We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room ok, noise unacceptable, take ear plugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed for one night as the hotel was close to where we wanted to go the next day. The room was clean and functional. There was only 1 towel provided in the bathroom but the staff brought another one quickly when asked. Tea and coffee facilities are provided but only enough for 1 cup each.The room was very stuffy and hot (in March) and we were unable to keep the window open as there was a lot of noise from the thumping beats of loud music outside. The worst part was being woken by clubbers returning from their night out at 3.45am. We were kept awake for the rest of the night with various different arguments, doors slamming, fights and all round unsociable behaviour from young guests. Thank goodness we didn't have any children with us!! It was quite unnerving at times and it ruined our weekend away. We complained to the reception staff on check out but they did nothing more than offer a verbal apology. We took advantage of the breakfast deal which was served in the pub next door. This was distinctly average and the coffee was cold. We would have been better off going elsewhere for food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a relaxed stay in a comfortable environment and I apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 382 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were originally booked into The Campanile Hotel, but cancelled after reading the terrible reviews, including one that suggested that they booked rooms 'by the hour' (something that I was also told by friends who live locally). We changed last miute to the Premier Inn at Festival Park, and it was a very good choice.

I was travelling with my daughter and we booked a twin room, which was a good size, with 1 double bed and a very comfortable sofa bed. The room was clean, the staff friendly, and despite the fact that we were facing the front of the hotel near reception, we had no problems with noise. The hotel was well situated for our needs (meeting up with friends and family) and the 'Fayre and Square' pub/restaurant next door provided decent food at a very reasonable price. The hotel was ideal for what we wanted - a clean, reasonable room at a reasonable price - and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardenFairy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Kujawa, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking time to review you stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; I will pass on your compliments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Basildon Festival Park Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights over the Christmas period and really could find no major faults with this hotel. We took advantage of their 29 pound a night offer which made the stay extremely good value. The pub/restaurant across the way was excellent value where you could get 2 meals for 10 pounds at any time of day. We were on the top floor overlooking the lake and had no problems with any noise.The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The only problem was that were not advised that there was no maid service for 2 days over the Xmas holiday period. When questioned we were offered clean towels and more tea making ingredients direct from reception.Overall a great place to stay out of the way from the main entertainment area of Basildon but still within reach if you want it.

Room Tip: I think the top floor is quieter but there is no lift.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esteponian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Kujawa, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking time to review you stay at our hotel. I am glad that you found team to be friendly and helpful, I will pass on your compliments to them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Basildon Festival Park Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We were quite happy with our stay up until the twelve o'clock mark, 4 girls smashed their way into the room next to us( we were staying in a family room a few door into the corridor from reception) and from then on until 2.30 am playing what sounded like a boom blaster playing really loud music while slamming the doors in and out several times. They did not pack up until 2.30 luckily my kids were so tired they slept through it but the stress of that kept me and my partner awake till 5am. Then after they packed up, what sounded like an elephant belly flopping either onto the floor or bed this was in the room above and this went on till again the 5am mark over and over again, clearly drunk out their heads. These people should not have been placed near to a family, families should have their own seperate section or corridor so to avoid this yobs late at night/morning. We did not get an ounce of sleep and will not be staying here again, my partner mentioned this to the reception and she took our number, we have not since received a call, considering relatives paid quite a bit to stop us over their that night we feel that they should be compensated as we did not have a peaceful not AT ALL.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not sandwiched between drunk yobs!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat_flapterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Online Customer Services at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Premier Inn, Festival Park, Basuildon, is o.k. for a one night, found it quite hard to find, even though we had sat nav, could do with more signs. On arriving at the Premier, it looked very drab from the outside, could do with updating. Staff on reception were excellent, though the receptionists area, could also look as though it could do with an uplift. Surprised that where was no lift, minor to us, but not to people who are disabled. We had requested a twin room, to which when we went in room No4, did not find the room inviting at all, requested a change to a double, which was no trouble to the staff, ended up in room 58 on top floor, this was far better, it seems that the ground floor rooms are used for disabled people, but again the rooms could do with an uplift, I personally found them quite depressing.
The bathroom in room 58, I thought was very, very small, compared to other premiers that we have stayed in. Do feel, that this was not the best premier inn, that we have stayed in, and now they do not supply biscuits with the tea/coffe facilities, another cut back. In fact I will go as far to say, that next time I will look at the Best Westerns and at the Marriott chain, as some one has suggested.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuneatondolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon1, Cluster General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. We have four disabled bedrooms on the ground floor which have two single beds in each room, but also have many family rooms with one double bed and one sofa bed which can also be used for guests who request a twin room. Please be assured your comments have been noted, we really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park)
Had a 2 night stay on the 11th & 12th of november. First impressions were very poor. Hotel looks like an after thought on a bit of waste land by the leisure park. The hotel has a large car park which is good, but the physical surroundings of the hotel are an eyesore. Very poor indeed. The hotel looks like a prison from the outside to be honest, and no effort has been put into the visual amenity. Absolutely awful. I have stayed in the premier inn about 20-25 times this year throughout the UK, and this is the worst by a long long way. 

Receptionists were friendly, polite and very efficient. Premier Inn do seem to have a high standard in this department. They were happy to help with taxis etc. 

Room was pleasant enough, though bathroom was small and needed a facelift. There was lots of noise from the nearby road, which did interrupt sleep, but i am a light sleeper, so perhaps hear it more than others might  do. There is no lift in the hotel, which may be an issue if you have mobility problems as the rooms are spread over three floors. Overall it could be better but it serves the purpose, and is close to major transport routes if that's important to you. There is also a pub at the entrance to the car park, which is handy for the nightcap. 

The nearby leisure park has a good range of places to eat, as well as a cinema complex and what appeared at distance to be a bowling alley. And it is very close to Basildon centre, which gives you more options for your entertainment. 

I think Premier Inn need to think about where they are pitching themselves in the market, as I do at times feel sold short by the chain. They pitch themselves as budget hotels, but they're not. At £70 plus for a room in some places, plus extra for breakfast, extra for Wi-Fi, etc you're at £90 - £100 per night. You can get a top end B&B with full English and Wi-Fi thrown in for £60-70, and the owners will go out of their way in the hospitality stakes, or alternatively just book a Marriott for an extra tenner and go first class. It seems they're delivering budget standards but without the accompanying price in a lot of instances. 

After this stay, I do feel cheated and will have to think hard before booking with them again. 

Should have asked for a refund really.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon1, Cluster General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

I am sorry that you were disappointed by your stay at Basildon Festival Park Premier Inn. We strive to maintain very high standards in all of our Premier Inns and I am sorry that we did not manage to meet your expectations on this occasion. On a brighter note, I will pass on your compliments to the team - I am glad that you found them to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Arrived at this hotel at about 10.00pm to find we were on the 2nd floor with no lift. We hadn't mentioned a mobility issue because we hadn't really considered this would be a problem. Leona on reception was really lovely and did all she could to sort the problem. She booked us in to the East Mayne PI which had a ground floor room.

We didn't actually stay here but if all the staff are like Leona they would be a credit to Premier Inn.

Wish we had stayed here as didn't really like East Mayne.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank campfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon1, Cluster General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments regarding Leona. I am really glad that she was able to help you more to a hotel with ground level access so late in the evening. I have passed on your comments to Leona and she is thrilled to be mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel - please request a ground floor room and we will be happy to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
206 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
7.4 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel

Address: Festival Leisure Park | Festival Leisure Park, Basildon SS14 3WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range: $62 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll with a stopover at our Basildon hotel, featuring our new generation bedrooms with an impressive 40" flat screen TV, freshly-updated bathroom with a large shower head, and brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. You'll be smack bang in the middle of an oasis of entertainment, yet right on hand for all the business and leisure highlights of Essex and the east of London, too. You could be hunting down the big brand bargains one minute and riding the big waves on the wakeboarding course the next. Or watch the A-listers on the big-screen at Empire Cinema, then star in your own VIP night out. And when you're ready to drop, our traditional restaurant and super comfy new rooms will be waiting for you. Situated 9 miles from the M25(J29). Follow the A127 towards Basildon. Then take A176, the hotel is just off the A1235. Next to the David Lloyd Leisure Club behind Fitness First. Next to the Quays. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: SS14 3WB Hotel Parking: Limited free parking is available at this hotel. Transport and local information: Basildon Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel Basildon
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing