in ensuring each and every guest has an enjoyable experience.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us

From all the staff here we are glad you had a great stay and hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheddar,somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked 2 rooms for a weekend stay to catch up with friends. All the staff were a credit to the hotel, from reception to the beefeater. Always a smile and warm greeting. Even though there is no air conditioning fans were placed in the rooms before we arrived, much needed on a very hot weekend. Breakfast was very well stocked and service was excellent. Would definitely return when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank con-wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adey S, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Con-wil,

I thank you for your positive feedback as we strive to offer to all of our guests’ very high standards of service.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

We look forward to welcome you back to Premier Inn Basildon South again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.5 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
Address: High Road | Stanford le Hope, Basildon SS17 9NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get the best of the great outdoors and indoors with a stay at the Premier Inn Hotel Basildon South. You'll be in a great spot whether you're seeking fresh air, fun or first-rate business destinations. If you're mad about shopping, head to Lakeside, one of Europe's largest shopping areas. Or if you're up for a challenge you'll find Basildon Sporting Village and Combat UK Paintball just moments away. Then take a well-earned breather at Wat Tyler Country Park and come back for a hearty meal and big, comfy rooms. Directions: From M25(J30/31), take A13 towards Southend. Follow the A13 for approx. 10 Miles to junction with A176 at the Five Bells roundabout. Turn right onto Fobbing High Road. Hotel is on left. Next to the Haywain Beefeater. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: RG25 2BB Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. Transport and local information: Basildon Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing