We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff needd to argue somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level Contributor
545 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“staff needd to argue somewhere else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

1. room and hotel staff are fine
2, breakfast staff...NO they where arguing and slagging oif the manager while serving and thats the last thing you need while eating ! shouting across the dining room and swearing loudly NOT GREAT !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    110
    45
    16
    19
See reviews for
94
109
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

My husband and I have recently stayed in this hotel on a saturday night. My first impression of the hotel was good. It was clean, had great parking with a well lit car park, good for restaurants in the local vacinity, and rooms were a nice size and were very clean. We visited our friends for the evening and returned to the hotel at midnight. Sadly, thats where the problems started! The nightclubs and pubs in the Leisure park started to close around 12.30am, of which, quite a few people of their revellers stay in the local hotels. Unfortunately, the bunch of people staying in this hotel on saturday evening were inconsiderate louts who thought the party could continue in the hotel. From 12.30am until 5.30am we were kept awake by groups of drunken 'yobs' shouting to one another down the corridor, arguing, smoking in the corridors, and generally creating so much noise that we couldn't sleep until they decided to collapse at 5.30am! We awoke at 8am mainly because the guests in the room above us were walking around (these guests were what I'd consider normal guests just doing their thing) but you could hear every step they took quite clearly. We left at 10am where I tried to speak to the girl on reception about our horrendous night, but she seemed far too busy chatting to her friends for at least 10 minutes. At this point we were so exhausted we decided to leave.
Its a shame because the hotel itself is quite good value for money, but its location sadly lends itself to drunken louts rolling out of the clubs and into the hotel where they clearly have no consideration for anyone else and make the whole experience a nightmare. We wasn't made aware of the Premier Inn 'Good night' policy either other wise I might have made a bit more of a stand about our awful night - trouble is, when you're so exhausted and sleep deprived, you just want to go home and relax!

My advice - stay here midweek to avoid the party revellers!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pudonthepie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We are pleased that our hotel and clean comfortable rooms met your expectations. We apologise that your stay was disturbed. Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our Basildon Festival Park hotel. Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

As a solo female traveller I felt safe. The staff were extremely welcoming and the value as always with Premier Inns is good. One comment, the beds are always great and in some instances even better than a 5 star hotel.

The location is not easy and you need to get the map as the hotel is tucked in behind other buildings away from the main part of Festival Park.

A pity about the restaurant next door and I would say that if you need a meal, then go to the main part of Festival Park as the pub next door is poor. Service not good and most of the food is typical bought in pre prepared, frozen, deep fried, One problem here maybe breakfast if you require it.

Would I stay at the hotel again?

Most certainly and I am booking two more stays today!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodswalker1768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable one, thank you for your feedback regarding the adjacent restaurant, this is not a restaurant run by Whitbread, however pleased be assured your feedback will be forward to the company who run this establishment. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

My mother broke her foot on the 1st day of our 14 day cruise and ended up in the Basildon Hospital for 5 days--and we were lucky enough to land at the Premier Inn. The staff was beyond helpful and was simply wonderful to us in this less than perfect situation (everyone asked "WHY are you here"???). It was very clean, and convenient to places to eat. Many thanks to the lovely people there!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your stay with Premier Inn.
It is good to hear that our hotel, restaurant facilities and helpful staff met with your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one, even though it was not a planned stay for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

Basildon is an odd place anyway to be fair, and you have to have a reason to visit! Our room seemed really cheap with breakfast included (albeit at the pub next door) but it is hardly a tourist destination and that is no doubt why. My sister lives in Basildon and told me she'd never have 'let' me stay at Festival Park on the weekend. She reckons they built 'everything' that Basildon has at Festival Park so that the police know where to hang out on the weekend....! She said it is incredibly noisy and chaotic. We stayed there on a Monday and Tuesday night and needless to say, the area was dead, thank goodness. It felt fairly new inside, and the room was spacious. Beds were fine but I was disappointed that one of my daughters got a Z-bed on the floor; not what I expected (the other had a single bed).

The internet option in the reception area is a joke, don't bother! The breakfast was ok but nothing special. Still, we only paid about 66GBP per night for a family of four, with breakfast so we were sweatened by that I think.

Location is poor generally but it is probably better that is feels like the back of an industrial estate given what the leisure park area seems to be reknown for!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Depome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

The staff are great, made us feel like our comfort really mattered to them. The location is also good, festival park just
a minutes walk away, the kids loved it...

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

We were taking our son down to Upnor on a trip, so we wanted to stop some where nearby that had a cinema, eateries ect, so we choose Premier Inn, Festival Park.

Family Room 2 adults, 2 children.

First off, we couldn't find it when we drove onto the Festival park complex, as its right around the back, no problem we thought, it will be nice and quiet!!.

On check-in at 3.10 the room was not ready, so we waited around 10mins for them to finsih cleaning the room. We didn't complain.

When we got into the room, it was what we expected, similair to a Novotel/Travel lodge ect. We noticed the smell of cigarette smoke as soon as we walked in, the window was open, so we just left it as we knew the hotel was fully booked.

We dumped the bags and off we went to meet friends at The Honey Pot pub, which is very nice. When we got back to the Hotel, the room was stifling, we had left the window open to get rid of the smoke, but it was still mad hot, granted it was a very warm day. We had a tamper with the thermostat controls, and did notice that you cant cool the room you can only heat the room. Thats no good if its warm !!!.

We tried to get some sleep a little later but was just too hot, they did provide a fan which did give a little reprieve when you got your 3 seconds of cool air on your legs. Around 10, the pub attached The Quays i think had a wedding reception on, and little did we know that they had an outside band area. The band started and was so loud as our room backed onto the pub, this went on till the early hours. I felt like i was trapped in a bad Kavos hotel next to a nightclub, with 2 children in tow.

Needless to say we didnt get no sleep and in the morning where exhausted.

We told the receptionist on check-out and they are refunding the money for the room via Cheque. The receptionist where very nice and efficient.

Our breakfast was provided at the pub, the breads, fruite ect where ok, however the full english, left a lot to be desired.
1 egg, 1 slice bacon, 1 sausage, 1 slice tomatoe, 1 mushroom cut up, 1 table spoon beans.

Would i go here again. Never.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — No air con, very noisy pub next door.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
5.4 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
Address: Festival Leisure Park | Festival Leisure Park, Basildon SS14 3WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll with a stopover at our Basildon hotel, featuring our new generation bedrooms with an impressive 40" flat screen TV, freshly-updated bathroom with a large shower head, and brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. You'll be smack bang in the middle of an oasis of entertainment, yet right on hand for all the business and leisure highlights of Essex and the east of London, too. You could be hunting down the big brand bargains one minute and riding the big waves on the wakeboarding course the next. Or watch the A-listers on the big-screen at Empire Cinema, then star in your own VIP night out. And when you're ready to drop, our traditional restaurant and super comfy new rooms will be waiting for you. Situated 9 miles from the M25(J29). Follow the A127 towards Basildon. Then take A176, the hotel is just off the A1235. Next to the David Lloyd Leisure Club behind Fitness First. Next to the Quays. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: SS14 3WB Hotel Parking: Limited free parking is available at this hotel. Transport and local information: Basildon Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel Basildon
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing