We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aroma

Aroma
Ranked #6 of 135 Restaurants in Basildon
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Aroma serves Chinese food but caters for vegetarians too as it is a buffet. There is a wide range of food, that is great for all the family. There is also a wide variety of dessert that appeals to everyone, ranging from an vanilla ice cream machine to coconut jelly. All round a lovely, filling meal!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    137
    72
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great selection on every visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Have been here several times now and it never fails to impress on each visit.

There is always a large selection of food on offer and the deserts are great. The staff make sure that the food never goes low.

The staff are welcoming and are fast at clearing away any empty plates etc. In our group was a disabled person and the staff were happy to assist with our needs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent but don't expect posh dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Unless you book the restaurant upstairs you'll find that Aroma has the look and feel of a canteen, but the food makes a visit worthwhile.

Excellent choice of food, especially now they've added burgers and roasts to the menu, so it's useful if you have a visitor with you who isn't that fond of Chinese.

One of my personal favourites is the salmon, and that comes from someone who doesn't normally eat fish!!!

Plenty of choices, with the addition of a tepanyaki bar where you can get your selection of raw foods cooked while you watch.

Desserts - too many to choose from, including a chocolate fountain.

Restaurant is well laid out and they tend to put large groups towards the back of the restaurant, which does reduce any rowdiness.

All in all, good value and good food.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatterbox3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Great Britain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AROMA DELIGHTS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is by far one of the better buffet style restaurants that I have visited.
The menu is full and varied, so much so that you are spoiled for choice.
One of my favourite dishes is broccoli cooked in garlic, delicious.
There are plenty of meat and fish dishes as well as vegetable choices.
You can pick your own meat/fish for the chef to cook for you, very thoughtful.
There are several desserts, amongst which is the chocolate fountain ( loved by my husband !)
Do visit this restaurant, it is well worth it and you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank catherinemiller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The last time I went to a Chinese buffet I was disappointed but this was completely the opposite. An enormous selection, all hot, delicious and fresh, complete with a kitchen where they will cook any raw items you have chosen while you wait (though I didn't bother with this). The selection of fruits and deserts was also very good. The only downside was that it was a bit like eating in a works canteen with fairly spartan furniture placed very close together and it was very noisy as it is understandably so popular. I would not hesitate to return. Highly recommended and very good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma also viewed

 

Been to Aroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing