We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel in July this year (2012). When we arrived the receptionist asked if we would like a ground floor room as my friend uses a cane, we were very impressed, there are few receptionists that would have done that! The room was clean, tidy and adequate, no frills but good value for money. If we are in the area another time we wouldn't hesitate to use them again. I would certainly recommend them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmenome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    83
    32
    3
    3
See reviews for
89
84
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poitou-Charentes, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The only thing I can comment negatively about this hotel was the lack of (in our room) the separate sofa-bed. We could have complained of course, but to be honest after a 12 hour drive/ferry journey it just wasn't worth doing - we were only there for one night so did not make that much of a difference.

Breakfast in the adjoining restaurant/bar was as usual up to the standards we have come to expect from Premier Inns, with the usual choice of Continental or cooked English breakfasts. This time we chose the Continental and was pleasantly surprised to find 'Crumpets' available (love them and can't get them where we live), so my breakfast was a delight.

Though I think that we surprised the reception staff in the morning when we said hello to them, they seemed quite taken aback by customers being friendly to them!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have less passing foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_of_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pleasant stay. Was offered upstairs room as I was a lone female. I appreciated the gesture. Comfortable bed, nice linens. One small irritation was the television was not working and I had jet lag and was awake most of the night wanting to watch tv to pass the time. However the reception staff were very kind to me and I felt they dealt with my complaint in a very professional manner. Would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catloverSotogrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Booked in for a one night stay as attending a function nearby. Reception staff very friendly, room 4 on the ground floor was fresh and clean. Immaculate bathroom, so no complaints whatsoever.

Being on the ground floor and adjacent to the car park plus being in earshot of the railway line, I was a little dubious about noise. No need to worry had a full night's comfortable, uninterrupted sleep.

Breakfast at the inn next door, was really good. Full English which was more than ample. Efficient and polite service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenager65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had another great stay here at The Haywain, staff are always so good to us,always helpful and friendly.Had a meal in the restaurant and the Fillet Steak was the best we've had in a long time.Hope they keep the same supplier ! They do a good breakfast too, cooked to order too !!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia M, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I will certainly pass on the message to all the members of staff and the chefs of the restaurant. They will be delighted to hear your comment about their Fillet Steaks. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Friendly staff (and exceptionally helpful), clean rooms in a good state, quiet (and we stayed facing the car park).

Location is very handy, being right on a mian roundabout.

Cracking Harvester next door, did not have dinner there but the full breakfast was excellent.

As usual, a great night's sleep. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avatari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
446 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

After seeing numerous tv adverts, we stayed at this premier inn overnight whilst attending a party near by
we know they are basic, but good value for money for a quick 1 night stay, but this sadly was a dreadful experience.
Despite the TV adverts saying comfortable bed and soft ;pillows we did not expereince this, they bed was like concrete, and the pillows thick foam, it was a warm night so the window was open bujt we could not sleep for the constant traffic noise
The breakfast nearby was adequate
All in all we were charged £69 for the night. They have a policy to inform them if you are not happy, we did this but heard nothing more
Would not like to experience this type of overnight accommodation again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raffiella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously and on receipt of your details, the issues raised will be fully investigated and duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
503 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
294 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
571 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
180 reviews
9.1 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
Address: High Road | Stanford le Hope, Basildon SS17 9NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get the best of the great outdoors and indoors with a stay at the Premier Inn Hotel Basildon South. You'll be in a great spot whether you're seeking fresh air, fun or first-rate business destinations. If you're mad about shopping, head to Lakeside, one of Europe's largest shopping areas. Or if you're up for a challenge you'll find Basildon Sporting Village and Combat UK Paintball just moments away. Then take a well-earned breather at Wat Tyler Country Park and come back for a hearty meal and big, comfy rooms. Directions: From M25(J30/31), take A13 towards Southend. Follow the A13 for approx. 10 Miles to junction with A176 at the Five Bells roundabout. Turn right onto Fobbing High Road. Hotel is on left. Next to the Haywain Beefeater. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: RG25 2BB Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. Transport and local information: Basildon Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing